We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown & Mitre Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Crown & Mitre Inn
Bampton Grange, Bampton, Penrith CA10 2QR, England
+44 1931 713225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Bampton
Price range: $17 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Crown & Mitre, our 4 star Inn based near Haweswater in Cumbria. Situated in the beautiful hamlet of Bampton Grange, we are an historic free house nestled on the edge of the North Eastern Fells.We serve a range of fine wines and ales and the highest quality food made from fresh, local ingredients.In our Lake District accommodation we have 8 en-suite bedrooms, and a self-catering apartment tastefully furnished and with views of the beautiful surrounding countryside.There are several walks directly from the Inn that can be as leisurely, or as challenging as you wish. We have amazing wildlife nearby. Watch out for the red squirrels in the church yard opposite, and England's only Golden Eagle in nearby Riggindale. We also regularly see red deer on the local fells nearby.Whilst situated in a quiet corner of the Lake District National Park, you are never more than a few minutes from the rest of Lakeland, giving you the benefit of easy access to attractions with a quiet haven to come home to.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I found this visit to be very enjoyable with plenty of atmosphere. Would certainly recommend to anyone.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

had a meal with 4 friends last week. I have been in the hotel several times over the years and seen lots of changes. Was my local in my younger days. I had the small steak and Ale pie which was lovely and for pud a rasberry brulle. one of my friends had already eaten at lunch time so she had the salmon parcel and salad which she said was delicious. other friends had pork with a very crisp crackling and cheesecake for pud. Hopefully will be back soon bur will need to get in touch before I take my husband as he is a coiliac.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Might have been nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Called in to try to book a table at about 6pm at the start of a weeks cottage rental in nearby Bampton. The response from lady behind the bar was "I may be able to fit you in at 8.45 to 9 o'clock if then" Spoken with an amused grin. I wanted a serious answer. The place looked very nice but we didn't return

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Everything excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in room 3 for two nights while we did some walking around Haweswater. King size , comfortable bed, wonderful bathroom, excellent food, well kept beer and friendly service. What more can I say? Oh, and we saw Andy Murray's last three games having a couple of very nice pints of Black Sheep in the bar.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable rooms. Delicious evening meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd stop on our Westmorland Way walk. The rooms were warm and comfortable. The shower wins our "shower of the week award" for being the most powerful yet! The meals were delicious, I had the steak and ale pie, which came in two choices of size, I opted for the large, having been walking all day, but it defeated me! The panacotta pudding was simply divine. For breakfast we were encouraged to have eggs rather than a full English, and this being our 3rd day my husband went for the poached eggs. I must admit they did look delicious. I opted for the croissants which were warm, and looked home made...they were scrummy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown & Mitre Inn also viewed

 

Been to Crown & Mitre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown & Mitre Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.