We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Arenal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Union de Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Larue, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

La Mansion is located on a beautiful piece of property overlooking Lake Arenal. The dining patio and restaurant have incredible views of the lake, the infinity pool and lovely flower gardens.

The staff, owners and chef make dining an occasion worth repeating! The rooms are perfect...large, comfortable, elegant in a charming way. We enjoyed sitting on our individual patio and watching the various birds and the distant horses grazing on a green pasture that rolled down to the lake! What a perfect setting!

We all agreed that La Mansion is a special place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    25
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
41
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Perfectly situated on the banks of Lake Arenal, this little slice of heaven was ideal for us. Nuevo Arenal is not for everyone, but that why we liked it. The bungalows are charming, the help can read your mind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel has everything for a breathtaking experience. The rooms are tastefully decorated especially the murals on the walls. The infinity pool is one to die for. The restaurant has chess board, couches and is open from two sides giving a artistic arcade like feel. Lake Arenal sits invitingly before you when in room, pool or restaurant

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is run badly and the owners were decidedly unfriendly. We felt like unwanted house guests intruding on the owners' private party. Simple requests like using the jaccuzzi were met with eye rolling as if we were putting them out to have to turn on the hot water (the tub takes several hours to heat) And then when we werent ready 3 hours later to get in we got scolded for them heating it for nothing. Did they ever hear of a cover to hold the heat in?

Even if it is low season the paying guests should have use of the amenities just like any other time, and should not be subjected to noise from power tools and etc for upkeep. (weed eaters, welding, hammering should not ruin our time lounging by the pool.) The pool had bird poop on and in it that was not cleaned up for days running.
The rooms were attractive but not nice enough to merit luxury prices in Costa Rica. Basic amenities like shampoo and a room free of ants should be expected. The hotel was in a beautiful location, the rooms were attractive and the food was pretty good. The staff was very nice but overworked and if you wanted dinner you had to request ahead. After 6pm you can't even get a drink at the bar and there is nothing else around there open. Being in this place without a car is not recommended.
Next door Toad Hall (new, friendly, with beautiful new guest rooms and great tropical mixed drinks) is much more welcoming.
We have travelled all over for work and vacation, and found the set up at La Mansion Inn surprisingly sub par.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwestwind, Owner at La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We feel very sorry you did not feel happy while at the Inn. We treat ALL our guests in the same way.
We respect highly their privacy. We only talk with them if they are communicative, And we do everything to give them advice, reserve tours, taxi.
And we are very open minded!
We reserved a car for you for a week, but after 3 days you turned it in. So you were here nearly all the time. We try to do the maintenance when there are no guests and immediately stop making noise when people are around. We will try to do better.
The Jacuzzi is a big hot tub of 10,000 gal. We are very energy saving aware, and turn it on request. And we certainly not did it with eye rolling!
We have regularly that for weeks that nobody asks for the hot tub, so why loosing that energy? The pools are cleaned every morning at 6 AM. Many birds over here like to come any time to drink at the pool. And yes, they let sometimes little poop behind them on the border. We feel sorry about that. This is nature. We will clean now several times a day. Thanks for drawing our attention to this.
In the low season the restaurant LE BISTRO is open from 6:30 AM until 6PM, and on request until later, even up to 10 PM. Drinks are always served until 9 PM. We notice our guests about that. Sorry you missed that information.
Shampoo: the dispenser in the shower is a liquid that combines soap and shampoo. It is written in the welcome book that guests find in their room.
Ants: the small, little ants come from nowhere if some food or sweet is left in the room. That is why we ask that people conserve the food in the refrigerator.
The beds have new SHELTER mattresses and we use 400 threat sheets and the best towels available. Your rate was $ 150 with the 3rd night for free. Expensive for a 4* hotel?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

With a Great Location, La Mansion Inn Arenal is a charming Hotel on the way to Arenal Volcano.
Everybody that works here will make sure that you really enjoy your stay,
The Rooms have a Spectacular View of Arenal Lake and you can take a Kayak from their pier only a 10 Minute Walk by the Old Road to Arenal.
Yummy Breakfast, Nice Infinity Pool and Jacuzzi over looking the lake sou-rounded by pure lush very well manicured by the Owners.
I travel here for business but I will come back for vacation time.
I enjoy a spectacular Sunset SUP Sesh after my day tour and small briefing by Leo and Delicious Diner at the Restaurant with my clients after a fishing day on the lake.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed there for two nights. It was not planified, but we are happy that we fall on it by chance
Absolutely great and charming view on Lake Arenal. The suites are really charming with perfect view out of the bed directly outside on the lake, sunset included.
During night you are surrounded by softly sounds of nature (frog, birds) and during the day you get all kind of colourful birds (including many colibris) coming by.
Just after sunset its time for lightning bugs and so on
The suites (we tried two of them) are well equiped with all you need (and clean). Perfect italian styling, great wall painting
Service and staff very nice and helpful, food great (the best sirloin we had in costa rica - we didn't try anything else as it was so good).
perfect for familly (always at least 5 beds) and/or couple
We will surely come back and stay for longer as it was just magic
many thanks to Gottfried and his staff for this highlight

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossyrock, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just returned from CR and had a great time for 10d. We spent 3 nights at the La Mansion Inn as a base for our activities around the lake and volcano. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms nice, clean, with AC, affordable, private. Excellent bed linens, beds slightly stiff but definitely doable Small but refreshing infinity pool with an amazing view of the lake. The staff is friendly and helpful. The owners seemed quite reserved and quiet, not rude but not exactly welcoming either. That is an area that could use some improvement. However, no complaints about the local staff persons. I would stay here again however, as it was a very relaxing place to be. They did give us a free night as we needed to add on another night at the end, and fortunately they were able to accomodate us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Also Known As:
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal
Address: La Union de Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive and luxurious Arenal hotel is located amidst overwhelming nature and tropical gardens on the scenic ARENAL LAKE. The inn is made up of 17 luxury boutique VILLAS of 1-3 bedrooms, all with their own private tropical gardens, terrace, AC, satellite TV, fridge and sweeping lake views. The Mansion Inn is the ideal starting point for the activities in the ARENAL and TENORIO area, like fishing, Hanging Bridges, Canopy, Selva Leona,Volcano Hike, Bird watching, Venado Caves, Rio Celeste...... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel to your Saves list