We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marinduque Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa
Save
You added Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Marinduque Island 4904, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

The island is so beautiful, I thought I arrived in Santorini, Greece. The service was great, the staff were so friendly and accommodating. I'll never forget their SPA room, it was overlooking the best view in Bellarocca. The chef in the restaurant was so friendly. The food was also yummy!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    44
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
39
46
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Santorini Style Small Island Paradise with ocean/nature views. Service here was exceptional - smiling and gracious and genuine. We also stayed in club level at Marriott;Conrad Centennial;Sofitel on this trip but Bellarocca beats all for personalised service. We snorkelled; fished; kyaked and wind surfed around island; toured Marinduque; used spa and chapel and totally "chilled out".
Recommend for people looking to escape 'rat race' or honey moon etc

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Everything is perfect about this place... the design, structure, staff, food... if there are more perfect words to describe bellarocca aside from the word perfect, i would definitely use it..

customer service is definitely superb!!! :) worth every centavo!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

From the moment you step onto the island, showered in flower pedals and serenaded, you know that you have reached "Fantasy Island." Your every wish comes true, as the Resort's General Manager and staff cater to each little detail. Private, romantic dinners each night in a different spot on the island. The seclusion of this little island allows for hundreds of shooting stars each night, like fireworks across the dark sky, as you lie in your villa's private infinite pool, or hot tub.

If you are looking for the perfect escape from the rat race........Bellarocca is it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Bellarocca is definitely one-of-kind. It’s hard to believe that something so unique can be found in the Philippines. From the moment we arrived in Marinduque, staff was there to welcome us with warm smiles and cold towels. Our luggage was taken care of and it was surprising how they all seemed to know which luggage belonged to whom. Needless to say, it was smooth sailing – from the service van ride to the port and the speedboat which crossed us to Elephant Island. It’s amazing how convenient the travel was. Bellarocca is truly wonderful: the structural design, the symmetry, the architecture…it was plain that careful planning was done before they transformed the island into the paradise it is now.

My partner and I stayed in a one-bedroom villa, called Nirvana. And Nirvana it is. The furnishing was modest but when you look closely you will find top-grade furnishings, decors and amenities. They situated the pools in such a way that the majestic view of Mt. Malindig was unobscured – simply breath-taking. My partner and I had no idea what we will be able to do there since Bellarocca is not much of a beach and night-spot. Much to our surprise, we found many activities to fill our time. The gym is adequately spaced, there’s a table-tennis that guests can enjoy free of charge. There was 1 pool table that we were able to thoroughly enjoy as well. We thought that having only 1 table tennis and pool table will mean that guests will have to wait their turn but we were wrong. There weren’t a lot of people to crowd us and guests really did have other of things they can fill their time with. We also loved the library – guests can sit down and enjoy board games together, rent DVDs to take back and watch in the privacy of their rooms or use the computers for urgent business needs. We particularly enjoyed the tour of the island – we were shown different villas and hotel rooms and I believe this is a very good way for the resort to give a clearer picture of the variety of lodgings guests can expect. During the tour we simply could not help but plan our next trip as we were being presented with all the different types of rooms we could choose from. The infinity pools were beautiful, the landscape glamorous. This is the kind of place honeymooners should choose to go to. The place is quiet and one can re-connect with nature and yet be able to behold such artistry at the same time.

What really impressed us was the service – it was flawless all the way. My partner and I went there for our anniversary and all the staff did make us feel they were there to celebrate the momentous event with us. They made sure that we were able to enjoy our package; they made sure that we got to enjoy their offers in the way we wanted to have it. Staff actually knew their guests! They were respectful, friendly, happy and unfailingly EFFICIENT. This was such a pleasure that instead of feeling alienated, we actually felt that we were part of the resort, that we were not just guests but friends. This feeling of belonging that the staff gave us was the icing on the cake – feeling this good about a place and loving everything about it is what makes such trips into truly unforgettable ones.

It can be expensive for most, but it is truly worth every penny to be a part of this resort. The 3 days/2 nights spent will forever be cherished by us and we simply cannot wait to stay in Bellarocca once more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

My husband and I decided to travel locally this year for our 11th anniversary and we ended up choosing to stay in Bellarocca. Originally known as Elefante Island, this beautiful resort- inspired by the fabululous Greek island of Santorini- was a perfect choice! It's a 30-minute plane ride from Manila (the capital of the Philippines).
From the airport, we were met with cold towels and bottled water and were immediately whisked off to the rubber boats that would take us to the secluded and beautiful resort. The shuttle bus ride took around 45 minutes while the rubber boat ride was around 5 minutes. The moment we got off the boats, we knew we made the right decision. We were greeted by singing and dancing hotel staff who put flower leis on our necks.
Our hotel room was luxurious without being over-the-top and the views from everywhere in the resort was breath taking. You could see the water turn from clear to turquoise to a deep inky blue from the pavillion while lounging on the beach chairs.
The beach is not perfect but is a good jump off point for water sports. Being the "chill" couple that we are- my husband and I decided to stay closer to shore- enjoying the lap and infinity pools- while listening to music from our own ipod and sharing a bottle of good Australian wine.
The best part about this resort would be the service. The staff at Bellarocca are warm, friendly yet non intrusive. They set up private dinners for us in secret locations. They put up a big screen for us at the cigar room so we cold watch the Pacquiao fight. They made sure we were taken good care of no matter where we were at the resort. It was really a great break from our busy lives.
I would have given this hotel an enxcellent rating all in all if the food was up to par with everything else. Given the premium that people pay to book a vacation there- the resort should really think about bringing in an excellent chef who can whip up good food. The food we had for 4 days was just "ok." Nothing to write home about. My husband and I knew what to expect so it was fine. But I'm sure other guests who have no clue that they will be served so-so food when they get to the 5-star destination would be disappointed.
Having said that though, I would still highly recommend Bellarocca for couples who want to go on a private vacation. It's a perfect place to do nothing- just make sure you eat well before going on your getaway.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Celebrated Valentine's day with hubby there.From the time you step out of the airport, the staff are already waiting and are very accomodating and friendly.Seems like no request was too small or too silly.The place itself was awesome-really gives the feel one is in Greece but it's really in the Philippines.This place is somewhere you will feel like you're alone despite the other guests present.One will only see them during meal times (breakfast buffets).The GM, Jean, is a very adorable French man who oversees to everything with Ramil, a Filipino who is second in command and was our personal butler.He arranged very personal dinners for me and my hubby.The weather was perfect too during Valentines-not one drop of rain!It was really a memorable and romantic get-away.Even if one does nothing in the island resort, you will come out of it feeling it has been the most relaxing & best day of your life.A definite must go to again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa

Address: Marinduque Island 4904, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Marinduque Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marinduque Island
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa in Marinduque is distinct from the other upscale, luxury resorts of its category anywhere in the country. All 20 hectares of Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa is mountainous terrain, with its highest point at 114 meters above sea-level. To many seasoned travellers, the images of the picturesque island of Santorini in Greece come to mind upon approaching the resort. Common to both are its rolling terrain and immaculate white buildings perched atop its cliffs: white structures that reflect the sun and contrast with the azure blue sea below. Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa is located on a small mountain island of the southern coast of Marinduque and offers 69 luxurious deluxe suites, casas, terrazas and private villas (with individual Jacuzzis and infinity pools). Guests relax in utmost privacy while enjoying the resort's complete aqua sports facilities, a full spa and wellness facility, a 9-hole golf course and other land-based recreational activities. Guests arrive on the island direct via commercial flights (SEAIR or Zest Air), private helicopters, chartered flights from Manila to Marinduque or onboard an exclusive luxury yacht. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellarocca Island Hotel Marinduque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.