We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf

The Wharf
Islington Wharf, Penryn, Falmouth, England
441326373909
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Penryn
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went after seeing reviews on trip advisor. Senor very nice and accommodating. However a bit drunk later on having shared regular guests wines! Meal Ok but pricey for portions. We found a curry in Falmouth better value.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    11
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have been here on several occasions and never been disappointed. The food is excellent and there is a wide variety of dishes (tapas) all cooked to order. The atmosphere is super Nd the host very genial. I would certainly return and would be happy to recommend it to my friends, in fact I have done so.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super duper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Very nice tapas, and nice friendly people, in a really great location the wharf. The owner is delightful, as are his team...go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Proper Spanish Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have to agree with the lovely comments left by Phillips Kernow, myself and my partner have visited Pepe at the Wharf many times. We have always been made to feel extremely welcome both by Pepe, his family and his friendly staff.
Having travelled in Spain and the islands numerous times, its so refreshing to be able to appreciate real Spanish tapas, cooked with full flavour by their Spanish chef and on our doorstep in Penryn. Not all of the dishes are served with alioli however as this is authentic to Spain you would expect to see this served with many tapas, after all it is a SPANISH restaurant.
The food is all freshly prepared and each dish is always beautifully presented, with lots of flavour and colour.
The restaurant is usually fully booked on a weekend, and we have made a point of reserving a table to ensure we get a nice window table. The other side of the restaurant is set up for larger parties I believe, so usually smaller tables and couples are seated in the main restaurant area.
All in all fantastic value for money, and really appreciated by the locals :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our first visit here. The restaurant is divided into two areas and were offered a choice of tables. We decided against the area at the top of the stairs because the door was open and we felt that it would probably get a bit chilly as the evening drew on. This area was also divorced from the main restaurant and lacked atmosphere.
We took our table in the main area were promptly given menu and asked about drink. We asked to be given a moment to read the menu, however this was a mistake because the waitress then ignored us. despite the fact that there were only 10 other diners at this point and two front of house staff, we tried unsuccessfully for 20mins to make eye contact. Finally we got up to leave but were persuaded back.
We chose the tapas option of 6 dishes plus a jug of wine for £33 for two.
The food lacked punch. The dishes billed as containing chilli were bland and every dish was served on a dollop of mayo, making it a bit too rich and oily.
Sorry no return trip for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.