We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holland Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holland Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Holland Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holland Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Pentre Berw | Gaerwen, Pentre Berw, Gaerwen LL60 6HY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Pentre Berw B&B and Inns
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Superb food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Called here for a lunch time meal with a party of 12 celebrating a friends' birthday. I asked the waitress for a 'special' meal as I had recently started slimming world and had to avoid many foods, including hidden fats and carbs in sauces, etc. I asked for a grilled gammon steak and a large undressed salad, this is exactly what I received and all the fat had been trimmed from the gammon prior to cooking! It turns out the chef had also been to slimming world. The rest of the group had a selection from the menu which included home made lasagne, venison with a juniper sauce, home made burgers, hand cut chips (I really had to resist these) and two children meals. The mother of the youngest child asked for a plate of tomatoes, cucumber and raw carrot sticks for her fussy toddler and was delighted to be served a basket full of healthy nibbles. The service was a bit slow, especially as the restaurant was not full, but well worth the delay. I can fully recommend this restaurant for anyone on slimming world and for everyone who loves good, wholesome home cooked food. There was no pressure for us to hurry up and we spent a leisurely couple of hours celebrating with our friend.

Room Tip: Sorry I can't describe the hotel and sleeping accommodation part of the Hotel as I only ate ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited The Holland Arms because of its location to our home in Newborough. I'm a big fan of Lees beer but I have to say on this occasion the bitter was terrible. Cloudy, stale and clearly pass it's best....Barman came up with an excuse but no apology.
On the plus side the food was nice, we had the ham & eggs and the waitress friendly.
Please sort the ale out !!!!!


Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovley food. Cant fault it. Sometimes some of the young waitresses seem to be bit hap hazzard with the service. They need to be bit more on the ball. When we sit down. Menus wernt boight to us for.ages and had to ask for.them a few times we visited. All in all excellent. Place looks nice now too. Good choices on the menu.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wells somerset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed for 2 nights first impressions were not good the place looked tired the upstairs landings very scruffy, but the room had been refurbished and was excellent, unfortunately it was not en-suite and the bathroom we used was very run down, the toilet cistern did not function properly and the shower only delivered cold water! After complaining we were given use of a new bathroom in an unfinished room, on a good note the staff were good and the food was fantastic i am sure given time this will be a good place to stay

Room Tip: ask for newly refurbished en- suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After taking my mother out shopping, we were passing so we pulled into the large car park , as you go in from the car park there is a stair case leading up to the bar but if you go in through the front door just a little to the left then this is ideal for wheelchair acces , the bar area was empty so I thought this doesn't look good !but it soon got busier , The lady at the bar was really friendly and pleasant , we sat by the door leading to the beer garden which was nice and light , the bar area is a little on the dark side but that's the position of the building I think , the bar area and hotel in general looked modern and very clean . The menu had Lots of choices but we only wanted a light lunch , I orderd a prawn and Marie rose sauce on a panini which had a side salad and a portion of chips which I had not orderd ,my mother had ham,egg,chips and peas , the ham was thick and cooked perfectly ( 2-3 slices ) it came with 2 eggs , I paid approx £17.00 including drinks ,this was well worth the money and was a really nice meal we will be going back again soon

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i must recommend the holland arms for the lovely food i had when i went 2 visit my daughter on a tuesday afternoon i will call again keep it up and it feels like home,i will always be visiting here good caring staff always helpful

Room Tip: did not stay that time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There were 13 of us including a baby and we were welcomed by lovely staff. The rooms were clean and beds lovely. Evening meals were excellent and not pub grub, nice and freshly cooked , enjoyed by all. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Arms Hotel

Address: Pentre Berw | Gaerwen, Pentre Berw, Gaerwen LL60 6HY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Gaerwen > Pentre Berw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pentre Berw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Arms Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Holland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.