We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in a friendly, comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heulwen Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heulwen Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Heulwen Bed and Breakfast
5 Cambrian Terrace | Aberystwyth, Borth SY24 5HU, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Borth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing stay in a friendly, comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I came across Heulwen by chance, and after spending my week cycling in the mountains this really was a treat to arrive to a comfortable, beautiful en suite. I felt very welcome upon arrival, had a cozy night's sleep and woke up to a great breakfast in a colourful dining room and a friendly atmosphere. I enjoyed it so much I thought I'd treat my poor body to another night here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
18
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed for one night and was warmly welcomed by the owners. Ensuite room provided was clean and well stocked with goodies (incl. hot drinks, iron, fridge, colour TV). Clean, quiet and comfortable bed. Guest house is well located - close to station, sandy beach (just opposite), a convenience store (for wine and sandwiches), the Tourist info centre and a nice pub called the Victoria Inn which do BBQ on the beach. Owners were friendly and gave helpful suggestions which I followed for shopping and eve meal. A choice of breakfasts was offered. I went for a typical Full English cooked breakfast with lots of toast & coffee. There is free wi-fi, free parking and the room rates were competitive. Cheaper here to stay than nearby Aber. A bit hard to find - so look out for the station in Borth and a pub called the "Bosun's Call" and the TIC. Will definitely return to Borth again and stay at the Heulwen again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Heulwen really is a fantastic B&B, we stayed for a weekend and how pleasantly surprised we were. On arrival we had a warm and friendly welcome from Shirley and Fran, which was extended for the duration of our stay. We have stayed in numerous b&b’s but I have to say Heulwen really is the best one we have stayed in. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and the breakfast was tasty an ample. We will certainly be returning here next time we have a short break in Borth. Certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Lovely the lady who owns it is so friendly and warm
Very clean
breakfast is fabulous
She also does treatments
I go here few times a year very relaxing
My retreat highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Despite the typically British downpour of rain during our three days, we had a great experience at Heulwen. Travelling with our daughter (17 months) does not allow for short cuts on the packing front. However, we were pleasantly surprised to find all area's covered for our daughter, including bedding, mini fridge for food storage as well as an array of toys to keep her entertained.
We had the family room, which can easily accomodate a family of three (or four with a baby/toddler) and is spacious, clean and comfortble. The separate bath and shower room was also plentiful in size and very clean. It is also exclusively for the use of the family room guests.
Food was very good - full english and toast on demand with all the trimmings - butter, etc.
Shirley and Francis were very welcoming and chatty and it seemed that nothing was too much trouble for them - even offered to dry our very wet clothing for us! They also boasted very good knwoledge of the local area to give ideas on things to do - especially helpful when young ones are in tow.
All in all, an enjoyable trip :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, Dorset
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Heulwen (sunshine) perfectly describes this bed and breakfast as whatever the weather outside; the sun is always shining inside this wonderful place. I have been incredibly fortunate in that circumstances have brought me to Borth 3 times over the past year, each time it felt like coming home. The warmth and hospitality provided by Shirley and Francis is like nothing I have experienced before.

What a wonderful base from which to explore the quirky offerings of Borth. Heulwen is perfectly located near to the stunning sea front, characterful pubs (a visit to the Friendship Inn is a must, as is the Victoria) and also a stones throw away from the train station – providing regular links into Aberystwyth. The room I stayed in was on the ground floor and was wonderfully cosy, colourful and comfortable. A bonus of this room is having access to the beautiful back garden – a wonderful suntrap. In addition to the relaxed atmosphere and delicious English breakfast, Shirley is also trained in a variety of holistic therapies. What a treat! I opted for some reflexology and reiki healing. Both were utterly incredible and I highly recommend you treat yourself during your stay here!

Louise from Dorset

Room Tip: The ground floor room is lovely, especially having access to the garden but the lilac room is a stun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I must have stayed in over 30 Bed and Breakfasts over the past 5 years and I can safely say that none of them compare to Heulwen. The place oozes charm but not, as is so often the case, at the expense of cleanliness and comfort. Indeed, the rooms are immaculate and extremely well facilitated, two of which are blessed with sea views.
Shirley and Francis are wonderful. I have just come to end of my long stint at Heulwen and whilst it will by no means be last I feel very sad to be leaving such a fab place and such equally fab people! Borth is beautiful and would be so wherever you were to stay, but my experience of the area has been enhanced 10 fold by these cracking people and their quirky home.

Room Tip: Chose the lilac room which is huge, beautiful and blessed with stunning sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heulwen Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heulwen Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Cambrian Terrace | Aberystwyth, Borth SY24 5HU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Borth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Borth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just imagine waking up to the sound of the sea & looking out of the window to the splendid backdrop of the Cambrian Mountains & Cors Fochno. Heulwen B&B is situated 9 milesNorth of Aberystwyth & is conveniently situated close to the Railway Station, Beach & Golf Course. All rooms are tastefully furnished & fully equipped to make your stay as comfortable & welcoming as possible. *Free Wi Fi available* Holistic Therapies are also available to all guest at a reduced price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Heulwen Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heulwen Bed And Breakfast Borth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heulwen Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.