We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine but a few small issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2321, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine but a few small issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed one night in a 3 bedroom villa last weekend. We travelled with grandparents and 2 small kids. The villa itself was fine and exactly what we wanted. We had plenty of space, could make our own food and the kids could run around outside. Good value I think vs the standard rooms. The hotel kindly honoured an early check in and put us near the pool as requested. We appreciated this. However, here are some minor things for management to ponder over:

# prior to arrival I repeatedly called the hotel reception for the phone to constantly ring out – what could be more important than answering the phone?;
# aircon in bedrooms was poor;
# room service was sloppy missing various items from our order;
# no free wifi and limited to 3 users – really?;
# dvd player not hooked upto the TV - sloppy;
# large pool needs to be heated more – too cold for kids and everyone was squeezed in the spa;
# building works near pool are not covered up and look ugly with visible wiring and the like;
# kids club check in process is cumbersome.

Overall we had a nice weekend but this hotel needs to improve on some of the minor items and then it would be great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi MartinJBarry

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

Pleasing to hear that you were happy with the villa space and its location near the pool as you requested.

Really appreciate your feedback on the points you mentioned and I have personally raised these with the various departments.

Once again, great to hear that you had a nice weekend and we look forwad to welcoming you back if you travel to the Hunter again.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    358
    101
    32
    19
See reviews for
223
289
11
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our second stay at the Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley and had a brilliant stay again. We once again stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment as we were there for a wedding and my parents were babysitting. The apartments are well set out, roomy and had all the amenities that we required. One room had a queen bed and the other two singles, so perfect for families. All of the apartments are set out around the carpark, facing the golf course. The main building is impressive and houses reception, your desk, lounge bar, restaurant and flows downstairs to the bar, snack area, health spa and a massive pool. We loved the pool as the day turned out to be the hottest on record and provided some areas to sit in shade and a lot of loungers to lie on.

We would definitely stay here again, given the chance.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi SkybedStyle

Thank you for your recent comment.

It's always pleasing to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and great to see that you returned for yet another relaxing stay.

We are very proud of our pool and take great pride in ensuring that there is plenty of room for everyone to enjoy it.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back for a third stay.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here to just get away and visit the area. Not stayed here for about 5 years and it is better than we remembered. Quality all-round with helpful staff and great facilities. Good breakfast (a bit busy on weekends) and we got what we asked for with the room - quiet.

The place to stay in the Hunter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi ozziemale1964

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on you recent stay at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley.

Great to hear that the resort was better than you remembered and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Thanks again and kind regards

David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary again in the Hunter Valley at the Crowne Plaza. We have celebrated our wedding anniversary here before and this time was just as good as any other time.
For a change we did not have the kids so we were able to stay in a normal room compared to our usual 2 bedroom apartment, which we were very impressed with. Although the resort was very busy due tot he holiday period, it was nice and quite and relaxing all the same.
I forgot to put out our breakfast order before 2 am and a phone call at 4am fixed that problem without any dramas at all.
Breakfast was brilliant when it was delivered. We have not ordered room service breakfast before but the amount of food that arrived was great.
The only downside was the slightly uncomfortable bed, but that was all and in the scheme of things everything cannot be perfect.
Thanks for a great night away again and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Nick H

Thank you so much for your your review of our resort and Happy Anniversary.

So pleasing to hear that you enjyed your stay and I appreciate your kind comments about the4 breakfast offerings and ease of ordering. Our staff take pride in ensuring that guests have an exceptional stay and it sounds like you were impressed.

We do look forward to welcoming you back if when you next travel to the Hunter Valley.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

When visiting the Hunter we usually stay in smaller boutique places so this was 'taking a walk on the wild side' staying in a larger resort style format - added to by the fact that it was school holidays! While everything was busy, and there were always lots of people around, we must say that the ample grounds, large spacious restaurants and airy lobby allowed us to never feel overwhelmed by the crowds.
We stayed in a suite with it's own lounge room, separate bedroom, spa bathroom, an additional second toilet and a small outside terrace. The room was comfortable, well appointed and very clean. The bathroom was very spacious and with all the needed toiletries - but be prepared for the flexibility needed to reach the toilet roll behind your left shoulder!! Luckily the shower head has a great massage setting to help your shoulder recover.
A visit to the Tea Tree spa was a nice little refuge amongst the busyness, and a good recovery after a day of wine sipping. The large variety of beers gave husband something to do while while wife at the spa.
We will certainly visit again, and will try to entice some friends along to share this great spot.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi gilly1259

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also enjoyed your treatment in Tea Tree Spa. I will be sure to pass this feedback to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you adn your friends back for another enjoyable stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your comments as it is truly appreciated.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great rooms, staff and amenities. Only problem is the overpriced restaurant, Redsalt (dinner and breakfast). Food is average and not worth the price (staff are wonderful). Would recommend staying there just make sure you eat out, or prepare meals in your accommodation. Lots of good dining options in the area. Wireless internet @ 28 dollars a day is also over the top.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Ross M,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our room and customer service.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our restaurant and internet access. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked our stay a month ago and stayed last weekend. Our room was superb with a balcony overlooking the tennis courts and the marquee. The facilities offered for families were great, the pool was so inviting and many people were taking advantage of the lovely spring weather. The grounds were perfectly maintained. and location was great for all of our activities. Very close to restaurants, wineries and across the road from the airport for helicopter flights to view the Hunter in style. Room service was efficient and the food was of good quality and served hot.
Breakfast offered something for everyone. What a busy place at breakfast time, but the staff coped well.
Even chechout was efficient. Staff make sure your account is in order and all charges are correct, before processing payment.
Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Julie H

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us.

It's great to hear that you were happy with the room and the view, the breakfast, room service and check out.

I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto our staff and great to hear that you would return for yet another enjoyable stay.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Address: 430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2321, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.