We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST CLASS IN THE PYRENEES” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Metsola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Apartamentos Metsola to your Saves list
Apartamentos Metsola
C/ Barrikata 27, Isaba, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
“FIRST CLASS IN THE PYRENEES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

During a three day package birding trip around NW Spain, my friend and I had the opportunity to spend two nights at the Apartamentos Metsola. The birding trip leader was Julian Gayarre Izaguirre who is also the proprietor of the Metsola. I'll simply say that the Metsola apartment was excellent and not something I expected to find as part of a package birding trip. The apartment was new, roomy with a view of the towering mountain in the background. The beds were very comfortable. Although we did not take advantage of the appliances, everything was there that would be needed for a few days to many weeks stay.

If you are looking for a bird watching guide, Julian is one of the best. Knocked himself out
to find our target birds. The White-backed Woodpecker and nest that he had located was exciting. He is very congenial and a great birding companion. He knows all the birding hot spots in Navarra and whisked us from one hard to find bird to another over the three days. Could not have been better.

Lrbluejay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    28
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
44
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have just had a superb two centre holiday. We spent a week in our son’s house in Laurens, near Bezier, and an interesting week at the Metsola apartments in the Pyrenees.
The first week was for relaxation. The village has just four shops, two bakers, one butcher and one general store. We found these shops to be perfectly adequate, supplemented by a visit to a nearby supermarket (which also sold fuel).
We chilled out by the pool, drank the excellent Faugeres wines, and generally took it easy. We spent one day driving into the mountains, with spectacular scenery; there was an excellent restaurant at Lamalou-les-Bains, called the Forge. There also were good bars with food, at nearby Magalas.
All in all, a very enjoyable and relaxing break.
We then drove up into the Pyrenees, from the Spanish side, to a village called Isaba, where we found the apartment. The accommodation was first class, and the village quaint. As it was early in the season, not every shop and restaurant were open, but there was quite adequate supplies of everything we needed.
The village was very Basque, it was quite interesting to observe the differences between the Basques and the Spanish.
We had the enormous bonus of discovering that our host Julien at the apartment was the local Ornithological expert. He took us on a voyage of discovery around the area, pointing out every bird and mammal. It had snowed the day previously, so we were able to track Marmots in the snow, which then came out to sunbath on the rocks, quite oblivious to our presence.
Julien, our guide, knew when to leave the engine running to lull the animals into a sense of security. We could not have had a better day. The weather then improved and it was 23 degrees for the rest of our stay
The next few days we explored the dramatic scenery, all on good roads. Had we known how good the roads were, we might have come directly to Isaba from France, as it is only about 40k from the border. We cannot rate this holiday high enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My traveling companion and I spent two nights in May in a top-floor unit of the Apartamentos Metsola in Isaba and found it extremely comfortable. Our apartment had two bedrooms and four or five beds. All the rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated. Both the kitchen and the living room were very spacious, and exposed beams overhead gave the apartment an even more spacious and airy feeling. The building fits well into its neighborhood of old structures and narrow streets but was, itself, built only a few years ago. An elevator takes guests and their baggage to the upper floors.
Excellent meals are available within easy walking distance at the Hostal Lola and at another establishment that offers a continental breakfast.
The owner and builder of the Metsola, Julián Gayarre Izaguirre, an obliging and personable young man who grew up knowing and loving Isaba, is a trained wildlife professional. In three days, he took us all over Navarra and showed us wonderful birds ranging from an alpine accentor (a longtime nemesis bird of mine) on the French border to Dupont’s larks on a fragment of steppe in the southeastern part of the region.
One of our most memorable observations was of two alpine marmots standing on their hind feet and wrestling like Sumo wrestlers on a roadside high in the Pyrenees. Their antics were so entertaining that we could have watched them all day if the lure of more high-altitude birds hadn’t drawn us away.

Room Tip: The top-foor apartments are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The rooms are spacious and renovated/built to a high specification. Warm, comforting, masses of hot water, friendly owner who is an encyclopedia on wildlife and outdoor activities in the area. Small, quiet village with good local eateries nearby. All in all, I cannot fault Metsola and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed in Metsola Apartments for four nights on a recent Birdwatching holiday in the Pyrenees. If you are visting the Pyrenees for bird or wildlife watching (which I would certainly recommend) then I think you would be hard put to find a better place to stay. Isaba itself is full of rustic Basque charm and is nestled in a beautiful valley full of excellent birding spots with Lammergeiers circling over head.
All I needed was a warm room and bed at the end of a cold day of birdwatching. What I actually got was a lovely, very comfortable and very modern apartment. The facilites were excellent. Large comfortable beds in spacious rooms; excellent, very modern bathrooms with underfloor heating and a comfortable lounge area with large digital TV and a very reliable WiFi signal (I had a bit of work to do aswell!). I didn't use the kitchen in the apartment as we ate all our meals out in the town (see below) but the kitchen facilities looked very good so I could easily see how this would be a great deal for a family.
Our host, Julian, was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for him. He drove us all over the Pyrenees looking for birds and wildlife and his local knowledge was excellent. He arranged all evening meals at small local restaurant in the town, just 5 mins walk down the road. The food was excellent; local dishes washed down with some very good wine was the perfect end to every day.
To quote a previous report - Great Location and Great Quality.

Simon C. Cambridge, UK

Room Tip: A previous report said ground floor rooms lacked natural light. I was on the ground floor but this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Our group of seven spent four days in the apartments during a birdwatching holiday. We found all facilities of the highest quality - underfloor heating, complete range of top of the range facilities, very comfortable beds and lots of room. I was particularly impressed with the facilities for children - carry packs, high chairs, skis. We ate all our meals in a nearby restaurant that served delicious local food in large quantities. Julien, our host, has a passion for wild life and drove us all over the mountains to ensure we had the best chance possible of seeing the birds we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor where the rooms have the most light and the best views. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed for 3 days at the end of august when by chance these were free. We had just gone to Isaba and asked for a list of places at the tourist office. We struck lucky because only these 3 days were available and it was perfect. The owner was extremely knowledgeable on the mountains and wildlife - where to walk and what to see and generous with his time so we made most of those 3 days in an absolutely gorgeous environment. The apartment was very high quality and modern in my view, more like a modern 4 star hotel, yet it was set in the heart of an ancient highland village. Isaba is a very quiet village and no problem sleeping. If appreciating this sort natural landscape is your cup of tea, and yet you want to come home to a comfortable modern apartment then this is an excellent choice. It was not a problem for us but you have to park your car 5minutes walk from the apartment after unloading the car at the front door because the streets are too narrow for the car to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Metsola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Metsola

Address: C/ Barrikata 27, Isaba, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Isaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Isaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apartamentos Metsola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Metsola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.