We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive And Rightfully So” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georges Blanc Parc & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Georges Blanc Parc & Spa to your Saves list
Georges Blanc Parc & Spa
Place du Marche, 01540 Vonnas, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vonnas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Expensive And Rightfully So”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Georges Blanc for two nights in mid April. It was quite an experience and probably quite over the top. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The restaurant - together with meeting M. Georges Blanc - was amazing. The staff at the restaurant was noticeably abundant. We had their signature dish of Bresse chicken and it was superb - but not quite as outstanding the Chateau Germigney in Port Lesney in the Jura. Georges Blanc was perfect.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    70
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
37
201
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orbe
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

A place not to miss if you are in the region of Burgundy region. Note only it's the region of great wine it's also a region that loves good food.
George Blanc is not only a restaurant, hotel and spa it's a whole village dedicated to the art of food and wine, the village square is full of boutiques for this fine art.
The hotel rooms are very comfy with nice a ensuite bathroom including Wifi. You have easy access to the spa from your room so you only have to slip on your robe. The spa has an indoor at out door pool a jacuzzi and hamam. My only critic is that we wanted to sit out side and order a nice glass of wine but they would not serve.... We do not want drink it in pool but on the nice area nearby.
The restaurant well this is the best part of the stay before dinner drinks in the beautiful lounge, the menus them selfs are a work of art then the food offered on the menu is fantastic. We suggest that you take one of the fixed menus you can change anything that you do not like or can not eat you will not be disappointed. The wine card is actually a whole volume of wine. If you do not know what wine pick trust the sommelier he/she will propose some thing to your liking and budget.
In the morning there is a buffet breakfast to die for, I am not a big fan of buffets in general but here you make a effort on top of they they serve late.
If you can't go to the main restaurant there is the Brasserie across the road which is also fantastic.
If you are staying at the hotel get the porter to park your car I had parked my care just in the main square across the road and the crows took it for target practice!
Will we go back oh yes!
It's not cheap but the quality and service is there.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were utterly disappointed by this uninspired eating factory which is obviously dwelling on it's Michelin star rating. The preparations were below standard, e.g. a - all too dry - combination of scallops, truffle and ashed potatoes for starters followed by a lobster with an unsuitable heavy butter sauce. The cheese platter was unworthy of a good restaurant, with a rancid Salers spoiling the pallet. The sommelier was utterly uninterested and the rest of the service was not what we are used to in the many Michelin stars restaurants that we have visited over the years. In comparison, this was our worst Michelin star ever.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed four nights at Georges Blanc Parc and Spa with two good friends. As we have come to expect, having stayed here three times before, the standards are unsurpassable. From check in at arrival, throughout our stay and at departure we were treated more as friends than guests. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. Our rooms were excellent, we had a junior suite so that our nine year old daughter had her own mezzanine floor to herself. The bathroom and shower with two hand basins were spacious and well proportioned.

Breakfast is always a treat and worth taking time over. The choice is substantial and the quality of the produce and patisseries the best.

On our first day we ventured out on the new battery operated electric bicycles. These took all the effort out of cycling up hills and we are able to see a lot of the local countryside. It is worth seeing as Vonnas is surrounded by beautiful countryside.

We had dinner on two of the nights at L'Ancienne Auberge in Vonnas. On our last night we ate at the Gourmet Restaurant Georges Blanc.

It just so happened that this evening was Halloween night so the restaurant had a celebratory meal for "The Little Monsters" (children) and families with a special five course set menu for the adults. The atmosphere was fun and the children, having been made up by professionals beforehand, were clearly enjoying themselves and their three course haut cuisine meal. There seemed to be a light hearted atmosphere of enjoyment throughout the restaurant.

The food was exquisite and was a revelation to our friends who had not eaten here before. The starter was a work of art, Parfait de Foie Gras en Deux Versions, Gelee Aceto Balsamico, Poudreee aux Zestes d" Agrume, Un Chutney Figure-Cardamome, Pamplemousee Rose Confit. This was followed by Eclate de Homard aux Cepes et Vin Jaune, the delicate flavour of the lightly cooked Homard balanced by the creamy Vin Jaune sauce. A beautifully tender yet tasty Poitrine de Pigeon "Vigneronne", Trois petits farcis en Surprise was the main course. Trois avant desserts preceded the Poire semi-confite en Robe d'Arlette Croustillante, Sorbet du Fruit et Creme Glacee Cannelle au Poivre de Penja, which ended the meal in style. The courses were served with explanations of each component and wines chosen specially for each course were served with the meal.

We departed the following morning after a sumptuous breakfast.

The whole stay including the pool and Spa were a wonderful experience and was an apt celebration of my sixtieth birthday and retirement. We will all remember this stay with fondness.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The best experience ever! more specifically...for both the unbelievable penthouse room and for the food at the Michelin 3 star restaurant for dinner. I have no words to describe the beauty of the place and the typical village full of tradition....simply: magnifique! To live once in your life!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The beginning of our stay was not auspicious: we arrived just before 5pm and our bedroom was not ready... In fact it was not ready for another hour! While waiting, we had a dip in the pool (had to fetch our towels as nobody was around) which is in very nice grounds by the river. Our bedroom (standard) was small and the bathroom slightly old fashion but the bed and pillows were very comfortable. We had an EXCELLENT diner and absolutely beautiful wine. Our waiter, Samuel , was very attentive and utterly professional . The next day, we had breakfast and found it excellent: some reviewers found it expensive (29 €) but we loved the corsican charcuterie, the excellent parma ham and smoked salmon, the various fruits perfectly ripe, the lovely, lovely bread, the raspberry pie and the tarte aux pommes AND the macaroons! We made a meal of it and certainly did not need lunch.
The big disappointment was the check out: the lady in charge should not be in the service industry at all let alone in a 5 stars hotel! She asked if we were satisfied and we mentioned the fact that our room had not be ready. Her very curt answer and borderline rude in tone was : were you offered anything to drink and upon hearing that we had coffee, she made it perfectly clear that we were troubling her with insignificant details. It is a great shame because it somewhat spoiled the whole experience as it was our last memory of the place. We did write and complained and received a courteous letter which was full of explanation rather than apologetic.
dommage....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Reading the previous reviews a lot of people seem to confuse the hotel, the 3 stars restaurants and the auberges. The hotel is really nice - rooms are great, beds luxurious and you have everything you can expect from such a place. 3 pools on total and the spa are great though try close too early to my likening - 7.30pm. The service at the hotel was very average for such a place but at least it was not in your fave which I actually appreciate. Overall I would not recommend it if you were to pay the full listed price but as part of one of the numerous packages on offer this is a great treat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Georges Blanc Parc & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges Blanc Parc & Spa

Address: Place du Marche, 01540 Vonnas, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Vonnas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vonnas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Georges Blanc Parc & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georges Blanc Parc Hotel Vonnas
Georges Blanc Parc And Spa
Georges Blanc Vonnas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georges Blanc Parc & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.