We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem in Arenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tinajas Arenal

Tinajas Arenal
Rancho Las Tinajas Arenal | Carretera 142 Nuevo Arenal en una peninsula del lago, Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
+506 8926 3365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Cuisines: Organic, International, Vegan, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Real Gem in Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Since our return to Arenal in March 2014, we have eaten here at least once a week for either lunch or dinner and have had wonderful meals. They have increased the seating and the views remain the best in the area for watching the sun set over Lago Arenal. The daily specials are always a great choice. The sauces are a perfect compliment to the food and everything is perfectly cooked. While some of the road is a bit rough, it is more than worth it for the experience of having a great meal with a great view. ¡Buen provecho!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    18
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“My first choice of restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Not only is the view of the sunset second to none, the tuna was perfectly cooked along with the rest of the meal. Couldn't ask for a better meal. Worth the drive home in the dark anytime.

Doug C Florida

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a view!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

They have great colorful signs to show you the way to this restaurant and truly have one of the best views let alone an amazing natural atmosphere. Birds, cows, lake view. Amazing. My husband and I went here for a late afternoon tapas and bebidas. The owners are obviously perfectionists as the grounds and restaurant are in immaculate condition with natural building materials. My one and only gripe I would have is that the guacamole was too salty but that is personal preference. Do go enjoy yourselves!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Sunset Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The view of the lake is spectacular. The food was very tasty. My husband had the Mahi Mahi and was very happy with his choice. I had garlic shrimp which was the special of the day and VERY good. Desert was fried pineapple & ice cream. Drool worthy!

Getting to this resuaurant is an adventure in itself. Our GPS did not guide us right to it and had to stop for directions in the little town. Our waitress did not speak English but the fun is part of the fun of going to a foreign country.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhonkson, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great sunset, great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Ate there twice during our four nights in Nuevo Arenal, Went early once to catch the sunset and the second time after the sun went down. While signage to the place is good, it's best to go the first time in the light so you can find and place and also feel confident you are going to reach it. Often when you get a place with a good. IRS, the food falls short, not so here. Over the two nights we tried the tuna (perfectly done, large portion, tasty topping), shrimp, quesadillas and numerous other local dishes. All were excellent. Follow the signs, you won't be disappointed

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinajas Arenal also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Tinajas Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinajas Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.