We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect place to stay in pozos.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Mexicana

Hotel Casa Mexicana
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mineral de Pozos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Save
You added Hotel Casa Mexicana to your Saves list
Mineral de Pozos, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
WASHINGTON
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“a perfect place to stay in pozos.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

my wife Kelly and I stayed at this classic hotel in pozos and had an amazing time there before heading on to puerto Vallarta. the town is really cool and we went all around in a golf cart meeting many new people and trying to improve our Spanish and exploring the mines there. we stayed in the room called el arbol, with a large tree in the room itself. the time spent there was very relaxing and it was close to san miguel de allende and carretera if you want to branch out a little. this is for you if you like quiet and peaceful small village experience. the whole place was clean and well stocked and we have been daydreaming about our return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Casa Mexicana again. We love the decor, including genuine Picasso drawings! All has ever been clean and stylish. We usually have the room with the tree growing up through it, but this time tried out another that was even more beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

I concur with what previous people have said about this hotel - Expensive for it's mediocre service and facilities.

The website is outdated and there is little more than a pokey breakfast on offer in the morning - Certainly no fine dining as we had been assured previously.

The split level rooms were damp in the bathrooms and the land lady inhospitable, rude and abrupt.

Her staff were plesant but spoke no English and the bar was'nt open throughout the duration of our stay.

I would recommend the neighbouring casa montana, where we ate all our meals and recieved a positive and friendly welcome.

Madame Martinez spoilt our stay in a destination we were looking forward to.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

Casa Mexicana was a huge disappointment for our weekend stay. The website mentions a "welcome surprise bottle of champagne" (no way - and the bar was closed for the duration of our visit), "fresh flowers in rooms" (not in ours), "candlelight" (only when there's a power cut I guess) and a "culinary experience" at in-house restaurant Cafe des Artistes (also closed for the duration).

In fact we saw no staff other than one girl at check-in and check-out - the place was deserted and the front door permanently locked (we were given a key). On arrival we couldn't even get a drink for the children. So any "hotel services" were non-existent.

The rooms were positively eccentric - we had one on 3 floors and one on 4 floors all connected by tiny narrow stairs with no handrail. This makes life very difficult for children and old people (or anyone after a few Coronas). We paid an extra person charge for each room thinking we'd get a small bed but in one room all we got was a thin mattress to lie on a very hard floor. No TV or a/c - OK maybe that's to be expected but not even a fan! (No windows, outside temperatures in high 80s and not even a fan?? It was stifling.)

This was not a cheap place - we paid around 90 dollars a night. They insisted on prepayment for the whole stay (no surprise why!).

The Casa Montana next door looked far better (we snacked there once) but the best hotel out of the three in Pozos is undoubtedly Posada Las Minas - very elegant, wonderful food and service, beautiful patioed gardens.

  • Liked — We were only there two nights
  • Disliked — Complete lack of advertised services
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

The first think that calls you attention when you arrive to this hotel is the fact that the owner gives you your own key to open the front door! This hotel is a very small one, just 5 rooms, each one decorated in a very special way. For example, the tree room (el cuarto del árbol) has a real, tall tree in one of the walls. The tower(la torre), another room, is a 4 story room with a bath tub surrounded by natural stones in the first floor!
Casa mexicana is a great option for a spending a weekend with your love one. You can sit by the fire place, take breakfast in a sunny courtyard or drink champagne watching the stars.

  • Liked — The originality of the room´s decoration.
  • Disliked — The service.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2006

We had an excellent two night stay here in August 2006. The Casa Mexicana is very well located for all the sights of Guanajuato (less than ten minutes walk to the main plaza), very clean and basic but a very good price. Friendly staff and a variety of rooms plus facilities like internet and laundry available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Mexicana

Address: Mineral de Pozos, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Mineral de Pozos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mineral de Pozos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Mexicana Mexico/Mineral De Pozos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.