We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without equal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twycross House B&B

Twycross House B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Twycross House B&B to your Saves list
Twycross House B&B
Rame Cross, Penryn, Falmouth TR10 9EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Penryn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SOUTHAMPTON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Without equal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

With the controversy of rigged feedback so fresh in the news I should say that my wife and I have had no connection or interest in this B&B.  I feel the need to say this as if Tripadvisor do have secret shoppers out there and they are looking for a contender for the premier B & B in the U.K they need to send them to this address. 
Accommodation: there is attention to detail, then there is attention to detail and Ann & John obviously make a formidable team delivering thoughtful design underwritten by solid engineering. Not only does everything work well it is really comfortable. In addition there is an extremely well appointed and generous lounge for the exclusive use of guests. Just a little point but we hung our towels for use for the second night only to find them washed, dried and fluffy on our return. Typical of Ann's uncompromisingly high standards. 

Hosting: the perfect hosts anticipate need without intrusion; offer attentive support without interference; give you their home as your home without saying it. Suffice to say we felt at home and totally relaxed. 

Breakfast: two years ago we had a breakfast that came top in a national award scheme. It would pale into insignificance against Ann & John's breakfast and that is high, high praise. I really like my breakfasts and I use a lot of hotels and b&b's. I haven't  had better. I enquired faintly about Marmite the first day without success. A new jar was especially on the table the next day!

If any B&B Owner's want a 'Master Class' in hosting they could do no better than visiting as guests. We shall certainly recommend Twycross House unreservedly.

Room Tip: Just get one. With only two rooms don't be choosy. We stayed in the double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twycrosshouse, Owner at Twycross House B&B, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Nigel & Carole,
Many thanks your most flattering and comprehensive review to Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We hope we can live up to your comments in the future.
Thanks again
Kind Regards
Ann & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
46
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Thank you to Ann and John for making us feel so welcome, from the moment we stepped through the door they were nothing but excellent hosts. Having stayed in quiet a few B&Bs over the years, this was by far the nicest I've been in, with a lounge all to ourselves TV, Sky & surround sound, lovely bedrooms and great breakfast to set us off for the day.

Our son was off to an interview at the nearby university, and the nights rest he had obviously put him in good stead since he got the offer he wanted, so we'll be back!

Thanks, Roger, Clare & Benjamin

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twycrosshouse, Owner at Twycross House B&B, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Roger,Clare & Benjamin,
Many thanks you review. So pleased Benjamin had the offer fr om the Uni.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Ann & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Ann and John were nice and helpful, nothing would have been any trouble. We arrived late at 21.20 and Ann even came and picked us up from the train station, also she took us to the local university the following day. The guest house was comfortable and clean, it would seem they had thought of everything. I would be happy to stay there again and recomend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twycrosshouse, Owner at Twycross House B&B, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Graham,
Many thanks your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Ann & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Well, what can you say about Twycross House B&B Guest House, that has not already been said. Ann and John are the most hospitable hosts you could wish to meet, or have the pleasure of sharing their home with. I had never stayed in a B&B before, and what a delightful experience.
The decor is modern and very tasteful. The bedrooms are very comfortable and well furnished, having everything ,you may need. Nothing appears to be to much trouble for these wonderful hosts.John will tell you he is second chef, Believe me he is good!! Look forward to staying again with Ann and John again. Thank you again.
Roy C

Room Tip: Nothing to choose, both are very good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twycrosshouse, Owner at Twycross House B&B, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Roy,
Many thanks your kind review of your stay with us.
Apoligise for the delay in responding, we have yet again been away on an extended holiday.
Hope to see you again some day.
Kind Regards
Ann & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here to attend a job interview at the University - after a very long trip and stressful day Ann and John couldn't have been more accommodating. They very kindly picked me up from the station in the evening (around 20.30) and even dropped me to my interview the following morning which was so kind and they didn't need to do.

The room was beautiful, clean and comfortable and breakfast was wonderful with loads of choice.

I would definitely recommend a stay here and will go again maybe next time for a holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Dropped daughter off at University so only stayed one night. Spotless B&B, very comfortable room with good ensuite. Decor was bright and modern had a good night sleep. Breakfast next day was tasty, filling and set us up for the day. The hosts were very welcoming and made us feel at home. Would definitely stay again when visiting or collecting my daughter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Beautifully and tastefully decorated. Excellent facilities - guest lounge with Wifi and surround TV system. Lavish breakfast and wonderful hospitality to get the day off to a good start. And the nearby pub - a short walk (torches provided) - for an excellent evening meal to complete the day.

Vin and Kerry

Room Tip: Our room was 'road side' but there was no traffic noise. Our private bathroom was not en-sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twycross House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twycross House B&B

Address: Rame Cross, Penryn, Falmouth TR10 9EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Penryn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Penryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large detached property with just 2 letting rooms (1 Family room with a double and single bed, plus sole use of adjacent bathroom/shower & toilet; 1 double en-suite room). Seperate guest lounge with surround sound TV/DVD/CD/Radio. Ample parking. Close to all amenities and bus route. On main road between penryn & Helston and close to the West Cornwall University Campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Twycross House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twycross House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.