We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hummingbird experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yerette

Yerette
Valley View, Maracas, Trinidad
663-2623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Maracas
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hummingbird experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you want to get up close to hummingbirds, this is the place to go - quite simply, fantastic. Dozens of hummingbirds whizzing around you; very informative talk with stunning photos; lovely, relaxed tea on the veranda watching the birds. Go.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Educational, inspirational, international”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

YOur host is extremely knowledgeable about the Hummingbirds and communicates the information well. His wife cooks snacks and the soup was wonderful! His photography is outstanding and prints of all sizes are available to purchase (really helpful for those traveling without a good camera, or not there long enough to get an amazing shot of these high energy feathered bullets.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worthy of its 1st ranking on Trip Advisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Where else in the world can you enter a garden teeming with hummingbirds - close up views, knowledgable hosts, coffee and cake for a very modest fee. The birds are of course the star of the show, flying so close you can feel the breeze and the colours are magnificent - my only regret is that I left my good camera at home! Where you are a visitor or from TT you must visit Yerette

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“another world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I am almost certain that there is little that has not been said about this place because you cannot help but LOVE the experience.
Hosted by a very knowledgeable, hospitable couple, it is a visit that you hope will never have to end. On the afternoon of my visit we were blessed with virtually swarms of hummingbirds coming for their afternoon feeding. That may not be so on every occasion but even on a lesser scale it is something that should not be missed.
Apart from these wonderful creatures darting all around you, the slide show, brimming with information and exquisite photography and the delightful refreshments make this a wholesome experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had visitors in February and took them to this magical place. (I note a review). Theo and Gloria are wonderful hosts and although I have seen the slideshow at least ten times, I could see it over and over again and am constantly in awe of hummingbird facts that Theo presents with knowledge and joy. I have hummingbirds in my garden and Theo is always happy to trade facts and answer questions. Love it!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yerette also viewed

Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Yerette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yerette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.