We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed rooms, friendly staff, beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2321, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nyack, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well appointed rooms, friendly staff, beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Hunter for 4 days for a conference and was thoroughly impressed with the friendly attitude of every individual staff member i spoke to. It's a beautiful property and I particularly enjoyed heading out for a morning jog in the neighboring vineyards. . . Being a current New Yorker it was pretty exhilarating to have kangaroos as jogging partners on the regular!

I had a prepaid rate and they were even nice enough to honor the same rate when I decided to extend my stay by an additional night.

I stayed in a Spa Suite room which was massive to be in on my own, but it certainly impressed on the entertainment end.

Didn't have the chance to hit the links, but the course was well maintained and quite pretty.

Breakfast in the buffet was a bit expensive at $38 as I'm on a health kick, but you can also sneak downstairs to the less formal cafe for a cheaper and still tasty bite.

*Disregard my spa rating I didnt visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Brian
Thank you so much for your review of our resort
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that our resident Kangaroos made an appearance, they are amazing animal.
Thank you for your kind comments on our team, we are blessed to have some of the best people working at the resort who love to come to work.
Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon

Sincerely
David Bark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    408
    115
    36
    26
See reviews for
257
328
11
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great resort. Stay here each time we visit the Hunter Valley. This time we stayed with our wedding guests as it was just around the corner from our wedding venue.
Villa's are great for families and for couples to share. Lounge room a great size for having people drop by for a glass of wine and if you ask for a bottom floor villa you can sit around in the sun on the grass outside your villa.
Over the past year the resort has increased the amount of activities for guests with beach volley ball, soccer nets, games rooms, table tennis tables and more being added. Golf course is enjoyable and has the right combination of challenge and reward for the average golfer. The service in the spa was great.
Only negative was the wait for food when the resort is busy. Some of our guests waited almost 2 hours for pizza's in the bar restaurant downstairs others a similar time for room service.
Overall a great stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a bottom floor villa by the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Bigmac_1974

Thank you so much for your review of the resort.

It is pleasing to here that you enjoyed our resort additions this is something that we are working on each day to create a truly great resort experience. We will be adding more activities over the coming months.

Our Villas are certainly a treat and we are also slowly enhancing this product with the addition of dishwashers in every unit and a new 46 inch LCD TV in the lounge rooms.

I apologise for the wait on food in Grapevine and Room Service This is an issue that I am aware of and I am very pleased to say we have a solution. From the 17th June Grapevine Bar and Kitchen are being fully renovated and that our new kitchen will be state of the art and allow our chefs to cook food much more quickly so that we can deliver your meal in an acceptable time.

Once again thank you for your kind comments,we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

David Bark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is not the place to go for a special occasion or celebration. The occasion was a 40th Birthday celebration with 12 invitees. We wanted to make it a special event so contacted the hotel staff to organise a small gift for the birthday girl. Just a card and maybe a bottle of wine. That seemed pretty basic seeing as we were staying in the Hunter Valley. The staff (with attitude) absolutely refused to acknowledge the occasion! Not even agreeing to provide a card! And we were spending over $2000 on accommodation, meals, drinks, pampers etc. After several more attempts to organise a small gift the General Manager was contacted. He wasn’t the least bit interested. I made it clear that it is very common for hotels to acknowledge special events. The response from the hotel was that “ we don’t acknowledge birthdays here” and “it is not our policy to provide gifts”. Unbelievable!

Next we tried to book a table for breakfast only to be told “we don’t take bookings here” and “you just need to turn up and wait for a table”. We tried to explain that we were a group of 12 who wanted to sit together. Still no agreement from the staff for a booking. After a number of further calls we managed to gain agreement to have a table reserved however we “had to be at breakfast by 845 or miss out”. So rude!

We were very disappointed with the lack of interest from the hotel but unfortunately it was too late to change the booking. The weekend away then got worse. There was no recognition of the 40th birthday at check in. There was no gift for the birthday girl.

When we arrived for breakfast we were told tables can’t be reserved! This was getting frustrating. A discussion followed with more attitude being shown by the staff. Then another argument over whether breakfast had been paid for! In this case the supervisor with her voice raised followed us to the front desk where we were served up with more attitude from the duty manager. In the end we were proved to be correct. No apologies from the supervisor or duty manager.

To top it off when we tried to celebrate the birthday with cupcakes late one evening we were told off again with attitude that we were not allowed to eat cup cakes in the bar!

All in all a very very disappointing and stressful experience. This planned special event was completely spoiled by such rude staff, showing contempt of guests, bad attitude, dreadful customer service and all apparently supported by their General Manager who made no attempt whatsoever to create an atmosphere for a celebration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the resort. I am extremely sorry that we did not meet your expectations for your celebration weekend away.

Our team have been in touch to discuss this with you directly, but I also wanted to add that in June we will commence a renovation of our Grapevine Bar & kitchen. This means we will have a larger outlet that will allow us to provide another venue whereby we will be able to provide a more relaxed cafe style breakfast where tables can be booked.

Once again, my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations this time and we hope to have another chance for the team to welcome you to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed in a double bedroom chalet which was pretty good value, decent amount of room one ensuite and one other bathroom. Good sized kitchen/dining area and opened out onto the golf course/lake. Rooms and hotel unremarkeable but clean and functional and the check in and out staff were friendly. Great location for the wineries in Pokolbin, just off Broke road.

Room Tip: If you are right on the golf course the golfers start early and the service carts whizz around..so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi DriverDanSydney

Thank you for your kind feedback and fantastic that you are sharing that we are in a great location for visiting the wineries.
Hope to get you back here soon.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Paying fairly typical prices for a chain hotel, we didn't have high expectations for our two-bedroom villa - but on arrival were blown away by the villa's size and the hotel facilities. The villa had large bedrooms, ample communal space and plenty of crockery/equipment (allowing us to enjoy plenty of the wine we had bought in the local vineyards). Reception and restaurant staff were friendly and knowledgable - and quick to step in when we had hire car problems. The hotel was a quality outfit throughout - modern sandstone design, open spaces, lots of natural light, a big pool with plenty of loungers and restaurant with great views and varied menu of well-executed dishes. As a classy base for a tour of the Hunter Valley I couldn't recommend it more.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you Holidayfunfan for sharing your great comments. We are proud of our resort and facilities and are pleased you enjoyed your stay here whilst touring the Hunter.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here with my wife & 9month old son - our room in the main building was on the same floor as the restaurant & bar .. which meant the range on baby monitor reached to the restaurant which was very handy ! We found the staff very informative and helpful particualrly in the restaurant and bar.. Nice big pool and resort had a relaxed vibe..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Neil

Thanks for taking the time to give us some positive comments. We are please you got that relaxed vibe. Hope you come back soon.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The 2 bedroom villa was excellent. We were near the lake and the villa was renovated and spacious. I would enquire about the type of villa when booking, as we noticed the villas on the other side of the resort were not renovated. There is a good, free kids club and the facilities for children are excellent. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. A great resort for families. Our son particularly loved having swans and ducks outside our door.

Room Tip: If staying in the villas request one by the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear BMSSydney

Thank you for your kind comments about our resort, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Please note that our villas are all of the same standard and none have been renovated at a different time to the others.
I do hope that we see you again soon.

Kind regards
Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Address: 430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2321, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.