We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Union de Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Boulder, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We started our trip in Arenal, staying at La Mansion Inn. What a way to begin a terrific vacation! The setting is spectacular and our cottage was wonderful. We ate all of our dinners at the restaurant, and the food was fabulous - the best we had in Costa Rica. The owner was friendly and so helpful -- he arranged for our zip lining tour and a most special private tour at the Selva Leona rainforest -- the highlight of our vacation. This tour can only be arranged through La Mansion, and includes a boat ride, jeep tour, horseback ride and a rainforest hike. What an amazing day that was. We loved everything about our stay at La Mansion and recommend it completely.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 1 -- wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    27
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
41
65
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Mi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights on the recommendation of a friend. This is a fabulous value for the money. Each room is an individual cottage with balcony overlooking the lake, with fridge and coffee maker. The position of the cabins makes it so that you do not see anyone else, just an amazing view of the lake with horses grazing at the edge in the morning sun.
We stayed in the honeymoon cabin which was very warm and cozy, but spacious! I spoke to the owner about the bed being a bit firm, but he stated that the mattresses were brand new, and the best in Costa Rica! Otherwise, perfect!
We ate breakfast (continental with yummy fruit platter included) and most dinners at the restaurant since it is a bit away from the other restaurants (which are few and far between) and from La Fortuna town (didn't want to drive 40 minutes late at night on curvy roads). The food is excellent and a good value.
Leo, the owner, is wonderful. He greeted us after a long journey in a calm, welcoming manner. He is a font of information regarding excursions. We followed his advice and we weren't disappointed. He really has a great grasp regarding the various excursions, costs, pros and cons, logistics, physical exertion required, etc. He is very honest and can help book (at NO extra cost) any excursion. We chose to do everything on the fly as we didn't know how the weather would be further out and wanted to be able to decide as late as possible. Leo always came through with making arrangements for the next day. Our best activity, at his recommendation (AND EXCLUSIVE TO THIS PROPERTY) was a full day excursion to the Selva Leona Virgin Rainforest . This is a wonderful trip encompassing a boat trip across Lake Arenal, short jeep ride to the trailhead, horseback ride to the guide's cattle ranch and then up to the top of the mountain, 3 hour hike through the rainforest to hidden waterfalls, authentic and rustic BBQ, horseback ride back, and boat trip back home. We loved this! We got to talk with local people, spend time with them, see their unspoiled land, and really get to know the real Costa Ricans. They were so kind to us and so warm and inviting. We spent the day with Jose, his father, and his two small sons. We were so touched by their warmth and generosity - we who have so much, and they who have so little - yet they were willing to share with us at every turn and to make sure that we had a wonderful experience. They were so grateful because we left them some of our trail mix when we departed! This excursion is only offered for guests of La Mansion. There are no glossy brochures for this adventure, no waivers to sign. Leo works with the cattle ranchers exclusively and they only take about 200 people per year. They are concerned and don't want to let too many in, lest it spoil the natural beauty! HIGHLY recommended excursion if you want to see more than zip lines and river rapids (not that there is anything wrong with that!).
There are other places to stay in the area (like the Springs Hotel) which is more luxurious, but one night without breakfast equals three nights in La Mansion with breakfast! You can still visit the spa of the hotel with a day pass and smile as you go back to the wonderful warmth and hospitality of Leo and La Mansion!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

The hotel was not your typical tourist location, but instead offered private cottages with true tranquility and comfort. Staff and food was exceptional. I traveled with my 2 teenage daughters and we all loved the Inn and all it had to offer in terms of comfort, the heated pools, private patios, etc.

I would recommend that you rent a car so that you can easily get to your selected tours and areas, but all in all, we are so glad we chose this Inn over so many others that did not provide the privacy of a surrounded rain forest, lake views, or the personal attention of the staff (and homemade meals).

As such, we are already planning our next return to La Mansion!!! This Inn was so much over the top than what we saw in Fortuna or any other area. It is about privacy, comfort and complete relaxation. You will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: Rent a car for your stay. We used
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We shared this rental with another couple and it was perfect. Both rooms and bathrooms were beautiful and comfortable. The views were amazing and the staff was wonderful. We even make friends with their little puppy. The breakfast was delicious! Try the banana, macadamia nut pancakes! We traveled around Costa Rica for a week and this was our favorite place, hands down. Hope to visit again soon :) Thank you!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent three nights here on our first trip to Costa Rica. Our cottage was so nice, and sitting on the rocking chairs on the porch, looking out over the peaceful lake vista was great. The staff were warm and accommodating and the breakfast with the fresh fruit platter was great. The only negative I would have is the location, particularly with a teen. A car is a must have to been able to drive into town for a meal or excursions. Still, I loved it, and I loved the beautiful landscaping and tropical flowers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

It's hard to describe how wonderful this place is other than the cliche that it is a slice of heaven. The setting is magic. Rooms are actually small individual homes (minus a kitchen), each with a porch looking out over Lake Arenal. This is so picture postcard beautiful it's ridiculous. The light throughout the day changes causing one to continuouslly stare out over the lake, and at sunset, get ready for natures display. We have seen sunsets at some of the best beaches in the world, Arenal is perhaps the best. Throw in horses grazing in the meadows 20 yards from the porch and you get the picture.

The rooms are magical, each one with unique handpainted murals. The grounds, the infinity pool, all contribute to a fairy tale visit. Throw in a friendly staff (we felt like we were saying goodbye to friends as we left after 4 days), great food, and the jungle sounds day and night; so yes, I want to live at La Mansion.

There is plenty to do in the area. La Mansion is about 30 minutes from the volcano. All of the great outdoor and lake activities are an easy drive away. I felt bad for people who were staying next to the volcano, I mean how long can you stare at the volcano, it's cool to see, but the Lake is the real treasure. LA Fortuna is about 45 minutes away. It's a really nice little town with some great restaurants and shops.

Need to finish so I can go look at the photo's of the sunsets. Enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

14 private cottages beautifully situated on a hill overlooking Lake Arenal. Stunning view of the lake with a backdrop of hills and a volcano. Breathtaking sunsets, rainforest sounds to awaken you. Our cottage with jacuzzi was tastefully decorated and comfortable. The owners Leo and Peggy are friendly and accomodating. The staff was always courteous and eager to please. The food was the best we had in Costa Rica. It was a little more expensive than other places but I would rather pay $5-7 more than get a meal that isn't half as good. The salads & fruit were the epitome of freshness. The fish, e.g. Mahi with avocado/mango chutney was delicious, all flavors were always perfectly balanced. The advice for tours in the area was dead on, we were looking to avoid guide fees and huge tourist masses. The Selva Leona private tour ($130 off-season per person) was the highlight of our trip. It was guided as it is very remote and uses horses for part of the tour. Personable guide, exciting horse trails, a steep hike to the waterfall for a swim, hike back for lunch and horse ride in. Not for the out of shape. For those looking for superb lodging out of the hustle and bustle, I highly recommend La Mansion Inn Arenal.

Room Tip: cottage #22 has it all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel

Address: La Union de Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 050807, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Nuevo Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuevo Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive and luxurious Arenal hotel is located amidst overwhelming nature and tropical gardens on the scenic ARENAL LAKE. The inn is made up of 17 luxury boutique VILLAS of 1-3 bedrooms, all with their own private tropical gardens, terrace, AC, satellite TV, fridge and sweeping lake views. The Mansion Inn is the ideal starting point for the activities in the ARENAL and TENORIO area, like fishing, Hanging Bridges, Canopy, Selva Leona,Volcano Hike, Bird watching, Venado Caves, Rio Celeste...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/Nuevo Arenal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.