We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting but bring your wallet!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2321, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice setting but bring your wallet!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is built in the Hunter Valley and like so many properties in that part of the world is overpriced for what it offers. The prices seem to to escalate when there are events being held in the area. We were attending a wedding and this was where most guests were staying as it was close to the reception venue. The room was pleasant enough and was like any other Crowne Plaza (which I guess is comforting). The main building is in a kind of u shape, which meant sound does tend to travel. This meant we couldn't sleep with the balcony door open as the noise from other people sitting on their balcony was loud - and this continued well into the early hours of the morning. Having said that the room was air conditioned which we had to leave on all night. The other thing to consider is that the parking is a long way from the room. Like so many hotels in this country wi fi was not free but available at exorbitant rates - when will Australia catch up with the rest of the world on this and offer free wi fi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Jane D,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize you were not satisfied with our High Speed Internet policy and the rates. Prices vary depending on the dates and are competitive within the area. We also apologize for the experience you had with the noise and the location of our parking did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    358
    100
    32
    19
See reviews for
223
288
11
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recently spent the weekend in a 2 bedroom villa. It was massive and seemed very new! It was well decked out except for the lounge being extremely uncomfortable.
All the staff were very helpful. Especially the porter that kept giving us lifts in the golf cart to and from the main building because of the rain. He was always more than happy to help.
Breakfast had everything you could think of and all really good quality. It is pretty pricey so you have to make sure you eat enough to get your money's worth.
Unfortunately because of the rain we didn't get to use the outdoor leisure facilties e.g. tennis and volleyball but the tennis courts looked in really good shape.
Great location, right in the centre of the Hunter Valley.
I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

stayed there for 2 nights and found it adequate but getting overall tired.
This is now only a 3 star property IMO and as such is overpriced even considering the region and weekend booking.
Car parking is not undercover and open to the elements. Getting to your vehicle when it's raining and vehicle protection is not good enough.
The room booked was a standard room. Clean, well apointed and had everything, but just all outdated.
Breakfast was good with a good selection and the downstairs bar/restaurant was good for a light late meal.
Just a musty feel to it all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear sydneydavid56,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I apologize we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We arrived into Hunter Valley from Sydney in February and we booked into the Crowne Plaza mid-week, as I had received some good recommendations from friends about this hotel. The hotel is located beside a golf course and the surrounding grounds are very well kept. The hotel seems to be relatively new and it has numerous facilities such as swimming pool, spa etc. I found the concierge to be very helpful when it came to navigating the area, from renting bikes for wine tasting to booking the restaurant and taxi service for the evening. Our room was spacious and it also came with a balcony looking out on the golf course. I'll book again when I'm back in the Hunter!

Room Tip: Make sure to call ahead and book bicycles for touring around the various wineries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

For a family trip I booked this hotel. Wrong: don't go there with family, it is only useful for business-meetings etc., when the company pays. Coming in the room, there was a bottle of water: not with the compliments of the hotel, but offered for only $7,00, and besides, not cooled. Wifi? Of course, but you have to pay: and not cheap. Breakfast? Well organized, but for $ 39,50 that is what you can except. Coffee on the terrace? Feel free to do so, but we don't serve on the terrace. "Please find it yourself!" First payment by cc refused? The deskman is friendly enough to suggest "Your bank-account may be not sufficient". This place completely lacks personality and the sense of hospitality. Paying by creditcard? Please accept 1,5% extra costs. What a rip-off this place is!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear 651950,

Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations at a good and competitive value. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had two nights in a King suite - very comfortable, clean and ours was extra spacious. We had signed up for a breakfast included deal and if it is available - definitely go for it. The breakfast was amazing and pretty much meant no lunch required.
All the staff we dealt with were helpful, friendly and totally professional. The pool is huge and was welcome after a big day investigating the wineries.
Totally recommend the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: ask for room on 3rd floor and one at end closest to the elevator is bigger than the rest. The standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ideally located in the heart of wine country this well-appointed hotel effortlessly ticked all the boxes: a weekend escape within easy reach of home and from where we could launch expeditions to a range of Hunter Valley attractions.

A modern decor, spacious facilities, efficient staff and attractive grounds - the hotel is surrounded by a well manicured golf course - rounded out the ambience and added positively to the experience. The impressive looking swimming pool, which adjoins a casual and airy lounge bar, proved popular with energetic holiday makers.

If live music is your thing a half-hourly bus whisks you to nearby concert venues like Hope Estate, and back; very handy when there's no designated driver to do the honors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Address: 430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2321, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.