We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abseil Africa

Abseil Africa
Table Mountain, Table Mountain National Park, South Africa
+27 (0) 21 424 4760
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Other, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Awesome views surround this rappelling experience into vertical space from atop Table Mountain. A must for true adventurers and thrill seekers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I did this with our 16 and 12 year old boys. A real highlight of the holiday. It all seemed very safe with an extra safety line as well as the line that you control. I would say that if you are not going to be feeding the rope through at a quick rate it is going to be tiring on your arms. My wife and 16 year old were quite quick and had a great time. I was a bit slower with my 12 year old and found it harder work. Was it worth it - yes. Was the view amazing - yes. Obviously you should always look at these things to assess the safety for yourself. I was happy though and really pleased we did it. The rather long walk back to the top after the abseil did not bother us. it was a good opportunity for just us as a family to relive the experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    20
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great view, but not a full-on thrill-ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It was a great view dangling on the rope, and a well-run organisation. The hike back up was actually the best bit. Do it if you're up there, but don't go up just for the abseil.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“kloofing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I did the kloofing. The food was really good. The hike was beautiful and the abseil true the waterfall was amazing. The kloofing was a little bit scary I jump from 7m and that was a great feeling

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The best way to see Table Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We did the hike up and then abseil and it was awesome. The best way to see table mountain. Take your time on the hike and enjoy it, see what few others get to see. 3/4 of the way up the hike was a man playing a flute and as the sound reverberated off the walls of the mountain it was truly magical. The repel is fun, enjoy the surprise half way down, and don't forget to stop and look around once in awhile.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I certainly did not plan to abseil when I took my trip to Table Top.
This was a spur of the moment decision and was absolutely amazing. 120M from top to bottom with incredible views thrown in!
The Crew were very helpful, professional and reassuring.
Definitely recommended

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abseil Africa also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Abseil Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abseil Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.