We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant

Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant
737 Lovedale Road, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
02 49307400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 restaurants in Lovedale
Price range: $60 - $69
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant offers fresh, smart and simple dining to its guests within its inviting boathouse atmosphere perched over the water with views of the Brokenback ranges. A range of Asian-fusion and Australian meals are complimented by a Hunter-focused wine list to reward guests with a great Hunter dining experience. With more than 10 years experience, Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant is a favourite with locals and tourists alike - a must-see!
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My Bride & I were married yesterday @ Leaves & Fishes. We can't fault in anyway the way the staff handled our wedding, from the very beginning from when we were picking our venue, their constant correspondence & flexibility in the months leading to our special day. The garden venue ceremony settings was beautiful, the reception room was decorated to perfection, the food was amazing with fantastic wines to compliment the menu. Our guests feedback has been nothing but praise for the venue & its food & wine. The owners were very friendly & calming, the wedding co-ordinator Jacob was outstanding.If you want a no fuss but elegant wedding Leaves & Fishes is faultless !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are grateful to receive such high praise directly from one of our couples wed this Spring. We are just as delighted to share your special event with your and your close friends and believe that it was a wonderful evening had by all. We hope that your stay on our on-site accommodation was a relaxing and romantic experience also.

Your food and wine selections were great and we are glad that we could offer you your favourite wines to enjoy on your special day. Your personal touches throughout the reception were timeless and tasteful and your choice of music was excellent. It was a pleasure to work with you both to create this special occasion. We wish you the very best for the future and look forward to seeing you, your family and friends again soon at Leaves & Fishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    71
    24
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best dining experience in the Hunter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

By far the BEST dining experience in the Hunter Valley region.
The setting is superb and the food is divine. Fresh, clean and abounding with so much flavour.
We had the crispy skin trout - and we have never tasted skin so beautifully crispy!
Plus, the barramundi and leek fish pie was divine - could've polished off at least two!

The staff were gracious and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are delighted to receive these accolades as there are many fine dining examples in the Hunter Wine Region. We are constantly working to improve the experience for our new and regular customers alike and are happy that you were able to reap the benefits during your most recent visit.

The barramundi and leek pie continues to be a favourite with many visitors and the trout dish is a personal favourite of the staff also. We look forward to you trying equally delicious dishes on your next return as we modify our menu moving forward to the warmer months. Like many of our return customers, we look forward to seeing you at Leaves & Fishes again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had dinner with a few friends for a birthday do. If you go on the weekend there's a set menu and the food is great. Didn't like their seating though.Had pre-booked for 6 people for dinner and I felt like 3 of use were crammed together when it should have been a seat for two ppl. Luckily we were all tiny women so we fit but weren't comfortable. The food/ desert was great. Wine wasn't that great, pity considering we were in the hunter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed our new menu items during your special occasion. Our chefs are working hard to develop new menu items for both restaurants so you will be sure to enjoy new surprises on your next return. We are sorry to hear that your seating wasn't the most comfortable but this is all we could manage on a busy Father's Day service and with your one extra guest. Had we been informed of this extra guest, we would have made arrangements for you to be seated at a more appropriate table.

We disagree with the evaluation of our wine list and feel that poor choices were made by your table. As many of the male guests were drinking beer at the time of your dining, we understand that this may have prevented you from enjoying a bottle of wine to share. Leaves & Fishes supports the local wine-producing community so it would appear that the varieties we have in the Hunter are not to your taste rather than poor quality wines as you have stated. As we offer free corkage to customers who purchase wine from our wine partners, you have the opportunity to bring your favourite bottle of Hunter wine on your next visit to Leaves & Fishes at no additional charge.

Finally, when planning for a larger group celebration as your dinner was intended, we would strongly recommend our second restaurant, Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm which is designed for group bookings with its shared food menu. Regardless of which venue you choose next, we look forward to seeing you at Leaves & Fishes again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch @ Leaves & Fishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Today we had a lovely lunch for my Mother inlaw's Birthday... wow what a fantastic location & the food was beautiful & large servings, the staff were very friendly.

Would definitely come back again.

Thanks

Mark & Mel Steele

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We were delighted to share this special occasion with you and are glad that the weather was superb for your mother-in-law's birthday. Thank-you for you kind words regarding our food, service and ambience. We continue to work hard to ensure that we can continue to provide an exceptional experience for our local customers in the future. We also hope that our customers will take advantage of our free corkage and support our local wine partners' cellar doors. Special occasion or otherwise, we hope you may join us as the weather improves and we release our new menu. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place, great service, wasn't stoked with the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This place has a great atmosphere, the decor is beautiful & the service is wonderful. The menu is pricey- minimum set pricing of $65 for two courses- but standard for The Valley.

I was a little disappointed by the food. Asian influenced menu & mainly seafood (from memory I don't think there is an entree that's non seafood & duck was the only non seafood main-might be wrong though).

The dishes were presented beautifully, I ordered the calamari & the trout. The calamari was too heavily battered for my liking & was a little chewy. The dipping sauce was so sweet, I found I couldn't even balance the sweetness with the lime & pepper it was just a little sickly. The trout was beautifully cooked, but again the sauce was just too sweet.

I'd definitely give this place a second chance as the potential is there but a tough choice to go back when not wowed as just so many places to choose from here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank-you for your review of Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant. We're delighted that our hard work has paid off and you enjoyed our decor and service. We're concerned about your comments regarding our food but having reviewed your favourite restaurants on your TripAdvisor profile, we feel that our menu simply wasn't to your taste. We are further discouraged you didn't raise this view with us during our staff's routine checks as we would happily delivered another meal.

Our menu does include other non-seafood items including beef, duck, pork, etc. but we are primarily a seafood restaurant as our name suggests. We warmly recommend our second restaurant, Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm, with its menu focused on more game dishes which enjoys warm reviews just as Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant does. We look forward to seeing you at Leaves & Fishes again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.