We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This wasn't just any meal, it was a unique experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gingerbread Restaurant

Gingerbread Restaurant
Gingerbread Hotel, Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
506-2694-0039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Doing business, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This wasn't just any meal, it was a unique experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

This meal was fantastic! We had 24 people in our party and we all had a blast with great service & wonderful food. The chef was such a character and so full of life. He puts his joi-de-vie and vivaciousness into his food. I loved not knowing what we were going to get next, like opening gifts at Christmas.

This is not a restaurant for picky-people & fuddy-duddies who don't have personalities nor a sense of humor (like the 4th of July commenter). What kind of a traveler doesn't do his homework before going to a restaurant?! You would've known beforehand that you don't get menus & that they talk to you like family.

Anyway, I highly recommend it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    16
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have been to Gingerbread a number of times on almost every visit to Costa Rica and we definitely enjoy the food here. The dishes prepared by Eyal are fantastic - even a simple salad tastes wonderful with exactly the right proportions of the ingredients. The dishes are large and the chef prepares them for the whole group - if you have two people and would like a dish, he will prepare it for two. This is true for all the dishes on the menu, unless you specify that you want a small portion just for one. The mussels are to die for. The desserts are very tasty. But be warned, don't just stop by for a quick meal - come to spend some time to enjoy the food and drinks.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traunstein, Bayern, Germany
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The worst service in the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Either all these evaluations are faked or we are the only group had the worst experience in this restaurant. We came with a group of 8 people and asked for the menu but an unfriendly lady told us the menu will be prepared by the chef and we can be sure it will be excellent. When we asked to know what he is cooking for us and what is the price we again heard - we should trust him. If we don't accept this concept we could leave, she said.
Next a painted body builder came (the chef) and asked for our concerns. He told us this is his system and since 5 years he is the best restaurant in Costa Rica but if we don't like it we could leave. The second sacking.
We asked for the bill for our drinks and got it. When I tried to pay with my Visa Card the lady said - we don't accept credit cards but we could leave without paying.
This was the worst experience and most unfriendly service I ever had in my 85 countries I visited worldwide.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Catarina Palopo, Guatemala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gingerbread will be one of the finest meals you will ever experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The dining experience at Gingerbread is something everyone should have if they are planning a trip to Costa Rica. The world famous food prepared by Chef Eyle who's creations from local ingredients are amazing.. The atmosphere is casual and fun. Chef Eyle wants everyone who walks through his door to have one of the best dining experiences they have ever had and we have never been disappointed. My husband and I are fortunate to live close to Gingerbread and go there to celebrate every special occasion birthdays, holidays, even if it's not Eyle makes it one. A meal at Gingerbread will be one of highlights of your trip. Eyle says when he presents one of his dishes to you" if you have had this dish anywhere in the world better then this one let me!" See what you think!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells ME
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Must Dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Food was served in huge portions which you were welcome to share. The cuisine was EXCELLENT. the service was very good. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming. Don't miss this one!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingerbread Restaurant also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Gingerbread Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gingerbread Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.