We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect Hunter getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackwattle Luxury Retreats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lovedale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackwattle Luxury Retreats
Save
You added Blackwattle Luxury Retreats to your Saves list
169 Talga Road, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect Hunter getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hi,
if you're looking for a romantic getaway to the Hunter, Blackwattle Retreats is the place to go! Accommodation is absolutely gorgeous and in a beautiful location.
would definitely go back and recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

W are here for 2 nights and its very unforgottable memory..
We can enjoy the scenery while drink a glass of wine and watch the wild kangaroo... In front of our villa there is a vineyard..
The entire room was perfect..clean and cozy..
They provide a ipod deck so u can enjoy to listening ur own music..
The kitchen set is very complete so u dont need to go outside eat. U just cook and enjoy the rest of the night with the beautiful scenery of hunter valley.
I really love this hotel..
I hope can come to visit this hotel 1more time.

Ps : very queit and the hotel owner always welcome as from email. We cant even meet the reception or other people.
All is very prepared before we reach. The key is outside the house and they will give us the code to enter the villa.

Just the location is very difficult to find and u need to rent a car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of July and it was just beautiful. I had pretty high expectations after reading through all the reviews and it did not disappoint. The cabins were just beautiful and cosy, I could easily live there! Waking up to the kangaroos feeding of a morning, relaxing in the huge bathtub of a night, it was just what we were after - relaxation! Amanda was just lovely, very welcoming and the hamper she supplied was huge! We stayed in one of the nights & ate from it as there was so much food!! I definitely recommend staying here, located in such a lovely area in beautiful surroundings, it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Owner at Blackwattle Luxury Retreats, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad that your high expectations did not lead to disappointment with your stay. We try very hard to represent everything as accurately as we can and the best comments we receive are the ones that say it is even better than the website. (Of course we can't do anything about the weather which wasn't great while you were here!)

You are right about watching the kangaroos - there is something very relaxing about watching them feeding in the morning and at dusk. After 5 years here, they still stop me in my tracks to laugh at their antics, or to be amazed at the sight of a little head popping out of the mother's pouch to have a chew of the grass as well. Keeps us all in touch with the basics!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This place was everything & more. Absolutely brand new, beautifully decorated & such pretty little touches everywhere. We will absolutely be going back there again. Perfect for a romantic, secluded escape

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My second visit to Blackwatle Luxury Retreat and I loved it even more than the first! Why? This time I met Amanda and Scott - they weren't here the first time!
I just love this place! It is so quiet, with fabulous views of the vines, mountains and of course, the kangaroos! The breakfast hamper is fabulous and the beds are so comfortable that it is hard to get out of them!
One of the other things I really appreciate is the absolute cleanliness of the cottage - everything is spotless.
I don't want to stay anywhere else when I visit the Hunter Valley. Thank you Amanda and Scott!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. What a gem! Every detail is included and the level of luxury is fantastic. We enjoyed watching the sunset each evening from the very comfortable lounge area. The king size bed has the crispest, white sheets we have ever slept in. The two person bath is very deep and we enjoyed watching the surrounding countryside while luxuriating in the tub. A memorable wedding anniversary.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Owner at Blackwattle Luxury Retreats, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary at Blackwattle and we are glad that it met all your expectations. The sunset is certainly special from the deck of the retreat and there is nothing better at the end of the day than a glass of Hunter Valley wine and that view.

P.S. Your comment re the white crisp sheets was passed on to Camilla at the Foam Room Laundry Service who was absolutely thrilled to receive some feedback. She always goes to a lot of trouble to keep everything in perfect condition and deserves to be recognized. All part of a great, happy team we have here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I took my sister in law and her new husband to Blackwattle as a wedding present. This was the most beautiful serene place. Waking up to kangaroos was a treat, and coming back after a long day of wine tasting to sit by the fire was absolutely divine. The breakfast basket was awesome, truly Amanda and Scott we take our hats off you really have thought of everything. We will definitely be back (my husband says yearly) and would recommend to anyone wanting to visit the Hunter Region.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackwattle Luxury Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwattle Luxury Retreats

Address: 169 Talga Road, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful contemporary accommodation in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country, NSW, Australia. Blackwattle offers two exclusive retreats: The Couple's Retreat: Private and perfect for two, set amongst native trees and an olive grove with large deck and stunning mountain views. The Vineyard Retreat: Beautifully designed to accommodate two couples or a small group of four. Overlooking the vineyard with a large deck to relax and take in the glorious views. Both Retreats have king size beds with luxurious linen. L'Occitane toiletries, handmade soaps and a complimentary bottle of wine are all included, plus all the little extras such as iPod dock/USB connection, quality BBQ, CDs, DVDS, magazines... Location is just 10 minutes from the main Hunter Valley Wine Country Tourism Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackwattle Luxury Retreats Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackwattle Luxury Retreats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.