We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic French Food In a Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Pine Restaurant

Blue Pine Restaurant
Panagi Tsaldari 37, Kifisia, Athens 14561, Greece
(+30) 2108077745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 91 Restaurants in Kifisia
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Northern NJ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Classic French Food In a Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Old school restaurant; food, service and setting, but it's all good. A bit of a drive out of the center of Athens, but worth it. All of the above and the ambiance makes this a great dining spot for two.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classic old style French restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

There are very few restaurants like this one left in Greece. Food choice is second to none, service is impeccable, quality of dishes is excellent, puts a lot of Michelin starred restaurants to shame.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Classic and old fashioned but still not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

An opportunity to live the past yet, so long as I can remember, certain aspects remain the same - the fries, the schnitzel, the 'filet' ,the baked Alaska , the chocolate soufflé - all these are 'institutions.' Even the taking of orders reminds you of the past. To be enjoyed for what it is and for what it has to offer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nostalgic french restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Although the prices are a bit high, this is a great place for winter dinners. Try out the beef liver, the escargots or the entrecote with sauce Bearnaise! Must-try for couples.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Old fashioned french service and coocking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been to Blue Pine several times because no one makes a raw steak tartar as they do. Yes it is 35 eur, but the quality of the meat, the choice of additives and a chef preparing and cutting it at your table does make a difference. It is the best steak tartare I know!
I invited a friend and we agreed to share a started. We ended on the escargot. This can be a food trap if the snails are rubbery and everything just tastes like garlic. But we decided to give the real French plane a try - so no rubbery snails ar blue pine. The snails were big and soft with right chewiness, the garlic parsley butter was great so the starter was a winner.
And yes the steak tartarte was superb again again.

I once tried the fishsoup and this is something they should work on. I expected a bouillabaise but it was a too thin of a broth not tasting of anything.

The service is great. I do not speak Greeck, they do not speak much English but we communicate in French phrases. I love the professional waiters in black suit an bow tie.

I sometimes come here by myself, reserve a 1 p table and enjoy! The lovely food, great house wine by mr. Nikolitsis and just enjoy life.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Pine Restaurant also viewed

 
Kifisia, Athens
Kifisia, Athens
 

Been to Blue Pine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Pine Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.