We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An A* for a Beautiful B and B that put the personal thought and touch making our stay all the more comfortable!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heulwen Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heulwen Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Heulwen Bed and Breakfast
5 Cambrian Terrace | Aberystwyth, Borth SY24 5HU, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Borth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An A* for a Beautiful B and B that put the personal thought and touch making our stay all the more comfortable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We came across this gem of a B and B whilst touring the East Coast. We received a warm, homely welcome from Shirley and Francis. It was a delight to stay in their ensuite bedroom at the top of the house - we very much appreciated the interior design that was uplifting as well as tranquil. Much attention was given to the minor details that made our stay all the more comfortable ie: scented candle in the room, quality bathroom products, wine glasses, fresh mugs, fresh jug of water replaced every day and an assortment of teas, coffee, hot chocolate accompanied with cookies - Oh and also a mini fridge! The location was perfect, next door to 'Borth' station and a minute from the beach front . Even though there is a tourist information office on their road, it was not necessary for us to use it as Shirley and Francis couldn't be more helpful with their enthusiasm and knowledge about Borth and the surrounding areas to provide us with information for touring tips along with all the information leaflets. We thoroughly enjoyed our full-on English Breakfasts in their bright and cheerful dining room - it was a great start to the day. We have stayed in numerous bed and breakfasts around the UK and we can honestly say this is of a very high standard and is one of the best - We strongly recommended it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
18
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

wonderful stay, excellent facilities, run really well, will be staying again. was a last minute booking and the owners were more than accomodating. have stayed in many hotels and b and b and this is by far one of the best especially helped by the wonderfull weather.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A warm greeting, a lovely,comfortable, spacious room with en suite bathroom, careful attention to several questions, a tasty breakfast, and friendly conversation--what more can you ask from a bed-and-breakfast? At Heulwen I enjoyed all of the above and appreciated the owner's expressive use of color and decoration throughout home. I did a self-guided hiking vacation in Wales and stayed at 8 b&b's, Heulwen was head and shoulders above all the rest! Kudos! My highest recommendation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I came across Heulwen by chance, and after spending my week cycling in the mountains this really was a treat to arrive to a comfortable, beautiful en suite. I felt very welcome upon arrival, had a cozy night's sleep and woke up to a great breakfast in a colourful dining room and a friendly atmosphere. I enjoyed it so much I thought I'd treat my poor body to another night here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed for one night and was warmly welcomed by the owners. Ensuite room provided was clean and well stocked with goodies (incl. hot drinks, iron, fridge, colour TV). Clean, quiet and comfortable bed. Guest house is well located - close to station, sandy beach (just opposite), a convenience store (for wine and sandwiches), the Tourist info centre and a nice pub called the Victoria Inn which do BBQ on the beach. Owners were friendly and gave helpful suggestions which I followed for shopping and eve meal. A choice of breakfasts was offered. I went for a typical Full English cooked breakfast with lots of toast & coffee. There is free wi-fi, free parking and the room rates were competitive. Cheaper here to stay than nearby Aber. A bit hard to find - so look out for the station in Borth and a pub called the "Bosun's Call" and the TIC. Will definitely return to Borth again and stay at the Heulwen again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Heulwen really is a fantastic B&B, we stayed for a weekend and how pleasantly surprised we were. On arrival we had a warm and friendly welcome from Shirley and Fran, which was extended for the duration of our stay. We have stayed in numerous b&b’s but I have to say Heulwen really is the best one we have stayed in. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and the breakfast was tasty an ample. We will certainly be returning here next time we have a short break in Borth. Certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Lovely the lady who owns it is so friendly and warm
Very clean
breakfast is fabulous
She also does treatments
I go here few times a year very relaxing
My retreat highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heulwen Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heulwen Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Cambrian Terrace | Aberystwyth, Borth SY24 5HU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Borth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Borth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just imagine waking up to the sound of the sea & looking out of the window to the splendid backdrop of the Cambrian Mountains & Cors Fochno. Heulwen B&B is situated 9 milesNorth of Aberystwyth & is conveniently situated close to the Railway Station, Beach & Golf Course. All rooms are tastefully furnished & fully equipped to make your stay as comfortable & welcoming as possible. *Free Wi Fi available* Holistic Therapies are also available to all guest at a reduced price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Heulwen Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heulwen Bed And Breakfast Borth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heulwen Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.