We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toucan Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toucan Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Storebay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Crown Point B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great, friendly staff.
Really good food and even better cocktails. Not quite 5 star quality but great for the price. I would not hesitate to go back to toucan inn at any time.

Pool rooms are quite noisy and small. Garden rooms a lot bigger and better with more privacy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    94
    31
    16
    3
See reviews for
18
111
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I really liked the little huts.....I had one of the poolside ones.....yes, not 5 star but charming and clean. If the bar is open late, you will need your earplugs!

Some of the staff are an absolute delight.....really friendly with a great sense of humour. There were a couple who really let the side down. The lady who does (mostly) breakfasts....bit surly, not warm, and it felt that it was a major inconvenience to her.

I also have a big issue with the manager who chose to lock the bar up at 10 (without warning) on our last night. Especially given he kept it open very late the night before (which I have no issue with, just take your earplugs!) I thought it was very mean spirited of him....we heard it was because someone was rude to him. Well in that case, don't serve them! Or at least give everyone else the option of stocking up before closing the bar. We all concluded that he was making an excuse and wanted to shut it down as storm was coming...that's fair enough (if not a little lazy) but at least give us warning. Very disappointing and as a result none of us will go back there.

I've rated this average because I think it's value for money from an accommodation perspective and, with a few exceptions, lovely staff. But they need to sharpen up their customer service....it's really let them down.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Liked it so much last year we returned again this year.
Its a 10 minute walk from the airport and upon arrival it was like we had never been away. Some new faces, some old, and all smiling!!
Booked AI direct with Lisa into garden room 4. Its not 5 Star but perfectly adequate, spacious, hot water anytime, cleaned every day, clean towels when/if needed, air conditioning, mossie machine all included. (shhhh... room 4 and a.n.other has television!!)
The relaxed pace and the happy atmosphere just makes this place work. (even though the unfortunate incident of the divers accident as mentioned below did dampen one or two spirits)
Bonkers restaurant is on site. All Inclusive is not the 'buffet' style rubbish you are normally served elsewhere on the planet, but it is the actual menu. Daily local specials are a must!
The day starts with breakfast, a selection of fried flying fish, pancakes with syrup, full english (Tobagon style) toast, coffee, and probably anything within reason all served up with the lovely SherrieAnn at the healm, bringing her own unique sense of humour. Don't worry if you are slightly hungover from the rum, it was not a problem to take a tray of delights back to the room and suffer in silence!!
Lunch, again a great selection.
Dinner, heres where Troy appears! Such a nice guy and a true gentleman. Nothing is a problem and always there with a slick presentation.
The bar, Mr KP Kerwin... Take a bow. Just a friendly smiling face who likes a Guinness, and will knock up a great black n tan with the local beer Caribe or Stag, both of which are superb.
Out and about in the Crown Point area is totally safe. (prefer here than Pigeon Point) Met all the same faces as last year and it was so nice to be greeted as a long lost friend.
Mr. B unfortuneatly was involved in said divers incident, but his words of wisdom will always stick in my mind. When you meet him you will find out. Get well soon Mr.B!!
Overall, if you want a relatively carefree and reasonably priced carribean sunshine holiday (with septembers warm rain!) - It has to be Tobago / Toucan Inn.
Can't wait for my next visit :-))

Room Tip: Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Myself and my wife have just returned from Tobago and this was our first visit.Had a fantastic holiday.The Toucan is a great little hotel and i wouldn't change anything about it .From arrival to departure everything was perfect.The staff are fantastic and very personable.We had a garden room really comfy bed, good water pressure shower and AC that you could keep milk cold with if required.Bed made every day,tea and coffee available gratis 24/7 from a little area by the pool and the room cleaned in the mornings.
Such a difference from a big all inclusive type resort,The Guys at the Toucan are always on hand to assist if you need anything, from a laugh to a bit of advice about the island.
I challenge anyone to stay here and not a have a fantastic trip.We will be back for sure.
A big thanks to Lisa,KP,Troy,Sherrieanne the cleaners and catering staff for a memorable holiday x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

a group of 13 of us have just returned from our stay at the toucan inn. there were 8 divers and 5 non divers. I have been to Tobago many times before usually staying in a villa but this trip was booked as a dive package. the inn is rather shabby and in need of a refurbishment and the rooms are very tired and basic but it was at least clean. as we were a large group we ate in house every night and the food was very good , even for our 3 vegetarians who they made a great effort to give them something different each night. the staff cannot be faulted as they were helpful and friendly. the diving side of the holiday was disappointing though. the trip was booked trough oonas diving but the diving is actually handled by the onsite company , r and sea divers . they have an office at the back of the inn but the diving is done from a site near pidgeon point. there are no facilities here so if you need to use a loo or shower off hard luck. the boat is started by banging the batteries with a wrench to make contact. not good. the diving itself is also very restrictive as they do not use computers only guess work so you have to stay with the guide and come up together regardless of how much air/deco time you have left. we booked an extra trip to go up to speyside and all got nearly killed in the progress. all 13 of us were booked to go and a van that seated only 11 was hired. the onsite taxi driver MR.B was used and he was quite happy to drive us regardless of safety and was quite cross that my husband and I refused to travel as we would not have use of a seat belt, he was expected to sit on a cool box in the aisle. we went as far as scarborough and got into a taxi along with another member of our party. the van had a serious road traffic accident on the way, caused by atrocious driving, and plunged over an embankment and rolled down a hill. if all the passengers had not been strapped in there would have been fatalities !!!!! as it is they all managed to get out of the van with the help of the locals and apart from a couple of broken bones and serious cuts and bruises all survived. so if you value your life do not use MR. B as he doesn't. we have since found out that as here, the law in Tobago states seat belts much be worn !!!! SO BE WARNED

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a stay at the Toucan Inn. It was more than I was expecting from a basic hotel in that part of Tobago. The rooms were basic but kept spotlessly clean. The staff were always friendly and the restaurant food was of a high standard with the breakfast and dinner specials being excellent value for money. The grounds and the pool were also well maintained. The only downside was the local taxi service that uses the hotel as a base. Be warned. It is lethal. If you come across an old guy naming himself Mr B do not go there. My wife and I were involved in a serious car accident during our stay due to his dangerous driving and poor state of the vehicle. My wife and several others were seriously injured and the rest of the party in his meta taxi were only badly bruised and shaken, thank god. How we all escaped with our lives I do not know.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanazawa, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Fairly basic but friendly place to stay. Good location - can easily walk to Store Bay/Airport. Bartenders particularly friendly and front desk are helpful. Ideal as a base for a couple of nights if you are not after any luxury! Walk around to the Coco Cafe at Coco Beach resort for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toucan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toucan Inn

Address: Storebay Local Road, Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Toucan Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toucan Inn is a small and friendly 20 room hotel with teakwood caribbean style decor set amidst am oasis of lush tropical gardens with a relaxed ambiance that keep guests coming back for more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toucan Hotel Crown Point
Toucan Inn Tobago/Crown Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toucan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Toucan Inn to your Saves list