We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel for the area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2321, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Sydney
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel for the area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

The hotel is modern, well maintained and has that ‘wow factor’, especially if you are not after that family run/boutique/small property hunter escape.

The hotel service is excellent, rooms clean and a great range of facilities (pool, golf, etc). The rooms all have either a balcony or small terrace with sun-chairs. There are also ‘villas’ that are scattered around the massive property and golf course.

I would have to say the only down sides are the lack of water pressure from the shower and the ‘Red Salt’ restaurant – having had dinner one evening on a 2 night stay – overall the food is quite pleasant, service great – however pricing is a little steep for the experience you receive and there is an air of sterility and lack of ambiance you wouldn’t expect for a restaurant in the hunter region.

I would recommend driving the 2km’s to have dinner at Petersons Champaign House (only had breakfast here one morning, but absolutely amazing) – also has wonderful cellar door sales – excellent value for money, impeccable service and exquisite food!

A unique concept is that the hotel offers a BBQ – basically you book a package (of meats, salads, etc) and let the concierge know when and where you want a BBQ set up (anywhere on the property or outside your room) it is delivered with a hamper of food to cook up a storm..
Overall, the stay at the hotel was above average and my partner and I were made to feel very welcome, will definitely return.

  • Liked — Room was fantastic
  • Disliked — 'Red Salt'
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    358
    100
    32
    19
See reviews for
223
288
11
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

It's not far from home but we didn't fancy 4 hours in a car with our toddler so thought we'd stay at the Crowne Plaza for a night. It's true that it dosn't have the most pituresque location when compared to Cypress Lakes but the second you walk in all that dosn't seem to matter.

It's a pretty large hotel, but even though it was full when we were there over the Christmas period it didn't seem crowded thanks to a really well designed layout. We had a suite in the main building which was wonderfully laid out and very spacious, perfect for a couple and a young child.

We had both dinner and breakfast at the main RedSalt resteraunt and both were really good. I can get a bit fed up with hotel breakfasts but this time there was so much choice and everything was so fresh I had to go back for seconds. Dinner there was really great as well, although a little limited in choice what was on offer was of extremely high quality.

The pool area is very nice, although like the rest of the grounds they really should have invested in some more mature trees - it's gonna look amazing in 10 years time, but thats a while to wait. The only criticism is that there were far too few sunbeds, by 09:00am they were all "towled" (i.e. reserved).

But the thing that made the stay so wonderful was the staff, they were just so friendly, helpful, curtious and none of it seemed forced. It really makes the place standout compared to other hotels in the area and based on that alone we will absolutely be back to take advantage of everything this place has to offer.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Outside appearance
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

We stayed 2 nights in the Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley.
We booked a 2 bedroom/2 bathrooms villa for our family of 4.
The villa is huge and has a good sized master bedroom with an ensuite consisting of a shower/basin and WC.
The main bedroom also has a little work table adjoining a small walk in wardrobe. It has a big King Sized bed and a TV.
The other bedroom has 2 double beds and its own wardrobe, vanity table and TV. The common bathroom is located next to this bedroom and has a bathtub with shower/WC and a washbasin.
There is a large sitting area and a dining area with a small kitchenette and a small fridge/minibar.
The villa is furnished in Brown tones and has its own balcony where you can gain access to the grounds and the golf course.
The whole villa is air conditioned. There is an aircon unit in the living room and one each in the 2 bedrooms which we found wonderful after coming in from the sweltering heat of the hot summer sun outside.
The pillows were really plump and comfortable. The duvet especially felt so luxurious and my daughters love to cuddle underneath them and watch TV or read their books when we return to the villa.
We were almost tempted to buy the duvets home even though it was the start of our 2 weeks vacation and we had to drive from Hunter Valley to Brisbane and will be staying at different towns in between.
There is a daily maid service and they will make the beds and change fresh towels.
There is no washer/dryer in the villa but the hotel provides a laundry service and the rates are quite reasonable. There is also room service and I think 2 restaurants on site but we didn't get a chance try them.
I would recommend staying at the Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley. We felt very welcomed and everyone, from the doorman, to the girl who checked us in and especially the room attendants were very warm and friendly.
Even though we are generally non-drinkers and do not really visit the wineries, I would go back to Hunter Valley just to stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel again!

  • Liked — The comfortable beds and the air conditioning!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

We stayed at the Crowne for the first time during the Elton John concert weekend so it was absolutely full. The service was excellent at check in and very friendly. We had a king room in the hotel wing ($235) which was very luxurious. Our friends had a villa which was twice the size and had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms for $400. Both rates included breakfast which was excellent quality - biffet style. Really couldnt fault it. The swimming pool is huge and loads of sunbeds. I would definitely stay here and recommend it for anyone. I've stayed in more expensive 'boutique' hotels in the Hunter and they just dont match up to the quality and price of the Crowne.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisneyland Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

My husband and I Stayed at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley for 4 nights in early October at the start of our honeymoon.

From the moment we arrived at Crowne the staff and service exceeded our expectations. Genuine staff catered to every detail of our stay and made our honeymoon truly unforgettable.

Red Salt and Star Anise are fantastic in house restaurants and the newly opened spa was well equipped and professional. A vist to Bimbadgen Estate is a must - fantastic views and the sparkling wine is great value.

Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

Ok so I stayed here with my girlfriend in July. As you may know, July is a cold time down under. So let me begin!

Booking/Prices:
I was thinking of going to Hunter Valley, and didn't have any particular hotel i wanted to stay. Believe it or not, this hotel is part of American Express Selects hotel, so you can get yourself two nights for price of 1. I don't think there's restriction on which AMEX you hold (US, UK, Asia, etc...), just call the hotel and make a mention that you want a "two for 1 night deal on AMEX Select". I stress this point, because many other hotels have 3 night for price of 2, which makes it less attractive. I got myself a AUD $128/night, which is awesome deal. Better than wotif.com

Location:
It's in central Hunter Valley. Allow yourself 2.5h drive from Sydney and you'll make it there. The hotel is right next to information center of hunter, so it's helpful. Granted, Hunter is very small, so it doesn't really make this particular hotel the best choice.

Hotel Ambience:
Someone said in review that it's family-infested and not suited for couples. Definitely NOT true. It's romantic, calm, and quiet. When I checked in, I bumped into no other guest. In the hotel Alley, I saw no other guest. (let alone kids). A bit plus for that romantic hide-out. Also, the hotel is very much like a country golf club feel, very exclusive. The only down side is that during breakfast at it's main restaurant, there were many families. So they do exist, just not visible. It's got a large swimming pool, tennis courts, but these were not used in winter.

Rooms:
The room is very modern, with LCD TV and nice double bed, individual climate control. Has a large bathtub and seperate shower area (sorry no photo). Look, it's not Westin or Four Season, but it's a nice upper 4* hotel if you know what I mean. It's roomy enough. We enjoyed staying INSIDE the room. In fact, on Saturday we returned to room at 3pm, and didn't leave after that. It's got like 40+ in-house movies to choose from, so you won't be bored. The only down side, the bathroom is tiled, not marble or granite flooring.

Food/Dining:
Apparently restaurants get booked out for Saturday night very quickly. that's why we opted for room service. But this was a nice meal, much better than i would have expected for a room service. For breakfast, we ate at hotel's restaurant. I think for AUD$33 buffet, it was a bit rich... They servce nice omlet, which is a MUST, very nice. Also, you can have BBQ dinner where the hotel will prepare the BBQ equipment. This was kind of funny.

Do yourself a favor and go out for breakfast outside of hotel. Also, for dinner or lunch I highly recommend restaurant called "Robertson". Do a search, and you will know. I attached a menu from lunch for your reference.

Things to do:
Nothing much, apart from winery. Why would you come here otherwise? at night, you can see beautiful stars and Milky Way. We didn't try hot-air baloon as I rather sleep in.

Value for money:
For AUD$128/night (discount), definite yes yes yes. I wouldn't pay more than AUD$250/night though, you can do better things with your money.

  • Liked — Clean modern room and plentiful in-house movie selection
  • Disliked — Breakfast too rich for food quality offerred
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

What a fabulous hotel! I've stayed at nearly every 4 or 5 star hotel in the Hunter Valley over the last 10 years as a conference organiser for a large corporation and have very high expectations, however this hotel stands out as the best by far. This is primarily due to the wonderful staff - it is consistently outstanding throughout the hotel. Also the food at the Red Salt restaurant is excellent (albeit a little pricey, but it is worth every cent). I couldn't fault this hotel at all. It is so great to have a holiday where everything is virtually perfect. I will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Quality of service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Address: 430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2321, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.