We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geat views from the front rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ahipara Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ahipara Bay Motel
22 Reef View Road, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahipara
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Geat views from the front rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Impressive views of Shipwreck Bay from the front rooms (11, 12 etc) with private deck/balcony and table and chairs with sliding doors for access, the rooms themselves are spacious with excellent self catering facilities (at least room 12 is) and a spa bath and powerful shower. Room 12 has a fold out sofa bed and separate double bedroom. Pay as go Wifi avaialbe as well as ironing board and iron. It's a fair walk to the shop/cafe so I would advise you to drive unless you fancy an hour round trip!

Room Tip: Get a room at the front with the big deck and views - room 12 is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Ahipara Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thanks for the positive review.
We also feel the front units with deck and views to be special.
3 sizes of units in the block, Studio, 1 B/Room spa bath unit & two bedroom unit.
The studio only has a Micowave but the others have full self catering facilities.
The walk to the shops along the beach can be great if you have the inclination and time.
Thanks again and very glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Regards
Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here for a week while working in Kaitaia.
I regularly travel away for work and have stayed in a number of motels throughout Northland.
The compendium in the room states that they don't expect their staff to do dishes every day or make beds that are covered with personal effects.....I'm sorry I thought this was a motel?
The lack of servicing of the rooms includes bathroom servicing, so make sure you bring your own soap and shampoo etc....
Internet access is a staggering $10 for 200mb....incredibly expensive
Room was comfortable enough with excellent views over the bay. No heating so during winter it can get a bit chilly....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Ahipara Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us.
Sorry about the delay in reponding as we have only recently been made aware of Trip Adviser.
We are very sorry that your time with us was not up to your expectations as we have a good working relationship with a great number of repeat customers who travel with their work.
Not making clutered beds.... Many years ago one of our cleaners was accused of breaking a laptop left on a bed. After that we made a decision that if beds were clutered not to touch them.
Dishes... We are happy to do a tidy of a few dishes, but have made a decision that on a daily basis that is it. Regarding soaps etc, that is an oversite of our cleaning staff and we apoligize for that. There is a heater in the cupboard in all rooms. In all cases, for any problem, we are only a phone call away.
Regards
Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Very solid motel with stunning views over the beach.

The rooms were spacious and well appointed, totally self contained if needed.

The bathroom was a little small, but you ain't staying in that, so no biggie.

See the previous reviewers complained about the owners (Neil & Raewin ? sp) - we found them a delight.

Couldn't have been nicer or friendlier. Reviewer Infourtime complained about being asked if they were going for dinner - it's only a small restaurant so they probably wanted a heads up on who was coming for dinner so they knew how many staff they needed.

Can't fault that in a small business like this.

Lovely food in the restaurant - ask Raewin to cook your Scotch Fillet. About the best one I've ever had. We finished off with some terrific port.

Lovely spot too, up on the hill overlooking the bay.

If you stay tell them "The Captain" sent you! They'll remember me for sure (????!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Ahipara Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Hi Captain,
Thank for your positive review. I know it was a while ago but we have only just been made aware of trip adviser.
Glad you enjoyed your steak and Port.
Thanks again and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Regards
Neil (and Raewyn)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Ahipara itself is a beautiful little beachside settlement at the bottom of Ninety Mile Beach - this motel is up on the hill overlooking the bay - just a short walk down their drive to the beach. I agree with the other reviewer that the owners are not all that friendly but I suspect they've had enough of the motel business as they have been there 17 years and the motel is for sale. We were in a delux 2-bedroom unit which was very well designed and was furnished with quality fittings and furnishings - great value at NZ$245 per night. Meals on the balcony looking out to the open ocean after a day on the expansive beach were exceptionally enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Ahipara Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thankyou for your feedback of your stay at the Ahipara Bay Motel on trip advisor.
We have only been made aware of trip advisor so the reponse has been a long time coming.
Glad you enjoyed our views (As we still do after 18 years) and the ammenities of the accommodation. Very sorry if we come across to you grumpy and unfriendly, not our normal way but we are not as young as we once were and get a bit tired over our "Silly Season" . We know that, but do not wish to convey our grumyness to our guests so sorry once again. One couldn't have lasted 18 years if we conveyed that attitude all the time.
Regards
Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Just a short drive out of Kaitaia this place promised lots but was, well just rather ordinary. Functional if plain. The worst part about the place is the utter disinterest of the owner/manager who greets you. If I had not had a long drive that day I'd have done a quick 180 and found somewhere else. She then had the audacity to ask if we were dining in the restaurant that night!

In short, it will do if you have nowhere else but if you have the option give your custom to a place that greets you politely.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Ahipara Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Hi and thanks (I think) for your review. We have only recently been made aware of trip advisor so have not responded earlier.
We are very sorry our property did not meet your expectations.
It sounds very much like everyone was having "a bad hair day." eg you had a long drive and expected something more, meeting our front of house person, also wary as we near the end of another "Silly Season"
We are extremely sorry if a negative attitude showed through which is not very professional.
We are however surprised at your displeasure of being asked if you would be using our Restaurant. As we are only a small restaurant, this is a standard question so we can arrange times and seating. Thankyou once again and we sincerly hope the rest of your accommodation places were up to your expectations.
Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ahipara Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahipara Bay Motel

Address: 22 Reef View Road, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahipara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ahipara is a small coastal village at the Southern end of 90 Mile Beach, Northland, New Zealand.Our Motel has great ocean views over Reef Point and 90 Mile Beach. Activities in the area include: Surfing, Fishing, golf, Horse Trekking, tours up the beach, Quad Biking and Land Sailing. Our Complex has a small restaurant & bar (The Bay View). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahipara Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.