We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Verde Oliva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Posada Verde Oliva to your Saves list
Posada Verde Oliva
Montecaseros 2223 | Mendoza, Maipu, Mendoza CP 5513 Maipú, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 12 Maipu B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

my husband and i stayed here at the end of a two-week trip around argentina. every aspect of our stay exceeded our expectations--the food, wine, service--it was a delight to be part of posada for 4 days. we went into the city of mendoza on one occasion for dinner, but loved the coziness of eating at posada that we stayed in and dined there for the other 3 nights! the food was delicious, and the atmosphere can't be beat. the entire staff is LOVELY--genuine, accommodating, and simply delightful.

if you want to be in the middle of the city, this isn't the place for you. if you want a quiet, intimate, beautiful setting with a refreshing pool situated among vines, then posada oliva is your spot.

additional note: we took the advice of previous reviewers who suggested we book a wine tour with miguel, who does the majority of the driving for the hotel. we too recommend this!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
108
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Posada Verde Oliva almost 2 years ago, in February 2012, but at the time I wasn't much of a TripAdvisor review person.
It was my first visit to Mendoza and we decided to rent a car to visit multiple wineries, so the location was not too much of a problem for us. The posada is about 20 minutes drive from the city, through the highway.
I'm not surprised that now Verde Oliva is ranked #1. It wasn't that popular on TripAdvisor when we stayed there, but it truly deserves this recognition. Julia is a great host, she made us feel extremely at home (for 2 out of the 3 days we were there, the other rooms were vacant, so we had the whole property for ourselves). She also shared the region's map with us, gave us advice on the best vineries to visit and even called them up to make reservations.
At the time, Julia was starting to produce their own wine and shared a bottle with us. It was very promising and I hope it is a success now.
The only thing that was missing was a proper sign at the gate when we first arrived and we struggled a bit to find it at first. Again, I believe that is very likely sorted as well.

Overall, everything was perfect. The rooms were nice and clean. The ambiance was extremely cozy, the breakfast very nice and if the weather is good you can even enjoy the pool (we did!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I spent two lovely nights here in November 2013 and we are so happy that we found such wonderfully pleasant posada. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and so nicely furnished. The grounds are lovely, as are the common areas. We ate breakfast there, which came with the room, but also had dinner two nights. The standard breakfast items were great and we could order eggs and bacon too. A nice surprise was that Julia offers dinner each night which we ordered both nights; the food was amazing. The beef tenderloin the first night was one of the best meals I had in Argentina and the pizza the second night was also great. One of the best parts of each dinner was eating with two couples we meet at the posada, Jessica and Demitre, Chris and Mary B. it was so nice of the staff to put us all together because it made it feel more like a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This place really takes the concept of hospitality up a notch. The staff was great...it felt like they were welcoming you into their family home. The food for dinner and breakfast was simple but very good. The patio area, backyard, and pool were awesome places to spend a morning before you start your day or an afternoon or evening enjoying your spoils from the wineries. They will arrange transport for anywhere you need to go, which is important since Maipu is about 15 min from downtown Mendoza and 30 min or more from a lot of the big beautiful wineries in Lujan de Cuyo. Absolutely amazing place to stay for a few days...very romantic and very beautiful.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms, and even though they face the road, it is pretty quiet as there isn't too much tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our family of 5, my wife, three daughters (14, 11, 11) recently stayed 4 nights and POV and could NOT have been happier! The Posada (5 room B&B) is simple and a little rustic, yet elegant. When driving up to POV I was a little nervous, the area was fine, but a little more rural than I expected - but when the large metal gate slide open it revealed a mini paradise. POV is nestled in a small perfectly manicured vineyard. There's a lovel grass lawn and a very well maintained swimming pool - which my daughters and I used many times. We had the family room which was perfect for us: once large room with a king bed, antique armoire, a couple of wooden chairs and a small flat screen TV (for a little futbal viewing) with a connected room with three twin beds. The bathroom was spacious with a nice tub/shower, toilet, bidet, pedestal sink and nice table for all our toiletries. The common spaces (indoor and out) were nicely appointed and super clean.

The facilities were great, but that's not the best part of POV - it's the wonderful staff!

- From the day I first emailed the POV, the communication was clear and efficient.

- Carolina-day shift was so very helpful in helping arrange loads of activities: river rafting, zip-lining, horseback riding, olive oil factory and winery tours, gnocchi dinner on the 29th, and even a soccer training session for two of my daughters with a local coach and a few of his 18-20 year old women players (it was just for fun - nothing serious - but my daughters loved it).

- Carolina-night/evening shift was lovely and warm and treated us very well. She also helped coordinate our activities and just take care of our crew.

- Monica handled breakfast and dinners with grace and ease made us feel like family - especially on American-Thanksgiving when they prepared and served us a very nice chicken and vegetable dish. No pumpkin pie, but fresh berries, ice cream, whipped cream and mini
meringues was a nice substitute.

And Julia (the owner) was very nice and clearly takes great pride in POV. When our rental car company did not have a GPS, Julia let us use her personal GPS for three days.

Muchas Gracias to the entire staff at Posada Oliva Verde!!!

Note: the weather was perfect during our stay 11/26 thru 11/30 - we'd highly recommend this time period since it wasn't too hot and we heard it heats up in Jan & Feb.

p.s. one small recommended improvement - the wifi was very tricky and it was hard to maintain a connection: my 14 yr old sat in a small corner of our room for literally hours to get enough bars and in the common area I was always up and down trying to get the signal.

Room Tip: If you have a family - you must get the family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was our favorite hotel in the two weeks we spent in South America. Julia and her staff provide unrivaled service and hospitality, attending to every need and comfort. We celebrated my husband's birthday while there, and she baked a delicious cake. The rooms are beautiful, spotless, and comfortable. We loved Julia's cooking (enjoyed several dinners, and the breakfasts were wonderful too), the grounds, pool and common spaces are lovely, and the house wine and olive oil beauty products are a nice bonus. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat! Bike rentals, wineries, and a museum are nearby and convenient to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Arriving in Maipu, one has to wonder where is that great place TripAdvisors rave about. Don't look for any sign announcing the posada, just trust the GPS and/or your notes. Once you enter the property, you get it, the place is beautiful and quiet.

Carolina (day shift) greeted us with a warm welcome. She and Samira were great at communicating with me and dealing with the Chilean custom on strike. We toured the posada with Carolina and Julia, the owner. The house is beautiful, the room is big, perfect and clean (no carpeting at all, yay !). Everything is decorated with taste (to ours, at least). The pool is right by the vineyard and the olive trees. There are tables outside as well as inside, there's the living room by the big window. Everything is set up so the guests feel relaxed and from what I saw, we all were.

The food was so good and simple, just what we were looking for (especially after big lunches at the wineries). We ended up having dinner 3 nights out of 4 and enjoyed every single one of them a lot. We asked for vegetarian menus, no problem. We shared a table with 2 other couples, they managed to make everyone very happy. One can buy their (nice) wine or bring a bottle bought during the day. Salad, quesadillas, lasagna, pizza, desserts, we weren't expecting that quality of food or service. Monica and Carolina (night shift) went the extra mile to make us happy. We felt bad sometimes for finishing late while they had to work and clean after us.

Which brings me to the next point. We absolutely loved the atmosphere there. Like I said, it was quiet and peaceful. It's also a kid free BnB, and I'm so thankful for those rare places but most of all, partly because of that (from my experience), guests seem to be looking for the same thing and get along very well. We chitchatted with each other, had dinner with strangers and shared wine with them.

Also, I've never seen such a great customer service in SA. We arrived one night late due to the strike at the border and Julia decided to drop the charge, which we weren't expected since it was a late notice.

Given the price ($200 without taxes), I was a little bit scared that it wouldn't be as good but as a matter of fact, the hubby thanked me for booking there. The only drawback is that if sleeping with the windows open, it can get noisy at times but it's not all night long, not the Posada's fault (crazy drivers, dogs barking). To add to another review, we didn't feel unsafe, there's a big thick wall between the street and the room. We hope to go back to Mendoza someday and will make sure to book with Julia's team.

Tip : there's another hidden gem in Maipu, the organic Cecchin winery. It's about a 15-minute drive from the posada and was the best bodega to us. No booking needed, which is rare in the area, the food was great and simple as well and cheap, like the products they sell. No credit card though so don't make the same mistake as we did and take cash. Now we have two reasons for going back to Maipu.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Verde Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Verde Oliva

Address: Montecaseros 2223 | Mendoza, Maipu, Mendoza CP 5513 Maipú, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural Hotel located in the exclusive Wine route in Maipu, Mendoza. Surrounded by Malbec vineyards, centenary olive trees and many wineries to visit. It has three rooms, a park and a large swimming pool. Olive therapy with Verde Oliva Eco Cosmetics. Wine, olive oil tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Verde Oliva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Verde Oliva Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Verde Oliva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.