We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebush Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bluebush Estate to your Saves list
Bluebush Estate
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   196 Wildernes Road, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Magical!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

A wonderful B & B in a magical setting!! Amazing facilities and exceptionally helpful staff!! Breakfast overlooking the vineyard with kangeroos hopping past... Amazing!! Thank you for a wonderful stay! X

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
60
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We recently booked out the whole of Blue Bush to house guests at our wedding. I was initially a bit sceptical as I wasn't sure about the images on the website (I was booking from overseas) but on arrival I was blown away - the cottages and especially the setting are incredible. Each cottage is lovely, large and comfortable. There are great entertainment areas with pool tables, night lit tennis courts and a swimming pool. The cottages overlook beautiful vineyards and one moring kangaroos bounced past which was a real treat for overseas guests. I would highly recommend Blue Bush to anyone. They really need to improve their website as it does no justice to how great this place is!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We are not normally big fans of B&B's so our expectations were not high for the experience. What we found was a lovely, warm and welcoming place to spend 3 nights in a beautiful and relaxing setting.

Positives;
- Well maintained
- Well proportioned and maintained rooms
- Great facilities
- Warm and relaxing atmosphere
- Lovely and accomodating staff
- Filling breakfasts
- Convenient location
- Genuinely feels like you're staying at a good friend's house

Negatives;
- Pillows (while not initially happy with the pillows the staff quickly and happily provided us with extra pillows and towels when requested)
- In house dinners listed were not fully stocked

As you can see many many positives and the negatives were hardly anything to dampen our stay. We would recommend this to our friends or anyone thinking of staying in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Lodge and the Cottage, being side by side, were an excellent accomodation option for our family group comprising 13 adults, 5 children and 2 infants. We especially enjoyed the close proximity to the tennis court and pool and for our private use, the billiards table. Airconditioning throughout and many rooms having private ensuites was a valuable bonus. The Lodge was extremely spacious and had a lovely ambience with wood panelled cathedral ceilings and expansive windows for light and views. The Cottage was equally as comfortable and exuded old world charm. Both dwellings were exceptionally well appointed for self-catering and elegantly decorated. The staff were friendly, courteous, hospitable and unobtrusive. Located in Lovedale, Bluebush Estate offered us both centrality and peacefulness. I would highly recommend Bluebush Estate as a luxurious Hunter Wine Country accommodation which can cater nicely for groups.

Room Tip: The Lodge, with five bedrooms and abundunt communal areas, is a great option for large families or g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in the guest house and we would highly recommend this place to others! It is such good value! I was really impressed, considering the price.The service was great and the staff were incredibly friendly. The place was well furnished and cosy. Bedroom was a good size and was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast area is looking out onto vineyards, which is lovely. They served a good breakfast. The area is good as it's located near some vineyards and restaurants. It's a great place to stay and explore the Hunter Valley!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunter valley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Just stayed 3 nights at bluebush 1 in the guesthouse 2 in the lodge both were great staff were extremely helpful breakfast in the guest house was brilliant the lounge and dining area was very relaxing and tastefully decorated the lodge was huge 5 bedrooms billiard table the most snuggley and comfortable lounges overall great place to stay

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

3 couples stayed in the Bluebush estate cottage. It has generous proportions with a huge living room enhanced by an open gas fire. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean.

The lady on check in was lovely and advised that a buffet and cooked breakfast was available in the guest house the next day. The breakfast was well worth the extra few dollars and we left full and very happy.

All in all a super stay - highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluebush Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebush Estate

Address: 196 Wildernes Road, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluebush Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebush Estate is located in the renowned Lovedale region of Australia's Hunter Valley Wine Country, just 2 hours from Sydney and only 10 minutes from the beautiful Tempus Two winery & Hope Estate. At Bluebush Estate you will enjoy luxury accommodation amid our sweeping lawns, classic gardens, majestic trees and picturesque vineyards. Bluebush Estate is the tonic you need to unwind, relax and invigorate the mind and body. On our peaceful property, you can enjoy a getaway from the pressures of the city, or make us your base for your wine tour weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bluebush Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebush Estate Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebush Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.