We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful view"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel to your Saves list
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Union de Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“"Wonderful view"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed in cottage number one and it was a beautiful habitacion. It rained for the two days we were there, July fifth and sixth, but it was an enjoyable experience and added to the beauty of the Arenal area landscape. The staff was friendly, and Leo was a fine host, as he overcame the sadness of the Costa Rican loss in the World Cup and gave us suggestions on local activities. Well located property within easy driving distance to the hanging bridges, and Nuevo Arenal. No tv reception, but why are you there to watch tv? Wifi worked best in Le Bistro, and the food was very good. All in all, a very nice stay!

Room Tip: Choose cottage one if available, closest to the restaurant, patio, and pool, with a really nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    32
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
46
73
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights in May and had a wonderful time. The scenery was like a postcard with the horses grazing on the hill side and the lake in front. The food was well prepared and the right proportions as well.

It was our second stop on a trip to experience the Lake area as a potential retirement location. We're planning to return later in the year.....

Room Tip: I think the view is good from any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

After a long day of travelling, arriving at La Mansion Inn Arenal was like being dropped into paradise. Unfortunately it rained for most of the two days that we were there so while we were disappointed that we weren't able to do the lake fishing that we had planned on, we were just happy to be in Costa Rica and determined to make the best of it.

We travelled with another couple and had neighbouring cottages which were very clean and comfortable. Because of the weather we really appreciated the covered patios and were amazed at how much we saw from the comfort of the wooden rocking chairs - many different colourful birds in the flowering bushes right in front of our rooms, toucans and other larger birds in the trees closer to the lake. The view of the lake was beautiful as the clouds and rain moved over it, the rainbows were stunning and when the sun broke through over the hills it revealed more shades of green than I have ever seen before. When there was a break from the rain we explored the beautiful gardens and walked down to the lake.

We enjoyed all of the meals we had at La Mansion and found everything reasonably priced. Great coffee and the best banana bread I've ever tasted. Peggy was a generous host - she even offered us dinner on the house because the satellite tv wasn't working in one of the cottages (we wouldn't have noticed this because we didn't turn it on).

Hope to return here one day, and hopefully the weather will allow us to enjoy the fishing and some horseback riding.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at La Mansion for our honeymoon. We can not say enough wonderful things about the property. La Mansion sits on the Arenal Lake and you wake up every morning with wonderful views, fresh breakfast and a great cup of coffee. The owner Leo was always their to greet us, He was very knowledgeable of the area and provided the best tours. Ask about the SELVA LEONA tour. It was truly amazing and unforgettable. We made memories on this trip that will last a life time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and loved it! Nice private view of the lake and centrally located o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed with Leo and Peggy for 4 nights and used their place as our base for excursions around Lake Arenal and La Fortuna. Their staff is happy and helpful. The little cottages are quaint and clean. They are wonderful hosts, answered our many questions and provided great tips on where to go and what to do. The wifi stayed on for the most part and I don't recall having a power outage at all...which is normal for Costa Rica. Their restaurant served delicious meals. We typically took our breakfast on the porch of our cottage. We picked up wine and cheese and spent the late afternoon there too. It was so comfortable and beautiful. The pool is small and the water was very cold, which is hard to imagine when it's so hot outside. I can only assume that going in to the end of the dry season they conserve water by not keeping it full enough to be "infinity" style and they don't leave the filter going so the warm top layer doesn't mix in? We jumped in to cool off from the sun, but quickly got back out. They also have what they call a hot tub, but that water was warm, not hot and it too wasn't full so the jets didn't really work well. Both pool situations were minor and didn't detract from our wonderful time.
The hotel provides everything you need to have a real Costa Rican experience. It's not a Riu palace, and thank goodness for that. It would be a great place to have a family reunion or a wedding and just rent the whole place. It's certainly inexpensive enough. You'd certainly go home with fabulous photos as the surrounding area is kept up beautifully. The jungle would just take it back if they didn't stay on top of the gardens. They're just spectacular. The little town is actually named La Union and is about 15 minutes drive from Nuevo Arenal to one side and about 25 minutes to La Fortuna on the other side.
If you want to wake to beautiful bird songs and the occasional howler monkey every morning, be surrounded by wonderful people, and enjoy the Pura Vida you need to contact Leo and Peggy.

Room Tip: get a cabin facing the lake, then you will have a fabulous sunset view from your porch area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I highly recommend this place to anyone, but especially couples. The hotel has a breath-taking view of Arenal Lake. It's positioned on the top of a mountain overlooks a very large area of the lake. If you want to go down to the lake, it's only like a 2 minute walk. If you like to see stars, and are lucky enough to be there on a cloudless night, you are definitely in for a treat.
The rooms were very clean, we stayed in a Deluxe Cottage (#5) which I highly recommend. There was a very comfortable King bed, a small fridge, A/C, satellite TV, coffee maker, basically anything you might need. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. I really enjoyed that the cottages stand alone, you aren't sharing a wall with the next room and by design each has shrubbery around them to guarantee privacy, it feels like your own little spot.
The restaurant had great food. The menu is varied, I tried pastas, sandwiches and some typical Costa Rican dishes and all of it was delicious. The staff is very kind and courteous and the entire facility is very well maintained.
I have no complaints. I did my research and the price was comparable with other places in the area. It was a tremendous value. Go check it out, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: I recommend the cottages, they are very private and have everything you need. We stayed in a deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I spent a wonderful 2 days at La Mansion Inn Arenal! Our flight into Costa Rica was much delayed, and by the time we arrived the owners made us feel very welcome and we relaxed immediately!
We took the private tour to Selva Leone- I can not recommend this enough!! The boat ride across the lake was amazing! The horseback riding was really fun- the tour guide's dog rode on the back of his horse! And then the hike and lunch were wonderful! It was like entering a different world-

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Address: La Union de Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive and luxurious Arenal hotel is located amidst overwhelming nature and tropical gardens on the scenic ARENAL LAKE. The inn is made up of 17 luxury boutique VILLAS of 1-3 bedrooms, all with their own private tropical gardens, terrace, AC, satellite TV, fridge and sweeping lake views. The Mansion Inn is the ideal starting point for the activities in the ARENAL and TENORIO area, like fishing, Hanging Bridges, Canopy, Selva Leona,Volcano Hike, Bird watching, Venado Caves, Rio Celeste...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.