We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackwattle Luxury Retreats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lovedale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackwattle Luxury Retreats
Save
You added Blackwattle Luxury Retreats to your Saves list
169 Talga Road, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom cottageon Friday 24 and Saturday 25 Feb - leaving on the Sunday. We arrived with my husband having a bit of a melt down, since our nav man took us everywhere but the cottages. With the old fashioned map we wouldn't have had a problem! The cottage is simple but wonderful. Very private with great views. We had both magnificent sunsets and sunrises. The bed was incredibly comfortable with great sheets. Everything screamed quality. On the Friday we had a great lunch at Bistro Molines so just cooked ourselves a simple meal on the barbecue. The next day we met up with a friend and had a leisurely lunch at Leaves and Fishes, Just a five/ten minute drive away. We went to a couple of wineries, but our main purpose was simply to relax. We lit the candles, played the Beethoven cd, took long baths and smiled a lot. Over the years we've stayed at many places in the Hunter and I think this is now my favourite since it delievered everything I wanted and more. I love its eco credentials. Go stay if you want class, serenity but still very close to great restaurants and wineries.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at Blackwattle over Easter of last year & were so impressed with the accommodation we decided to return in October for a 4 night stay and to attend the Meat Loaf concert at the Bimbadgen Estate Winery. The property is easy to find near the beginning of Talga Rd in Lovedale. Near the road is the owners house, about a third of the way down the gradually sloping property is the retreat for 2 and down at the bottom of the property near a lake is the 4 person retreat. The living areas and decks face different ways in the two retreats so both are private. The 2 person retreat is screened from the owners house by a landscaped garden & fence. We stayed twice in the two person retreat. It consists of a lounge area with comfy chairs & a sofa, a two person table & chairs and a kitchen complete with gas cooktop, full electric oven, Microwave & a single Dishdrawer. There is a small flat screen TV with just a few channels available, and a reasonable CD stereo which includes an ipod dock which sounds pretty good. There is a selection of easy listening CD 's and also a few DVD's which fit into the side of the TV. There is an abundance of cutlery, crockery & cookware in the kitchen. We opted for the breakfast package which if my memory serves me correctly is $10 per person / day. The breakfast provisions Amanda leaves for you are very generous and include yummy treats like Whisk & Pin Cereals, Croissants in the freezer to simply heat up in the oven, Lovedale smokehouse bacon, free range eggs all washed down by some divine Byron Bay Coffee. There are also fruit juices, yoghurts, milk, etc..... Actually, there is enough food to see you right through the day until Dinner time if you are not a big eater. Moving through from the lounge there is the bedroom which has a huge and very comfy king size bed in it and a big wardrobe then the bathroom. There is a huge walk in shower and a bath along the window if you want to soak looking out at the serene view. The towels are of a high quality & the toiletries are by L'occitane en provence. Out on the deck is a small Weber Bar B Q which is fed by the main gas supply (2 large cylinders) and an outdoor table setting and some other outdoor furniture. In the lounge is a small pot belly stove with plenty of wood provided. We did not find it cool enough on either visit to use it. The lounge & bedroom each have their own separate Air Conditioners which work very well. A lot of thought has gone into this accommodation by owners that I suspect have traveled themselves and know what people would like. On our return from the Meat Loaf concert we were delighted to find Amanda had visited whilst we were out and left a basket of further breakfast provisions outside for us should we be getting low! Such a thoughtful gesture. To summarize a spotless and well presented, comprehensively equipped retreat that is just so serene & quiet at an extremely good price when compared to other properties of this quality in the area. At dawn & dusk there are plenty of Kangaroos around to keep you company, one evening we counted over 30 of them; some of which didn't seem in too much of a hurry to get off the roadway so we could drive past! We have visited the Hunter Valley many times and we are always finding new eateries but our two favourites are Esca Bimbadgen and the Verandah Restaurant, both just a short drive away; although the Lovedale region is full of restaurants & cafes so you don't have to venture far from here if you don't want to. We found it possible to get a good walk in down Talga Rd each morning, some of the roads here are not possible to walk along but Talga Rd is a quiet road with a wide shoulder and if you are early enough you will see more of the local wildlife in the paddocks as you walk. It is hard to believe this wonderful place is just a 2 hour drive from the biggest city in Australia, we love Sydney as well but this could be a world away.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Quite simply this is the best accommodation in Hunter Valley. I give it 11 out of 10!
Everything was absolutely perfect - not a single thing could be improved. A quick summary: Amazing Hunter Valley view over olive grove and vineyards, privacy, local kangaroos feeding right in front of the cabin, king sized bed, deep bath with a view, shower with excellent water pressure, quality toiletries, spotlessly clean, friendly owners, great selection of DVDs & CDs, proper useable kitchen with essentials such as oil and clingfilm, BBQ, delicious gourmet breakfast basket, Air-con and Log fire.
Can't wait to go back there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

If you are looking for a relaxing and quiet place - this is the one to go. Although in the middle of nowhere the main winieries and restaurents can be reached within 10...15 minutes driving. We stayed at the smaller cottage which provides plenty of space for 2 and is elegantly furnished. Kitchen, bedroom, bathroom everthing was in mint condition and not the common hotel furniture.
Most stunning were the sunsets and the wildlife next to our window including feeding Kangaroos in the morning. Relax at the elegant deck in high quality garden furniture or stroll around at the hugh lot.
The place has extreme good privacy due to the distance to the other cottage and to the owners residence and the appealing vegitation around the house.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Owner at Blackwattle Luxury Retreats, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for such lovely feedback.

Our aim at Blackwattle is to offer unique accommodation that reflects a contemporary Australian rural style and is quite different to the usual hotel rooms, so we are glad that you enjoyed this aspect of your stay.

And yes, it is great location, with the luxury of space to stroll around the grounds and boutique vineyard, plus the views of the mountains, rolling hills and vineyards. Guests are also lucky enough to have four restaurants within 5 minutes and numerous well-known cellar doors close by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed here late September in the two bedroom retreat (one room not used) for our 20 year anniversary - it was superb! Wonderful accomodation and peaceful surrounds - we would certainly come back. We would highly recommend Mojo's restautant, which is only about 5 minutes away and was as good as any city restaurants - spectacular.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Owner at Blackwattle Luxury Retreats, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Great to know that your 20th wedding anniversary was celebrated so enjoyably and thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive comments. The romantic vineyard setting and beautiful sunsets at Blackwattle have seen many happy anniversaries and quite a few marriage proposals as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Totally agree with all reviews. We enjoyed Blackwattle so much that we didn't even want to leave to go out for dinner - it was such a pleasure to just "stay in" and have a very relaxed barbeque on the deck.

The cottage completely exceeded our expectations - there is just everything anyone could ever need when staying. We could not fault anything - location, quality, the breakfast provisions, decor and it is obvious to see there has been a lot of effort put into making sure their guests have just the best time. Can’t wait to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Owner at Blackwattle Luxury Retreats, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
We would love to see you back again as well! It was great to know your group had such a wonderful stay and we greatly appreciate your thoughtful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here in the winter of 2011. Amanda was a lovely host, she came out to greet us the moment we drove in. The one bedroom retreat was incredible. The kitchen was so well equipped and the bathroom filled with luxurious L'Occitane toiletries. We had a hard time deciding whether to stay in or to go out during the day! We will definitely be back if we visit the Hunter region again. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackwattle Luxury Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwattle Luxury Retreats

Address: 169 Talga Road, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful contemporary accommodation in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country, NSW, Australia. Blackwattle offers two exclusive retreats: The Couple's Retreat: Private and perfect for two, set amongst native trees and an olive grove with large deck and stunning mountain views. The Vineyard Retreat: Beautifully designed to accommodate two couples or a small group of four. Overlooking the vineyard with a large deck to relax and take in the glorious views. Both Retreats have king size beds with luxurious linen. L'Occitane toiletries, handmade soaps and a complimentary bottle of wine are all included, plus all the little extras such as iPod dock/USB connection, quality BBQ, CDs, DVDS, magazines... Location is just 10 minutes from the main Hunter Valley Wine Country Tourism Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackwattle Luxury Retreats Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackwattle Luxury Retreats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.