We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great scenery - nothing more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2321, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great scenery - nothing more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel complex is surrounded by some great scenery and the onsite golf course and swimming pool are fantastic, however the hotel lacks the X factor! The rooms are spacious but lack creativity and are very basic in design. The room service is slow and the bar prices are expensive!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi Bobby11c

Thanks you for your comments about the resort pool and golf course. I am sorry that you experienced slow room service, this can happen during busy holiday times and we are putting plans into place to address the issue over the next few months including expanding the kitchen.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    358
    101
    32
    19
See reviews for
223
289
11
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a wonderful place for a quiet break. The room are very generously sized and well equipped. Service is prompt and efficient (we had trouble with the TV system and it was fixed in no time). Facilities cater for every need, right down to daily activities for kids.

Room Tip: We stayed near the pool and it appeared to be central to all activities and facilties
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi Bruce

I am glad you and your family had a great stay at the resort. Our team work hard to give great service and we are always evaluating our facilities and school holiday activities to match our guests expectations and give something interesting so we appreciate your comments.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went to a wedding in the Hunter and stayed for 1 night only. The hotel were fabulous in letting into the room early so we could get changed for 4.00pm wedding (we got in at 2pm although the check in time is 3pm, later than other hotels). We had a very nicely presented 3 bedroom townhouse with views of water and links. The rooms are clean, neutral and the three bedroom has a master suite upstairs. Airconditioning is good. The check in staff are bright and friendly and the hotel is well maintained in public areas.

This is very much a family hotel with lots of children. So not idea for a honeymoon and the central dining area does feel like a staff canteen at breakfast - so so many people its so noisy = you feel you are in a holiday camp so we chose to go elsewhere for a country breakfast.

The Vineyard Bar next to the pool offers a lunch but it is a poor selection in terms of 'healthy' and a little overcooked (fish and chips completely dry). The service is poor too. Staff hanging around but you have to get everything yourself. A little more service would have been nice.

The gym areas and spa were not sampled but looked terrific. So all in all I think a great family hotel with lots of things to do regarding golf and swimming or a stag weekend or conference, but for a romantic couple I'd probably look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Villa 620 is terrific with 180 degree views and lots of quiet and privacy, but it is a walk away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi Christine

Thank you for taking time to give your feedback and thank you for your kind comments about the resort. I am sorry you experienced poor service in our Grapevine poolside cafe / bar and I will pass these comments on to the team there.
I do not have your date of stay but the resort is very popular with families over a school holiday period and this is what you may have experienced, we do however get a lot of couples enjoying a romantic getaway at other times.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Went away for a boys weekend to play golf
Everything about the weekend despite some bad weather was great
Rooms were fantastic
Breakfast great
Gold course even better
Great hub for everything around it
Can't wait again for next years trip

Room Tip: Choose a 600 numbered villa - close walk to main building and retaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi SydneyAussieFamily4

Thanks for your feedback and glad you had a great boys weekend. We are very proud of the golf course and the team work hard to keep it in good condition and interesting to play.
Look forward to having you back next year. Maybe bring the girls to try out our popular Tea Tree Spa.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you live in Sydney, this is just far enough away to feel like you've escaped, but not so far that a short break is eaten up by travel there and back. My wife and I had a two-bedroom villa - too big for us really, but the space was lovely. Lots to do in and around the Hunter Valley of course, but the Crowne Plaza has a decent range of activities if you prefer not to drive anywhere. (Sad the spa was out of order though.) It's not super cheap, but we made it a reasonably priced escape by not using the restaurants and cooking in our own well-equipped kitchenette instead. We'll do this again.

Room Tip: If you're in a villa, choose upstairs. Being downstairs, we heard quite a bit of noise through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi Rick

Thanks for taking time to leave feed back. We are very popular for the short break Sydney market. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back here to enjoy all that is on offer (including the Spa). Unfortunately our Spa heater did need to be repaired, this has now been done and there was plenty of steam coming off the Spa this morning as I went past.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley last week for Anzac Day and it was amazing! We had a 3 bedroom villa, which was 2 storeys and everything! You get a beautiful backyard (the golf course) and everything in the room was spotless. Breakfast at Redsalt was great, very different to every other hotel breakfast. There are big pastry cabinets with donuts, friands, and muffins! Crowne Plaza has a lot of activities to offer for everyone. Kids club, Segway tours, golf course, putting practice, croquet, beach volleyball, games room, playstation, wii, Xbox kinect, the pool, table tennis, giant bouncy balls and more! There is so much to do here, it is great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks Lol89955 for your fantastic comments. I am really pleased you mentioned our activities as we have been working hard to develop these and keep them interesting, we have found the giant balls particularly popular with children and adults alike.

Hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The crown plaza is a great place to have a weekend escape. The buffet breakfast is amazing but a bit expensive. We had a 2 bedroom villa and was wonderful for 2 couples. We also had a kitchenette so could prepare some food if we liked.
The Pool area is great for kids and its heated in the winter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi Louise

Thank you for your review. I am very glad you had a Great Escape and enjoyed our fantastic buffet breakfast. We do hope to see you back soon for another one.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Address: 430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2321, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.