We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalke Hotel

Kalke Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Fernando
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalke Hotel
Save Saved
You added Kalke Hotel to your Saves list
60 North Street, St.Joseph Village, San Fernando, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in San Fernando
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed at Kalke this summer for 1 1/2 weeks and it felt like home away from home. It is well maintained and the owner Kevin is very pleasant. The rooms are basic, clean and neat. The only con is that other guest should be mindful of making unnecessary noise as Kalke is more of a guesthouse setting. Over all, it is a very nice place to stay.The neighborhood is quiet and it's location is perfect. You can't go wrong with Kalke.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We've recently returned from spending just over three weeks in The Kalke and were very pleased with the choice. Originally selected on price, the hotel proved to be a perfect base for our requirements whilst visiting friends and family. Situated in a quiet residential area, the Kalke is more 'Rooms' than 'Hotel' but is very well managed by the owners.
The bedrooms are spacious and simply but comfortably furnished. A very large lounge / dining room is complimented by an equally large, very well equipped kitchen. The gallery, overlooking the pool is a great place to relax. Efficient air conditioning and free Wi Fi throughout the property was a bonus.
The only small gripe was the occasional night being disturbed by the guard dog in the next door property - but this could happen anywhere.
Overall, a great find, very well looked after by the friendly owners who are on hand whenever needed. We're sure we'll return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at kalke for one week. I enjoyed my stay very much. I feels homie and relaxing. It was very clean and it is located in a very quite and clean location. The staff was great and I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I am pleased with my stay here overall. The House is nice and very well maintained.

The walls are very thin though. As the week went by more guest moved in, no prob with that, however, they showed no consideration to other guest....talking loudly, slamming doors as early as 7 am... seriously !! ...playing TVs and music loudly and leaving main doors unlocked throughout the day. This was reported to the Owners who took care of the situation immediately. Peace and quiet after that.

Kalke was in a perfect location for our visit. The pool was very refreshing.
Pillows and bed were comfortable. The room was very spacious. Basic but worked perfectly for us. The owners were very pleasant. I would definitely stay here again. It's just a matter of guest having consideration to other guest and keeping the noise down. It's a "guest house" not a "hotel" setting.

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own personal bathrooms. Some rooms have to share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

i had a great time.it was like having my own mansion..the staff was great..anything i asked for was provided quickly..the rooms were comfortable and updated..the pool was warm and clean..the living room area and dining room were spacious and the kitchen was huge---deck was great to eat and hang out....i enjoyed myself while staying there..i would definitely return....thanks!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Was there for February Carnival 2010, and in June 2009. I particularly prefer upstairs. In the morning I would fix my fruits, tea and sit out on the porch and take in the view and the sun the quiet the breeze. After that I would go downstairs and take a dip in the pool!!!
I would not stay no where else, plus my auntie is in walking distance, and the bar up the block!!!! (had to pick July 2010) you didn't have February 2010)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalke Hotel

Address: 60 North Street, St.Joseph Village, San Fernando, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > San Fernando
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in San Fernando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Kalke Hotel Trinidad/San Fernando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.