We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peninsula Tour from Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape of Good Hope

Cape of Good Hope
Table Mountain National Park, South Africa
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$66*
and up
Private Tour: Cape Town City Highlights
Type: Bridges, Geologic Formations, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Attraction details
Lucca, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peninsula Tour from Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great tour, I loved very much the wonderful scenic view at Cape Point, really great and exciting! We met ostriches and baboons.
Beautiful stop in Simon's Town for the penguins colony, which live free on a small beach and the vegetation. The seal Island (Duiker Island) is not very interesting in my opinion, but there are a lot of seal staying there.
It well worth the money :-)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,517
    762
    146
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Finally got there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

On our "bucket list" and now it's struck off - yay!! We had to muscle our way into a photo shot in front of the sign (sad tourists, I know) - sorry to the coachload of Japanese people who arrived when we did. Amazing coastline, and a great feeling to say, "Been there, done that".

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very scenic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The view is gorgeous and the drive down is gorgeous. I do think the sign is pretty lame, I mean, can't they just put up a bunch more, but yet, I also took a photo with it. The day we went everyone was pretty nice and there was a queue for photo with the sign. And when my camera died no one rushed up as we had our guide switch to cell phone cameras. Our guide told us that there are days where the people aren't very polite and it becomes a hell hole.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cape tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had a private driver who took us to kalks bay. Wouldn't recommend wasting time at houts bay. Take the cable car up to lighthouse--it's a long walk.. Penguins are great at boulder--go
Down to beach and mingle with them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

See Cape Peak and Cape of Good Hope to say that you have been there. These are not (quite) the southernmost point, but you can see the real Cape Agulhas, about 90 miles across False Bay

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape of Good Hope also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape of Good Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape of Good Hope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.