We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“changing weather caution” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Table Mountain

Table Mountain
Table Mountain National Park, South Africa
+27 (0)12 426 5000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$66*
and up
Private Tour: Cape Town City Highlights
Type: Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The mountain in the middle of Cape Town offers many hikes and magnificent views in all directions.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“changing weather caution”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

we started up with good visibility. it canged into 0 visibility while we were funicularing up... tip: dont go up unless it is shining for few hours continuously.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,899
    1,017
    157
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Tha cable car journey, walks on the top of the mountain and the views. Restaurant's quite good too and the staff helpful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“If you have great weather make sure you go right away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is obviously a must do but the piece of advice I have is that if the weather is fine on your first day make sure you get up there quick. We chose to do just that and by the time we got up there the table cloth was coming in thick and fast. Luckily it was just on the western side and we had beautiful views. W
We were there in September for two weeks and the weather can be so unpredictable that I think there was only 2 other days that were nice. So if its on your to do list make sure you get up there quickly as you don't want to miss it

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“clearing the cobwebs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I usually go for a walk on the mountain on my birthday and spend the day up their exploring and appreciating the energery and space and connecting with my higher self. Lovely experience.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

No real advantage to getting your ticket on line as if there is a queue the queue actually only builds up AFTER you get a ticket. We waited about 1 hour in queue as it was a fine day after a few cloudy ones and it was school holidays for the locals. The cable car ride was very good fun with a rotating cabin and very fast up the mountain. The view from the top is unbeatable on a fine day, and there were people absailing off the cliff as well as hang gliders hovering around the peak.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Table Mountain also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 

Been to Table Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.