We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanview Hotel Coffee Bay Eastern Cape Wild Coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ocean View Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean View Hotel
1 Main Road, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Coffee Bay B&B and Inns
East London, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oceanview Hotel Coffee Bay Eastern Cape Wild Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Since November 2012, the hotel has been under new management and wow what an improvement the new management have made, sure they have lots of work ahead of them, and I cannot wait to see the hotel in a few more months time. They are doing a fantastic job. The location is absolutely breath taking and worth visiting. Their is no question the hotel is on its way upward. The EC Government is working on the roads and large sections of the road have been fixed and re-surfaced, the work is on going. Their is a big improvement on the road. I Would recommend a visit to the Wild Coast and especially the Ocean View Hotel in Coffee Bay.

Room Tip: Go to the Ocean View hotel to relax and explore the magnificent Wild Coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    13
    13
    8
See reviews for
12
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My main reason for travelling the 540km from Durban to Coffee bay was to abseil the Hole in the Wall. I searched the web can came up with Ocean View Hotel and its only 11km from the Hole in the Wall. Excellent – or so I thought!

After my 8 hour drive on roads that have more pot holes than tarred surfaces, we arrived and were told that the hotel was experiencing a problem with its water line and water would be restored shortly. “Shortly” by the Eastern Cape definition was 5 hours.

But even worse was that the hotel no longer offers abseiling the Hole in the Wall. Either did anyone else in the area! Thus nullifying my reason for being there.

We attempted to drive the 11km to the Hole in the Wall, but my little Volkswagen would have none of that. You WILL need a 4x4 to get to there. We paid the hotel
R120.00 per person to be driven there and then hiked back to the hotel. The hike was definitely worthwhile and I would recommend it to anyone fit enough to do it. The views are stunning and the landscape breathtaking.

The room was musty, the linen was damp smelling (it even had a blood stain) and there was no air conditioning. The room did have 2 fans, but they served no purpose. The hotel’s website creates an impression that the hotel just does not live up to.

The food varied from really bad lunches to surprisingly good dinners. But not having your meals at the hotel means driving on terrible roads trying to find a restaurant or hotel to eat at and sadly there are not many options.

The Staff were friendly and pleasant.

Thankfully my stay at the Ocean View was short. I don’t think I would have managed anything longer than a week-end.

GOLDEN TIP: - if you are going to stay at the Ocean View or any hotel in the Coffee Bay area will need a 4X4 and a navigation system to make finding your way around easier.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Our stay in Dec 2012 @ R1200 Dinner, bed and breakfast was a huge disappointment. Stunning view, but not at all as on their web site. An absolute rip off!!!!

Room Tip: Select any other accomodation, even a tent on the beach would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

There's a serious question whether one should travel the horrendous road to Coffee Bay just for the pretty site. The pot holes are so bad it takes approx 2 hours in broad daylight to drive 50 km from the main N2 highway. Make sure you do NOT plan for less or you will find yourself driving after dark as we got stuck doing. As for the hotel, the views and location were amazing, the xhosa ladies on staff were lovely. Pretty patios outside the rooms, nice terrace vith a view outside the dining room, pretty grounds and pretty swimming pool. But the beds were so hard it was difficult to sleep. The room was very clean although there was a bit of a musty smell but it wasn't too bad. Certainly no smell of urine as others have written. The bathroom was clean and fine although the joints and tiling were a bit old. Except for breakfast, the food was TERRIBLE. Between the beds and the food, the hotel was terrible value for the money, but not sure whether any other place in Coffee would be much better. We had a lovely time in Coffee Bay and Hole in the Wall, but were tired --and I would bet other places on the coast are just as nice with better facilities. Umngazi Resort near Port St Johns, for example, is amazing although more pricey.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The hotel needs some serious improvement. Their is a damp smell in the rooms. The linen is dirty and stained and the bath towels are torn and ancient looking.
For the rate or R500 per person per night, was definitely a rip off!
There was a plastic hand shower attached to the bath tub, which falls off the tap when you open the tap to get water out.
NEVER EVER Again!!!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Really worth travelling to see Coffee Bay and surrounding areas. Ocean View seemed to be one of the best hotels/ accomodation in the area but they do ahve a lot to improve with reagrds to the cleanliness of their rooms, they stink. Apparently the septic tank overflowed a few years ago and you can still smell it. But besides that for the rooms with a see view they are fantastically positioned so close to the beach. The food was average but the hotel service was good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Possibly the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The rooms are damp, smelly and dirty. The bathroom is like something out of a Hitchcock movie, you would probably be dirtier after a shower in this place. the bedlinen smelt of the previous occupants. We booked for 2 nights, but left as soon as we could after 1 night. The food was average. The drive getting to the hotel after you leave the major road was horrendous, the 'road' is just a pot holed nightmare, do not attempt this unless your car is capable of going through deep pot holes. the only posistive is the view of the bay from the hotel and the hole in the wall.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 1 Main Road, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.