We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect example of where not to stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bomvu Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coffee Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bomvu Backpackers
Coffee Bay, Wild Coast, Transkei, Coffee Bay, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect example of where not to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Unfortunately we did not enjoy our stay here at all, the rooms are not clean, there are stray dogs and cats all over the furniture even in the kitchen on the worktops and tables where you're supposed to eat. Not to mention the loud music til all hours every single night. The owner Karl chased us down and accused us of trying to run away without paying the bill even though all our stuff was still in the room and we were just going out for the day. After speaking to many of the locals it turns out Karl seems to have upset a lot of people in Coffee Bay, mainly the locals and his ex staff which is why the staff turnover at Bomvu is so high. He uses his position within the community to exploit the locals to his advantage and we will not be staying here ever again thanks to him. Much nicer places in Coffee Bay to stay!

Room Tip: To actually get some sleep avoid any rooms near the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    6
    4
    19
See reviews for
5
14
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I'm a solo traveler, I havent accually stayed at Bomvu (I was a guest at Coffee Shack across the road), but I have spent a great deal of time at Bomvu - they have some amazing activities and staff. I loved druming lessons, horseback riding, massage, joga class and the best Bomvu drum band - Bomvu Tribal Rythms - we dance on the rythm of drums all night. They also have a guide that yould take you for amazing walks either to "the caves" or the direction torvards Bulangula - to the "hole in the wall).
Thank you so much for everything! I wish I'd have stayed more time at Coffee Bay - it was my favorite place in South Africa - definitly a place to go!
:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

we spent a full week at bomvu, and can relate to most of the comments below, good and bad.

Bomvu is a charming place with a lot of history. It's been around for many years and has been good to travelers. Unfortunately it seems that there is some turmoil at the moment as much of the staff haven't been there for more than 3 odd months. We took part in everything, from yoga to horse riding, pizza and drumming around the fire.

I can say that we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly at bomvu, but had to be quite forgiving in certain instances. The music plays way too loud for way too long, weather there are people there or not. This is fine for a few nights, but becomes a bit much a full week later.

The horse riding was also a great experience, the trip to the hole in the wall in particular. The trip was limited by the knowledge of our guide though, and so we were confined to roads, as opposed to exploring the trails.

The staff are friendly, and the surroundings beautiful, but i would be reluctant to stay here again. There are better backpackers.

Room Tip: choose something far away from the bar. music pumps until all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are simple, but clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Coffee bay is very relaxed environment, but you'll never find yourself bored. The house band is a lot of fun. The only downside is that the bar plays really awful techno music until 2 or 3AM which you can hear from the dorm. Not your kind of place if you're a light sleeper.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

In summary:
Filthy rooms
Bedding does not get changed
Unqualified staff on all levels
Cockroaches in kitchen and rooms
Terrible food - pizza, breakfast etc.
Stray dogs live on premesis
Not a relaxing holiday spot - music does not stop until 4am EVERY day
Party every night - stay away if you want to have quiet evenings
Local drinking spot for the informal settlement nearby
Rampant theft by locals
Constant harrassment by drug dealers
Tours/hikes/horse rides not value for money - guides only interested in extorting money from tourists, animals very unfit and unkept
Beggers aplenty - small kids, women 'selling' beadwork
Mosquito warning!! - stagnant water around
Bring cash or be prepared to pay 4 percent extra on all prices
Stay away from the room next to the bar - you'll never get a good night's rest

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful 23 days at Bomvuparadise backpackers. What a place, what wonderful staff and what wonderful locals at Coffee Bay. We arrived meeting happy animals, smiling people and beautiful nature. The garden has little paths and open spares for camping, There are small houses with rooms, double and en suites, and of course dormetories and shared showers as in any back packer place.
A great bar, Chris and Ivan thank you. Rooms are decorated with Mikes art, and the eating area and restaurant are spacious and nice. There is a kitchen for cooking your own food if that takes your fancy. Food is great if you like being served and cooked for. We had lovely Bar B Q and bon fires in the evenings. Not forgetting the amazing drum sessions in the evenings. Get guided hikes or horse trails. Take a morning, day and evening swim in the Indian Ocean. Pamper yourself with massage, yoga or pilates.
What more does one want of a long restful holiday.

Now, backpacking mat not be for everyone, but if you can't get along with the gang at Bomvuparadise or even the locals, you need to look in the mirror.

Thanks again. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you like your privacy, Get an en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Bomvu is the best backpackers in coffee bay. The staff are very nice, the site is beautiful with a very short walk to the beach. Even the dogs are friendly. There's so much to do with constant activity and an awesome little restaurant. Definitely one of the best holiday venues I've been to

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bomvu Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bomvu Backpackers

Address: Coffee Bay, Wild Coast, Transkei, Coffee Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty lodging in Coffee Bay
Also Known As:
Bomvu Backpackers Hotel Coffee Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bomvu Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bomvu Backpackers to your Saves list