We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“white clay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Clay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coffee Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Clay Resort
Save
You added White Clay Resort to your Saves list
Hole in the Wall Road, Coffee Bay, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Coffee Bay B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“white clay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went in December 2012 and advertising is misleading. There is no restaurant as advertised and no curios shop. The units is old and the ceilings is aweful with droplets on you all night. Be careful when you book for a family unit, state you want to be together as a family, you can pay for double when your kids stay seperately. Only a narrow beach and lots of stones. Cleaning service is slow. Very expensive, and not worth it ..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
9
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My and the hubby were looking for something neat, clean affordable and out of the chaos of the december holiday madness and chose White Clay.
We were a bit apprehensive to go to a place in a rural area outside a town but couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Karin and Roy were helpful and super accomodating.
We stayed in a super cute selfcatering unit and had everything we needed for our 8 day blissful adventure on the wild coast. The vies are amazing and the beach is a short walk from the resort and a spot that must be visited.
White Clay was the best place to have as home base from where we could go explore and party.
The resort is chilled and relaxed and nice and quiet, especially compared to places inside coffee bay. They also have a small convenient store for the odds and ends we forgot to pack.

Our Coffee bay adventure was undeniably unforgetable and the blissful week spent at White Clay was every cent spent, worth it.

Room Tip: All the units have a perfect view of the indian ocean....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our family booked into White Clay for the period 12-22 Dec 2012. We were in the Dinner Bed and Breakfast rooms with the recently closed restaurant above us. For our entire stay we were subjected to hammering, angle grinding and general construction noise since Karen and Roy (the resort managers) were converting the restaurant space into accommodation for their family Christmas get together. We complained many times that the noise was spoiling our peace and quiet but they simply continued. They were still tiling and grouting above us at midnight! Then Karen's family arrived and occupied the rooms above ours. The first night her brother in law was terribly drunk and singing at the top of his voice and swearing-I raised this with Karen but nothing changed. He came down and was swearing outside our teenage daughters bedroom after midnight! This was the last straw for us and we packed up a day early. I discussed this with Karen but she refused to reimburse our R1595 per night for this last night. I am totally disgusted with her approach. Based on our experience and other customer reviews I would in future book at a reputable and honest establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a view!
We camped here in June, there not being too many other people around we got the site right on the cliff edge - fantastic to wake up each morning looking out over the breakers rolling. Looking cosely you can often see dolphins in amongst the waves.
There are good walks to be had, the food on the deck is fantastic and the welcome exemplary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umkomaas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were privileged to stay at White Clay during the White Clay 21km trail run and we fell in love with the resort and the area...... We were made to feel very welcome, our rooms were clean and comfortably fitted out, the restaurant and bar were spectacular and the view unbelievable - this is the Wild Coast at its very best. Thousands of dolphins entertained us as they surfed the shorebreak, there were whales everywhere we looked and we very reluctantly left after 3 days... We are coming back! Not only is it a fantastic place to stay - it is a convenient base to walk to Hole in the Wall and to find some awesome fishing spots.

Room Tip: C 1 was amazing - the deck was an outstanding place to view the dolphins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maclear, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay at White Clay a couple of weeks ago and was pleasently surprised!
The views are stunning!, the rooms - clean and beatifully presented!, food is out of this world and the hospitality is top notch!

I would reccomend White Clay to anyone looking for a relaxing and comfortable place to stay on the Wild Coast.

Will definately make my way back there ASAP! :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were at White Clay in April 2010. We had a brunch on the deck before (in October 2005) and fell in love with the sight of the bay. I idealised the rooms somewhat, but the views were unique. I had business in East London and we booked for White Clay after. We rented a car and travelled by road. The road was a nightmare, more potholes than tar. It would have been redone subsequently? The rooms under the deck are modest but nicely decorated. The bathroom average. The view from the room makes up for it. The dining areas are nicely decorated. The food is really good and excellent value for money. There are some really nice walks along the cliffs. We wished we reserved for longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Clay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Clay Resort

Address: Hole in the Wall Road, Coffee Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
White Clay Hotel Coffee Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Clay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.