We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track but well worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gingerbread Restaurant

Gingerbread Restaurant
Gingerbread Hotel, Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
506-2694-0039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track but well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Recommended by our hostess Suzy at Villa Decary B&B just up the road, we had a fantastic meal at this funky place. We were told that due to its popularity reservations are a must. You must be prepared for large servings of excellent food which are meant to be shared which makes the cost even more reasonable. Enjoy

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    16
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It gets better every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We love to eat at the gingerbread when we visit CostaRica. Last night topped all the previous visits. The macadamia nut encrusted seabass with coconut rice and vegetables, was the most delicious dish I have ever had. The tropical salad was also the best ever! Eyal the gingerbread experience and good gets better everytime I come! Thank you for having such delicious food. and humongous portions, the part we took home is absolutely delicious this morning.
The fish varies, depending on what is available to that time. Our friend had the ribs, and they were finger kicking good! Can't wait to go back there again, next time.

Oh! And when you go, leave some room for the boca negra desert, if you like chocolate you have to try this! Also if you enjoy good wine, Eyal will always recommend the best match for the food.
Enjoy! BTW, its also a great place to meet really nice and friendly people. You can sit around the bar and socialize or be private in a booth or outside on the patio, the gardens are gorgeous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“fantastic fare in an unexpected place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went not knowing what to expect and found the most fantastic little country restaurant with an incredible chef whose obvious love of creating tempting dishes shines in everything he makes. His joy in your delight over his food was wonderful to see. Course after course of culinary delights were presented. This was chef's choice as we were a party of six, and we were never disappointed, even the vegetarians in our party.

Thank you so much Gingerbread Restaurant. We had an evening we will never forget. If you are in the Arenal area be sure and make the trek down to the restaurant. You won't regret it!

The Steiners

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“As the owner says...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

...don't believe everything you read on the internet. He told me that when I was asking about the desert menu before my dinner arrived. "How can you know if you want my desert until you've tried my dishes?" "Because the internet said..." "Don't believe everything you read on the internet!"

However, in this case you can, at least as far as the other reviews of the famous mushroom dish and the blackened tuna salad, both delicious!

Oh, and so was the tiramisu. And the house cabernet and port. And the reparte. Great night.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent menu with a great staff...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The food the owner / chef - Ayall puts together is wonderful. The openess of the restaurant is great and for a mostly english speaking Canadian this place was very user friendly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingerbread Restaurant also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Gingerbread Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gingerbread Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.