We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, quiet and serene, good food...great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marinduque Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa
Save
You added Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Marinduque Island 4904, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Luzon, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great views, quiet and serene, good food...great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked a 3d/2n package on Deal dozen for this lovely, Greek-inspired island resort, of the coast of Marinduque in the Philippines. Zest Air flew us from Manila domestic airport to Marinduque, and we were greeted by Bellarocca staff at the airport, whisked to the port, and rode a rubber speed boat to the Island.

Since it was off-peak season, there were only about three or four other groups in the whole of the island.. it seemed that the resort was all to ourselves. Nice breath-taking scenery, and photo opportunities; lovely pools by the beach; Nice snorkeling and paddle-boating around the port.

Best of all the food was excellent. from the freshly baked bread, to the buffet dinners.

I would recommend this for families, corporate outings, and romantic get-aways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    44
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
39
46
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This will be the second time that I visitted this wonderful resort. Staff are still as amazing as they were and I personally want to thank Mr. Alexi Tibayan, Resort Manager, for a great guest engagement. Price should not be discussed here, guest must be fully aware of their prices before they finalize their booking, what needs to be rated are the things that the resort can offer versus the amount their clients are paying. I agree that food can be improved, especially buffet breakfast. Needs more variety, cereals, milk, more fruit juices, fresh fruits, waffle and pancake station, yogurt etc. Thats the only compain that I have, everything else is amazing.

Will definitely go back and I'm really excited for it.

Room Tip: Hotel Rooms at the lower ground are bigger but Rooms in higer floor offer better view (i didnt mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed Oct 6-8, 2012. Stayed at Villa 307-308 w/ 7 friends.

How to go to Bellarocca (3/5)
1. ~40 mins Zest Air Flight from Manila to Marinduque. It's a really terrible flight. The plane was really small. I bought the front seats (my SOP in local flights for better leg room). Wrong move! There's only one flight daily so you don't really have a choice.
2. ~1 hr land trip from airport to port. Plus points for the staff giving out cold towel and water in the airport.
3. ~10 mins boat ride to the island. Feels ok and safe.
4. ~ 3 mins golf cart ride to the lobby

Check-in (4.5/5)
1. Resort Manager gave a breifing of the facilities and what not.
+ Informative. I especially love the fragrant cold towels that comes with the welcome drink.
- Takes some time

Rooms (5/5)
1. Heavenly Beds!!! Luxury in Relaxation.

Facilities (4/5)
1. They have a lot of great facilities you can use for free. game room, gym, free kayak, videoke bar, etc.
2. Minus point? stuck up bath. Not well lit at night. Beach is not ideal for swimming. Pools close early and is quite far.

Restaurant (4/5)
1. They have several restaurant but only one menu and kitchen. Food is good but gets really boring. Price is ok, its like makati resto pricing.
2. Service could be better. Bfast Buffet is not replenished well. Staff is not as attentive. We had to ask for straw, tabasco, etc several times. One time we requested for "ginataang sitaw at kalabasa" w/o sitaw. Long story short we didn't get what we requested.
3. They have the best dinner rolls. We kept asking for more.

Overall (4/5)
1. Worth it... If you're getting it from a good deal... Wouldnt be able to say the same if you're paying for the full price.
2. Best place to relax and get lost.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just arrive from Bellarocca.The location of the resort is in an island. From Marinduque airport it will takes a 50mins van ride and 5 mins rubber boat ride to reach the resort. The main building is the reception for incoming guests. The big lobby have many seating areas. It also houses the main dining area, gym, game room, library, 2 units of computer for guest use for free, a terrace with make shift theater at night that offer free movie, a karaoke room, lap pool and all the deluxe rooms of the resort. It also serve as the main station for the golf cart to transfer guest to different parts of the resort like the villas, the terrazza houses, spa, the infinity pool which is near the sea, and the snorkeling/ kayaking area.

The deluxe room we stay is really big and nicely furnish. Lcd TV with high tech dvd player, king size comfortable bed and matching pillows, sofa set, big balcony with nice view, coffee maker with tea and coffee, 2 bottled water, slippers and a big bathroom with toiletries, bathtub, 2 lavatory, separate shower (nice water pressure) and toilet enclosure. What I don't like in my room, the balcony don't have furniture, the bathtub don't have hot water and the affix shower is not working, no foot towel provided on our second day and they don't replenish the 2 bottled water on our second day of stay.

The restaurant menu is above average and the servings is big enough. All the menu for 2 persons are more value for money. Our breakfast is suppose to be continental only but was upgraded to a buffet with no extra charge is really awesome. The restaurant crews are the most courteous, friendly and always smilling staff.

I also have a look at the terraza houses(good for 4 persons) to compare it's condition to the deluxe room (good for 2 persons). Terraza houses have 2 bedrooms that have balcony facing the sea, 2 small bathroom, but only 1 have bathtub, a dining area with 6 seaters table with small kitchenette, but no cooking facilities. There is no living room provided. I find the deluxe room more nicely furnish than the terraza houses. I would prefer to book 2 connecting deluxe rooms than staying in the terraza house when traveling with my family.

Room rates are expensive unless you were able to buy a deal from Deal Dozen who offer Bellarocca deals from time to time as what we did. 2 nights stay if enough for ralaxation.

.

Room Tip: Stay in 2 connecting deluxe rooms is better and cheaper than in a 2-bedroom terraza house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Yes indeed our experiece at bellarocca Island resot and spa was unforgetable because of some dishonest staffs. we were at that resort last june and lost my daughters iphone4S, who else will take advantage of it since we are the only guest with 2 more and the staff was on that place that time and the only suspect left was the staff because we talked and investigate the guest and found out they were not the one, they(guest) showed everything to us for the benifit of the doubt. After i came back to canada i wrote a letter to the general manager and until now there was no response. I AM NOT AND WILL NEVER RECOMMEND GOING TO THAT PLACE. NOT SECURED.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had Bellarocca stayed at a lower price range, and not been touted as a Santorini, the trip would have been great! But because of its published rates and hyped marketing, expectations were created that there was no way they could've lived up to.
What I liked:
Service was at its Filipino best! Amazing! Views from the windows; privacy and sense of seclusion (if you're into that. If not, you'd find the place boring.) Short plane ride (40min), short ride to the dock of 40 mins in a comfortable van, and short boat ride of about 15mins to the resort. Van and boat rides provided by the resort for free. Decent speakers along with the TV, along with free DVDs from their library.
What was disappointing:
Room appointments- stayed at the 2BR Terraza which had 2 balconies to enjoy the majestic view from, but not a single outdoor furniture?!
Food quality- fruit platter for breakfast had 6 thin slices watermelon! This is the Philippines, where fruits abound.
Water activities- snorkelling was a waste of time bec of very little fish and damaged corals
I wouldn't have been as disappointed if my expectations hadn't been set so high, because it is a nice place; just not worth what they think they're worth.
Go to the sulfur spring in the main island and have a good detox soak, but do it in the morning before the crowds come; just ask them to arrange for a tricycle (P500 charge) instead of the van (P5000). Entrance fee is P25. It's very clean.
Tips: ask for the driver of the van to stop by the grocery at Buenavista town so you can buy water, snacks, beer since ZestAir has a luggage allowance of 10kg and the resort only gives 2 small bottles of water daily as comp.
At the Marinduque airport, stay at Mhelet's eatery after checking in for fresh air as the departure area can be quite warm.
Best tip: go on a promo deal, and don't even think Santorini. Then it'll become a great holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

we went to bellarocca on my husband's birthday. i was able to avail their promo with citibank and asiatravel. i had no issues with the location as it was all part of the adventure. we like seeing new places and enjoying the view. the speedboat ride going to the island gave us a bit of scare because the current was pretty strong that morning. we were welcomed with leis and a song. the golfcart rides were fun, just be sure to hold on to the cart when going up a steep hill. i loved the orientation and the staff was nice. we liked our room too...i enjoyed spending time on the tub after a day's swim. some say the food is expensive, i didn't think it was. it was just like ordering in makati or the fort. plus, hubby and i liked sharing food so we opted to get food that we can share. it's just that their food is so good we ended up ordering a lot hehe... breakfast food was also good - it was not free or a buffet like with other hotels, but that's ok. i heard they do have buffets depending on the number of people staying at the hotel. i think it's practical and i'm with them on that. i don't like food getting wasted. the place is really beautiful and the activities were fun. the staff are good at their job and are proactive in offering free activities. they don't get tired at all. the guy who assisted us when we webt snorkeling also taught us to windsurf. he was so patient with me and hubby and i actually learned how to windsurf! we would have tried the free golf as well but we just didn't have enough time with all the things we did. we had fun and we hope we can go back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa

Address: Marinduque Island 4904, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Marinduque Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marinduque Island
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa in Marinduque is distinct from the other upscale, luxury resorts of its category anywhere in the country. All 20 hectares of Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa is mountainous terrain, with its highest point at 114 meters above sea-level. To many seasoned travellers, the images of the picturesque island of Santorini in Greece come to mind upon approaching the resort. Common to both are its rolling terrain and immaculate white buildings perched atop its cliffs: white structures that reflect the sun and contrast with the azure blue sea below. Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa is located on a small mountain island of the southern coast of Marinduque and offers 69 luxurious deluxe suites, casas, terrazas and private villas (with individual Jacuzzis and infinity pools). Guests relax in utmost privacy while enjoying the resort's complete aqua sports facilities, a full spa and wellness facility, a 9-hole golf course and other land-based recreational activities. Guests arrive on the island direct via commercial flights (SEAIR or Zest Air), private helicopters, chartered flights from Manila to Marinduque or onboard an exclusive luxury yacht. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellarocca Island Hotel Marinduque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.