We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new addition in LaCruz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandzibar

Sandzibar
Km 3 Carretera a Punta de Mita, La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
3292955697
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: Winery, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bucerias, Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great new addition in LaCruz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I joined friends here for a special birthday celebration and didn't really have high expectations but - wow - were we all surprised! We ordered shared starters, individual salads and main courses. The portions were generous and each dish included a bit of salad so I would skip that next time. Every dish was delicious and we left stuffed but happy. The wait staff couldn't have been more attentive and we were thrilled that they had a saxaphone player that night who walked around playing light jazz....not so loudly that you couldn't carry on a conversation. It was perfect. To top it off, another table was celebrating a birthday and the birthday "boy" came over and serenaded my friend for her special day. He had a beautiful voice and everyone enjoyed it tremendously. We even got a visit from the owner/chef. It's a bit on the pricey side but a great choice for special occasions or if you just feel like pampering yourself.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    17
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucerias
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wounerful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The fish La Cruz was the best meal I have had the last 4 months in the area. We also had the lamb which is superb.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Creative with a Superb Execution! Don't miss it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is an extremely easy one to recommend, sitting in a beautiful location, ambiance and view are just the perfect setup for one of the nicest restaurant experiences you'll have in Mexico. Start with the the Chicharron Pizza( not in the menu) , the Fried Octopus, or the Yazz Salad ( Watermelon with knock your socks off) and then continue to be nicely surprised by a very creative menu perfectly executed. Totally Worth the Drive whether you are in Vallarta, Nuevo Vallarta,Bucerias o Punta Mita, One thing I'll tell you this a "commute" you will enjoy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucerías, Nayarit, Mexico
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

food is overated, left hungry, great location overlooking the Alamar beach club? but was not overly impressed, probebly wont return

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“almost in the water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Bring a sweater and the breeze is strong and the food is worth alittle wind.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandzibar also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Sandzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.