We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely healthful meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatterbox Cafe

Chatterbox Cafe
10163 Durham St. | 544 South Broadway, Pugwash, Nova Scotia B0K 1L0, Canada
902-243-4059
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Pugwash
Cuisines: Bakeries
Restaurant details
charlottetown
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely healthful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I love stopping here when I am in the area...great homemade veggie burger, good service, clean. it is hard to find a quick and healthy meal without always just eating salad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“A lovely stop for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Exploring the Northumberland Shore last weekend, we stopped at the Chatterbox Cafe for lunch. A little sad to see this is up for sale - I hope that the new owners can maintain the unique atmosphere and high quality. Looks like the kind of place you could relax in for hours. We just had a quick lunch on the patio - amazing chicken cranberry panini and a cream cheese brownie - but if we lived in the area I'd definitely be returning, especially for the advertised live music nights. It must be a great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good food and pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a popular place for locals. We had wonderful panini sandwiches with salad. The panini was toasted just right. The fillings were delicious (cream cheese and cucumber, and smoked salmon and other things), and the salad was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“decent spot; 3.5 / 5 if I could”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Decent food. I don't believe the Chatterbox has a deep fryer, and that's not common in the area. I had nachos and a salad, both were fine.
You have to clear your own dishes and clean you own table and that doesn't really seem to make a lot of sense in what's otherwise a very nice little cafe. Half of us were tourists and the other half seemed to be locals - locals knew to clear the tables, tourists didn't so the place was a bit messy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Nice outside table, food ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had lunch outside, you have to go inside to order. We both had lobster roll but it was in a panini bun and not that great compared to others in area. Owners, man and wife, were very friendly and in the process of selling the restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatterbox Cafe also viewed

Been to Chatterbox Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatterbox Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.