We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Tired and functional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western The Lodge at Creel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western The Lodge at Creel to your Saves list
Best Western The Lodge at Creel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Lopez Mateos 61, Creel 33200, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Creel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Poole England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tired and functional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Shaby room well past its best situated with a view over carpark, not well soundproofed from neighbours toilet. Needs a makeover . Apparently best in Creel so no opposition!
More Canadian Rockies than Mexican in style. Breakfast underwhelming

Room Tip: Avoid the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPPERCANYON4U, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Best Western The Lodge at Creel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your opinion. Our cozy Wood cabins in front our parking lot are the newest rooms in our Hotel, adobe walls are well done builder to insulate cold and noise. It is interested to know more details to work on it. The rest of our rooms are Wood floors, every body loves the gas Mennonite type Ceramic Wood logs heaters, enjoin no cold at all during they stay. We guarantee a warm room and hot shower during your stay, and so people come back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    49
    20
    8
    0
See reviews for
46
50
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ingolf
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed overnight here before and after our trip to to Batopilas. Our canyon tour was done with the 3 Amigos tour company which had been arranged through The California Native as part of our overall Copper Canyon trip. The hotel has a very central location making it handy for walking to most of the attractions in Creel. Very nice rooms and a decent restaurant although we only ate breakfast here and the menu was fairly limited. Other than being a safe comfortable central location it does not have a lot else going for it but is certainly a good stop over place for a trip down into the canyon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPPERCANYON4U, Public Relations Manager at Best Western The Lodge at Creel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you ! we appreciate Native Trail´s recomendation, every day traying our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is an example of a well-run operation. I give it 3 1/2 stars. With better food, it would be a solid 4 1/2 stars. The accommodations and service were excellent. The food was just alright. Thanks to the hotel management and staff – Jessica (reservations), Neima (front desk), Miguel (handyman) and Cesar (hotel manager) – for their hospitality and taking excellent care of us. Overall a very good stay!

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 707, upstairs and across from lobby. It was quite alright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPPERCANYON4U, Public Relations Manager at Best Western The Lodge at Creel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thankyou ! we will let our staff know about you comments, appreciate you took time to send your recomendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This is into my brother's and my third week on a trip to Mexico. The hotel has a strong hunting lodge flavor. Our room was too cold for my brother when we got in and staff quickly lit the gas stove in our room. Once it got up to the thermostat setting the stove went out and the room held temperature nicely for the rest of our one night stay. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast in the hotel. Lunch was a bit limited (we wanted to eat at noon before we went on a 1:30 excursion and that's still breakfast time in a lot of Mexico). Both the fish fillet and trout for dinner were perfectly cooked. The sides were very ordinary (white rice with corn and iceberg lettuce with a slice of tomato). Happy to see whole wheat toast for breakfast. My brother's hot cakes were a little undercooked in the center. Ever since Chihuahua (we are on the Chepe) the standard refried beans with breakfast eggs taste like Campbell's.

We went on the two hour excursion at 1:30. Included Arareko Lake, Tarahumara Caves, San Ignacio Mission, Valle de las Ranas and los HOngos. More interesting than we expected. Also the Museo casa de los Artesianas is definitely worth the $10@. Fewer people speak English in Chihuahua than the other places we've been ( Mexico City, Oaxaca, Chiapas, Yucutan) and I'm afraid my 50-year-old high school English is poor. Still with an English-Spanish dictionary I've been mostly able to make myself understood even if my comprehension is very limited.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPPERCANYON4U, Public Relations Manager at Best Western The Lodge at Creel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your time to write your experience douring your stay in our Lodge, all these help us to improuve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for 1 night on a recent visit to Copper Canyon. The rooms were very satisfactory, the food very good, and our over-all stay pleasant and enjoyable. They have a bar/ reastuarnt with foosball, pool table, music, and live music some nights. From here we took a short tour to visit surroundings, Tarahumara village nearby. I hear this is a good base camp to go explore area via horseback, atv's or other fun activities. Would stay here again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPPERCANYON4U, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western The Lodge at Creel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Google Translation
Estamos muy agradecidos con su comentario, seguiremos trabajando para conservar nuestros estándares de calidad como el único hotel de Cadena Internacional en Creel y Barrancas del Cobre, Sierra Tarahumara de Chihuahua, son 18 años los que nos respaldan. Muchas gracias. Familia Best Western The Lodge at Creel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food was below average in the restaurant. Some of this may be due to the lack of local sources. However they make very good wood oven pizzas. The latte were fine if you ask for an extra shot of espresso. The bar is friendly and had good service.

The cottage rooms were pleasant,
The was little room for clothing, the fireplace was broken, but plenty of blankets

There is a new airport that is expected to open next year (2014) which will help getting there since the trip up and down the mountain can be a hassle.

The area is beautiful and worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPPERCANYON4U, Public Relations Manager at Best Western The Lodge at Creel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your time sending your opinion about our facilities and services during your stay in our lodge, it is always useful to hear our guests. Next time try our Buffalo Beef Hamburgers, the new in our autumn Menu, as good as the oven Pizzas !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Federico (the proprietor) picked us up from the train, he took us all around the canyons, this place was in the tall pines and chilly, it was a great summer break. This hotel was super efficient on water and electricity, it was the most energy efficient place I have ever stayed. It was so comfortable and all the staff were friendly. Every one was so accommodating, even though we spoke very little Spanish every one was very good to us. Most of the staff were fluent and those that were not fluent English speakers were pretty good as well. There were 2 good restaurants on the property. Frederico arranged our private 8 day tour starting in Chihuahua, we went to Creel, then Botapillas, El Fuerte, and Barrancas, we swam in hot springs and peered at the most unbelievable canyons. The Barrancas del Cobre (Copper Canyon) is marketed as 4 times larger than Arizona's grand canyon, all I can tell you is the canyons go on and on, one end is in the tall pines and the other end is in the tropics. The indigenous population of raramuries or Tarahumars are obvious at every turn. The raramuries earn a living at subsistence farming and marketing hand made crafts. The people, the land the language and diversity of the place, I can not go on enough about how wonderful our entire trip was. The entire 8 days including all travel and hotel some meals and tours for 2 people was just about $2,200, great value. All of the hotels we stayed in were at least 4 star places. All of them had almost a fairy tale feel, all were perfectly maintained and looked like something out of Disney land, but they were real. Mexico deserves another look at! There was a police presence at the tourist spots and on the train, it was reassuring. The people are wonderful, there is no better service in the tourism business than in Mexico. Consider giving Mexico a chance for your next adventure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPPERCANYON4U, Owner at Best Western The Lodge at Creel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thankyou !, thankyou, so much, we have no words to thankyou, we appreciate your comments, make us feel so happy to keep going, they are already 20 years this October working in the Local & International Tourist services, throught our Hotel BW The Lodge at Creel & Tour Operator services. FIT¨s & Convention events, cultural & Adventure Trips. Our pleasure, Best regards! Federico & Co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western The Lodge at Creel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Lodge at Creel

Address: Av. Lopez Mateos 61, Creel 33200, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Copper Canyon > Creel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Creel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Lodge at Creel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main street of the magic wood town of Creel, your gateway to the Copper Canyon, the one and only hotel & spa affiliated with an international hotel chain, BEST WESTERN THE LODGE AT CREEL 37 wood cabins with fireplace, free internet service, Restaurant with International cuisine, Fire wood oven Pizzas Cafeteria, Room service, Sport Bar, Meeting room and GYM, Jacuzzi & Sauna. 11 different tours around Creel, transfer to & from Chihuahua Airport, stopping in Menonite Community, cheese factory and Apple Ranch. Ask for our fishing and gastronomic tours. Every morning tour to Copper Canyon by train and private van, hot springs and waterfalls, including Spanish Missions and Tarahumara Valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Best Western The Lodge at Creel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Creel
Best Western Hotel Creel
Creel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western The Lodge at Creel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.