We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape of Good Hope

Cape of Good Hope
Table Mountain National Park, South Africa
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$67*
and up
Private Tour: Cape Town City Highlights
Type: Bridges, Geologic Formations, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Nature & Parks, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
255 attraction reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

When I finally got to see the Cape of Good Hope, I was impressed. A beautiful scene of water and rocks. It s marked with a sign around which tourists will gather to have their picture taken. You can walk up the cliff face towards the light house if you want to, or you can just at about sea level and enjoy the views. Not to be missed.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,540
    774
    147
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We saw ostriches grazing beside the Atlantic Ocean! It's a long hike up to the lighthouse, so if you aren't up for it, take the tram car. But the view is wonderful. Make sure you go down to the cape, where the sign is, for a photo op. The waves are huge!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The weather was perfect, so sunny no clouds or crowds! Very good view and energy, the pictures on Cape Point were great!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Magnificent View of Cape of Good Hope”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

When young we read geography and knew Cape of Good Hope. At last we made it a point to come and visit. We visited Cape of Good Hope on 5th June 2014. We went with the African Eagle Day Tours. When we reached there, it was afternoon and raining. Many tourists were there. We waited. Suddenly the rain stopped and the sun was out. Fine weather. We were so happy. The scenery was spectacular and amazing. Look at the majestic mountains, look at the great waves and tides of the two oceans that came forward and backward, very interesting. It was worth seeing. We felt so great that we were at the tip of Africa. We enjoyed it but felt that we could visit here again before the sunrise and could spend more hours here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great View Reasonable food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Tables are crowded, usually booked out with travel tour groups. Outside tables can be very poor. Overcrowded , average food, higher price but great position. Just watch for baboons outside!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape of Good Hope also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape of Good Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape of Good Hope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.