We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Waterfront of La Cruz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oso's Oyster Bar

Oso's Oyster Bar
Calle de Mar #4, La Cruz de Huanacaxtle 63732, Mexico
+52 329 295 5426
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mexico City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“On the Waterfront of La Cruz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We found the staff to be very attentive and friendly. The food was excellent. As it happens we were there as they were auditioning a new act for their entertainment this season, "The Traveling Band". If the rest of the music line-up is as good as this couple then add great music to the good food and service = 5 out of 5!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    49
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“birthday holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

great staff , great food market every Sunday great to seat and watch with a drink during the week watch the fisherman come in to the fish market with their catch

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love the different seafood variations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I tried to go to this restaurant on a busy Sunday market day, but the line ups were crazy. I thought, well, it must be pretty good, but did not want to wait, so we went next door instead, where there were plenty of seats.
A few months later, we returned on a weekday for lunch. Talk about issues trying to decide which ones of the exotic and really unusual seafood dishes I should try! I was not disappointed. The staff were super friendly, the prices reasonable and the atmosphere on the water, just perfect. The prices range from less than 100 pesos for seafood tacos, or if you want to splurge, there are higher end offerings, such as fresh tuna and lobster. The only thing was that there was a fair wait for my husband´s lunch after mine was served, but the waitress apologized, so I think it was just a one of incident.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Can't say enough good things about Oso's. We visited two nights during our week stay in La Cruz. The first night we ordered the Grilled Tuna with Chipotle Raspberry sauce. The best tuna ever!!! Cooked to perfection!! The entire staff is so friendly and welcoming. From the owner to the servers and bartender, everyone works really hard to make your visit enjoyable. We returned to Oso's on a Wednesday evening for the Rock band entertainment. We were skeptical as to how good the music would be...but found to our delight that the band was incredibly good. We enjoyed a few hours of drinking and dancing. Overall just a great experience. I highly recommend Oso's on your visit to the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose Ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The restaurant is on the water at the marina and has great views. The people are great and the service is laid back. The food was awesome. I had oysters for an appetizer. I expected 4 or 6 oysters not the dozen I got. And they were delicious. Covered with just the right amount of cheese and bacon. All three of us had great meals. They have live music often also.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oso's Oyster Bar also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Oso's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oso's Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.