We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Hotel. Location Beautiful. Nice Spa but cold pools!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georges Blanc Parc & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Georges Blanc Parc & Spa to your Saves list
Georges Blanc Parc & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place du Marche, 01540 Vonnas, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vonnas
Certificate of Excellence
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
647 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel. Location Beautiful. Nice Spa but cold pools!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a great hotel. Understated luxury. Nice spa but the outdoor and indoor pools at 26C were too cold..... Beautiful location but really quite rural... You go to Vonnas for this hotel and restaurant.. Lovely breakfast. Restaurant rated separately...!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    81
    47
    12
    4
See reviews for
45
237
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Our second visit to this extraordinary and wonderful hotel. On arrival with friends we were disappointed with the size of one of the rooms but were told the hotel was full. Nonetheless the wonderful front desk manager; Christine, effortlessly and with utmost professionalism offered an upgraded room at no additional charge and defused any upset that might have occured. Such members of staff, are, frankly, so valuable that they must be treasured.
I cannot praise this hotel highly enough.
Service is at the highest level, rooms cleaned twice a day, gardens stunning, village picture perfect but the star of the show is the cuisine. I am priviledged to have eaten at many Michelin restaurants in ,any countries but George Blanc remains amongst the best. The service is sleek, chic and effortless and illustrates this fine French art form. The food sublime (you cannot leave without eating the Bresse chicken in fois gras & champagne sauce - the dish created by M. Blanc for the G7 summit) - it is simply delicious. As is the speciality Frogs Legs in honour of Mama Blanc. Expensive, yes but you will remember for a long time a meal of such quality and content. George Blanc makes it his business to visit each guest at during dinner and a signed menu is left in each room. Wine list is staggering but I must confess that some wines were overpriced (even for this establishment 6 a comment I make with some knowledge as my husband is a collector).
Likewise lunch or dinner in the Blanc Auberge (just across the street) is fantastic. The salmon trout cooked to perfection - the Lyonnaise Quinelle in lobster sauce just perfect and all desserts give the dieter no chance!
Fantastic outdoor pool set in the little park which itself is elegantly landscaped and include the hotel's herb and vegetable garden. If blessed with good weather there is full service around the pool and the delightful breakfast room becomes equally lovely for light lunches.
Vonnas is close to both the Montrechet and Pouilly areas so for wine lovers this is a trip of dreams.
It is not a cheap adventure but one of value and immense style.
I cannot wait to return and fail to understand the comments made by the previous reviewer:

Room Tip: Ensure you are clear as to the size of room you require. The view of the river is preferrable but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We really liked the bed linen and swimming pool (hammam was out of order though). The reception staff was quite helpful but tended to exhibit a unique attitude ("I am way too cool for this job and what kind of poor chap are you anyway"). The size of the room was alright but acoustic insulation was poor (you will hear the first person operate the electric blinds) and amenities in the bathroom substandard. You might also be able to smell breakfast from the comfort of your bed. Overall clearly overpriced and in somewhat fake village. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
directionvonnas, Responsable réception at Georges Blanc Parc & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Dear Mr, Dear Mrs,

Thank you for your comment.

We are not able to find your booking in our system, without the date of your stay and your name.

Could you please contact us, in order to find a solution to your disappointment?

Best regards,

Christine
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Spent a night on our road trip around France. The room at the hotel was well appointed with luxurious details from robes to slippers! The village was lovely, bit Disneylandlike with perfect gardens and flowers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back.
Tip : bought some GB products at the food store for gifts and friends raved about how good they were.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Revisited this establishment again in September on our way South. Ate the Bresse Chicken Menu which was excellent and well presented but VERY filling ! If you are having Dinner here I suggest you skip Lunch.
Excellent venue for an overnight stop with good grounds and superb swimming pools (3).
Georges Blanc himself again in attendance and chatting to Diners , signing Menues etc.
All in all this really has become a superb "Resort"..that much more than just a restaurant and hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are not large so if you want space go for a "Superior" or a suite, otherwise the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The layout of this complex, for lack of a better word, is a little confusing. Basically it's two hotels, two restaurants, a spa and a few stores that all belong to Georges Blanc.

There is a 5 star hotel and the Saules, which is three stars, on the other side of the parking lot. They use the same facilities and you check-in for the Saules at the 5 star hotel. They are listed separately but are really together (are you listening Tripadvisor??) Some of the photos here are actually of the Saules, not the 5 star.

We tried to book the 5 star but there wasn't room so they put us in the Saules. The only difference is that we had a shower, no bath, no slippers or bathrobes and there was no magnifying mirror... The rooms in the Saules were spacious and one had a balcony with a view over the stream. We heard the frogs croaking at night (not too loudly). The kids' room by contrast, overlooked an alley and they had food smells coming in. No big deal since we had the two rooms but would have been if we were only staying in that one.

There was some confusion because we wanted connecting rooms. It was a little "yes we do have them, no we don't" etc. Often in Europe, they have a door in the hall that can be closed and locked and then the two rooms can be opened. This was the case here but the bellman wasn't sure if we could close the hall door (but they came and did it for us while we were out).

You need a code for the Wifi and we had some problems getting it to work. We had to submit the code each time.

To go to the restaurants and pool, you have to go outside. There are little maps of the complex in the rooms, posted on walls and given out with the keys so take a minute and give it a glance. You wont get lost but it's better to know where you're going!

We used the indoor and outdoor pools at the spa. There is a hamman near the indoor pool. The women's locker room was very nice but small. The jacuzzi is not heated (just pool water). There is another pool at the 5 star hotel but children aren't allowed and it didn't look that different anyway.

My kids loved the grounds, running around posing with the statues and playing with the owner's cat. The gardens are very pretty and well done. Lots of water features so watch your toddlers.

I wont review the restaurant here but it was good, if expensive. Breakfast was good too but except for eggs, nothing hot.

Room Tip: Get a room in either hotel, overlooking the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed 1 night only - wish it was longer ! Dinner in the restaurant celebrating our 11th wedding anniversary was superb - Mr Blanc came to our table and chatted & signed a menu which was a nice touch.
Next day relaxed at the spa & had lunch in the Auberge opposite also owned by GB which had an excellent "menu du jour " for 22 euros. We will be back !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vonnas
12.3 mi away
Les Maritonnes
Les Maritonnes
#1 of 1 in Romaneche-Thorins
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
7.1 mi away
La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Hotel Chatillon
La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Ho...
#1 of 2 in Chatillon-sur-Chalaronne
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
14.9 mi away
Chateau de Pizay
Chateau de Pizay
#1 of 1 in Saint-Jean-d'Ardieres
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Hotel Le Griffon d'Or
Hotel Le Griffon d'Or
#1 of 10 in Bourg-en-Bresse
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
17.1 mi away
Chateau d'Ige
Chateau d'Ige
#1 of 1 in Ige
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
11.5 mi away
Auberge du Paradis
Auberge du Paradis
#1 of 1 in Saint-Amour-Bellevue
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georges Blanc Parc & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges Blanc Parc & Spa

Address: Place du Marche, 01540 Vonnas, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Vonnas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vonnas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Georges Blanc Parc & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Georges Blanc Parc & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georges Blanc Parc And Spa
Georges Blanc Parc Hotel Vonnas
Georges Blanc Vonnas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georges Blanc Parc & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.