We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honestly?...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Presidente Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Presidente Hotel to your Saves list
Presidente Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra de San Juan, Cala Portinatx, 07810 Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honestly?...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Usually im use to 5 start luxary hotels, but due to friends staying in the area this was the best rating we could find.

Firstly, DRINKS!, €2.35 for a small coke? Do i look stupid? I suggest that you walk to the local shop as 2L of coke was €1.90. Although i read that you could go all inclusive for €13pppd

Internet, i emailed the hotel beforehand and asked about WiFi, they said it was free and i replyed and asked if we could have a first floor room above the Lobby so i could use it in my room, when arrived we were in the last room on the top floor, room 416.
ohhh, by the way the password is 'Suite'

Also they is a bar down by the front called 'Sarsenal' and they have free WiFi, their password is 'IBIZA' in capitals.

*** Be aware that they is a very very steep hill to get up to the hotel, i suggest that any elderly people didnt go to this hotel ***

Aircon, now... the aircon in our room was set to 22oc and you pressed a button and it was on for 2hours then turned off. Although, if you look behind the curtain theres a fuse that you can turn to change it to 3 hours, 10 hours, or 12 hours. and when you want to turn it off, but flick the fuse master switch off and on.

Rooms, the rooms needed a very good update, they were a bit old and needed a lick of paint, also they need to upgrade the key system to the 'keycard' system insted of the old fashioned 'metal key'

Entertainment, We never stayed in the hotel or went around the pool as it was full of children, and also the drink are too pricey, we usually headed to the beach everyday, if you arrive for 9.30-10am your guatenteed a sun lounger, they cost €5 each.
When we arrived back at the hotel at around 11-12pm, no one was around, no entertainment or anything.

Food, now, im a rather fussy eater, i dont like seafood, im picky on meat, ect. i found that they wasnt a great deal of choice, i usually just had a plate of chips with gravy, (The gravy is beautiful).

We got a taxi to San Antonio for a night and it cost just short of €100 their and back, i would suggest that anyone vistiting Ibiza to go to San Antonio. Everyone has a stereotypical mind of San Antonio as a party place full of drunken laughts. but theres more old people and family's there. i have been to San Antonio 6 times now and i would always go back. if you do decide to go, the hotel 'Hawaii' is in the best location and in resonalble walking distance to the main part.

Room Tip: Always email the hotel beforehand and tell them that you'll be writing a review for TUI
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    269
    178
    56
    36
See reviews for
451
131
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We booked a last minute holiday at the Hotel Presidente and enjoyed every minute. The service and food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff should be congratulated. The rooms were clean and the service was good, they were not particularly large but lived up to their rating. Some of the rooms at the back of the hotel were a bit cramped (family rooms) but our twin room 333 at the front of the hotel was perfectly adequate. The Thomson staff worked tirelessly to ensure everyone enjoyed their stay. The pool area was crowded but we we able to use the adults only area which suited us perfectly, as an older couple without the quieter area I would have not been so happy. The families with children all seemed to be having great time. The bar staff did not always have a smile but you must remember that when a hotel is all inclusive there are no tips and they worked efficiently to keep everyone served. It might be worth holiday compnies adding a tip option on their booking particularly for all inclusive hotels (like a cruise) that way all the staff would be rewarded. I would willingly have added 20/30 euro to my total bill for distribution although I did my own tipping. I think the hotel could offer some form of shuttle to the beach (golf buggy) as it is difficult for some older and perhaps younger, less mobile holiday makers to reach the resort. I saw no evidence of uncontrolled children, just people enjoying themselves. It was a pleasure to be in a predominately British resort, everyone was so polite, they all queued and there was no queue jumping either at the bars or the restaurant. Would I go again? Yes, but probably at a slightly quieter time (not so close to school holidays) and provided I could get the same room or one better. The one downside for me was the check in at Gatwick, absolute chaos with all flights checking in together, from being early we ended up late through no fault of our own. If Thomson need someone to sort it, give me a ring, I would be happy to oblige. Transfers to the resort was also a lengthy process with over an hour wait at the airport before departure. All in all a good holiday, great value for money (for what I paid), well done Thomson and Hotel Presidente. We travelled 15th - 23rd July.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Just returned from 10 day all inclusive at the Presidente & it felt like 10 weeks, First off how Thomson’s have the nerve to give this a 4 T rating is beyond me, At best 3 T & an official 2 ** Hotel.
All alcoholic drinks are served in 330ml plastic glasses (San Miguel being the only beer on offer) soft drinks in 187ml plastic, Children’s ice creams & ice lollies are that small by the time you had returned to your sun bed they had melted, talking of sun bends I have seen Sardines with more space in a tin you can’t get to the pool because they are that close together & all taken by 8.30 am !
Entertainment bit like Hi De Hi & very limited, Highlight seemed to be the Bingo – Sad !
Rooms very tired & limited, Staff as you would expect in majority all inclusive hotel miserable, But the best bit is all the add ones, Bear in mind this is supposed to be a 4T rating £3.90 Euros per day for a Fridge, £3.90 a day for safety deposit box £46.00 Euros to keep your room on & god forbid you arrive after 11.00pm of a night if you want a drink its another £3.00 for a small beer !
I can honestly say it is the worst Holiday I have had, It has been 15 years since I last went to Spain you can double that & add a 0 on the end before I go again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton north west england
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

one of the best holidays weve had as a family- booked way in advance Via thompson at the holiday hyper market ,unusual for us as we`re normaly late bookers.flights/transfers where excellent with great flight times and no delays.Hotel check in was friendly and efficient and heres were the BUT comes.I had requested a sea view family room-what we got was a dirt banking prision cell.at the presidente the family rooms are the same as any other room but with a set of steel bunk beds squeezed in.Not eceptable for a 4* hotel. After complaining we were moved to another room which had a slight sea view but was still to small for a family of 4.not letting minor details get in our way we caried on to have a great time- the facilites and staff are excellent,the entertainment girls put a great effort in 12 hours a day and the kids loved it.The food was 4 star -loads of choice fresh fish and meat a pleanty.the all inclusive option is a must and great value.portinax is a lovely destination ,we hired a car for a couple of days and had some great days on the beaches of northern ibiza, L` agua Blanca being the best.Room problems aside we had a grat break here and may return to portinax and may be to the presedente if the rooms improved.

Room Tip: Dont except a ground floor room with an even number.Horrible to the extream!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our family, two adults and two children aged 2 and 4 yrs old stayed for one week at the Presidente hotel. We had the family room which was tiny with a double and bunk beds together. I guess I thought a family room was going to be two bedrooms which I have had in other hotels. The room was clean and reasonably well looked after, with the exception of the bathroom floor which was home to a selection of pubic hairs when we arrived, they were still there when we left and I assume they are still there now . Pool/Sea view requested, the famous 'back of the hotel' view was what we received. Thomson's rating of 4T's for this hotel is ambitious to say the least. It is the equivalent of a good 2 star or a poor 3 star.

Very small, busy pools and a splash pool which appears to be new and looks good but is very dangerous due to extremely slippy tiles. Four hours after arriving, my 4yr old fell while walking and split his chin open resulting in a cross island taxi ride to the hospital and 6 stitches ! Over the week, at least one child a day would slip over, another serious accident is inevitable .
The management of the hotel were not very helpful following the accident and we had to rely on Thomson staff for support.
The majority of the hotel staff gave indifferent service, the Thomson reps were all excellent.

Food very average and the childrens food was just awful.

Portinatx and the area around the hotel was very beautiful. Will visit Portinatx again but not The Presidente.
.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

overall we had a very good weeks holiday at the Presidente. Yes i agree with comments here the rooms were basic but they were very clean. For an AI hotel the food was very good and much superior to some AI resports we have been in in other parts of the world. The entertainment team were great especially Mikayla and Charlotte who really throw their all into keeping people entertained. We had a huge forest fire next to us and the team were very good at keeping the guests informed and reasurring us.
In the week we were there we didnt have a problem at all with kids running around wild and screaming in corridors etc and it was very busy the week we were there. Personally I dont mind the plastic glasses around the pool as they are safer and more hygenic with children there and you do get proper glasses in the restaurant at meal times.
At the end of the day it is a family resort so if you want your kids to make friends and have a great time and be entertained then this is the place for you. If you want a relaxing get a way from it all holiday you may be better looking for another hotel in the resort.

Room Tip: rooms 139 - 142 are very good as overlook pool and cove and no guests above or below
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Location - nice elevated spot above Portinatx about 10 mins walk down to 2 pleasant beaches, lovely views over cove and sailing boats.
Beaches - really very good especially for kids, clean and tidy with facilities if needed (restaurants, pedalos, umberellas and sun beds if you want them. Sea is clear and you can see fish, also gently shelving so pretty safe for kids under supervision.
swimming pools - there is a main pool which is just adequate for the number of people there plus a very small 0.5m pool for kids and a very good aquasplash pool with water features (verty shallow) so safe even for small kids- we spent a lot of time here
rooms - we had 146 above reception and towards the jacuzzi / large beach side of the hotel , it looked sideways on to neighbouring El Greco hotel. We could see the sea and surrounding mountains, perfectly good. The size was not huge but acceptable for a family of 4, there was a bunk bed and a double plus we had a cot as we have a child of nealry 2. Bathroom modern and has a small hairdryer.
cleanliness - rooms cleaned really well right through every day - top marks for cleanliness. hotel public areas cleaned regularly, no complaints
atmosphere - friendly - lots of families with young kids like us, we did not find it rough or too noisy as some people seem to have commented. No shouting and swearing, kids were controlled, entertained and well behaved we thought.
evening entertainment - OK, Kids loved thomson the dog and the kids disco thing early evening (and still talk about it), they had bingo (house 200 euros if you are interested) and some singing & dancing groups.
daytime entertainment - there is a really nice looking creche, soft play area & different ages of kids clubs running if you want to participate, the kids who did use them seemed to enjoy them. We were only there for a week so wanted as much time as possible together. There is a good gym, a lovely little jacuzzi looking out over the bay & the reps did a good job of energetically trying to keep everyone entertained with little games and activities.
Food - restaurant all buffet style, plenty of choice, fresh fruit, nice deserts, good choice of meats and veg plus some mediterranean stuff.
Drinks- red and white house wine I found to be quite decent, san miguel on tap in restaurant and by service at the pool bars, local alcoholic spirits fine, cocktails actually quite good. Go all inclusive as some people we noticed were half board and payed a lot for drinks.
Overall - Met nice people, spent time away from work with family in the sun (26 degrees each day), enjoyed someone else having to cook and clean & was a really nice holiday that we really needed.
Would I go back - absolutely without hesitation. The kids had a great time and so did we.
Who is it good for? families predominantly.
Whats is Portinatx like? low key, quiet and relaxed, good little beaches one on each side of headland, few shops and bars / restaurants.
Highlight - me and my eldest daughter went to the El Greco waterpark next door and she loved it , we could not manage to get her away from the slides, we had lots of fun together.

Room Tip: if in family room get one nearest the jacuzzi end of the hotel for best views of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Hotel

Address: Ctra de San Juan, Cala Portinatx, 07810 Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sant Joan de Labritja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Presidente Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Presidente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Presidente Ibiza
Presidente Hotel Ibiza/Sant Joan De Labritja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidente Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.