We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service, needs some updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Reef Tobago to your Saves list
Coco Reef Tobago
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Crown Point, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and service, needs some updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

On our first visit to Coco Reef, I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted at the hotel lobby exiting our taxi by one of the staff members who offered to take our bags and escorted us to the check-in counter. We were offered a delicious smoothie to drink and were efficiently checked-in and taken to our room. The grounds and beach were fantastic, as was the lounge area off the lobby with an enticing sea view. The service was always courteous and efficient. The only downside was an obvious need for updating the physical infrastructure - dated fixtures, scuffed tiles and tired looking pool.
Our 4 year old enjoyed chasing birds and butterflies in the flowering gardens, and the enclosed beach was very safe, and filled with all types of fish which swam among us all the time.
With a well-stocked buffet breakfast included in our rate, the hotel stay was certainly value for money.

Room Tip: We prefer the ground floor rooms which are more easily accessible and still had a decent view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    346
    179
    89
    48
See reviews for
233
573
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at Coco Reef for 2 nights a couple of weeks ago and had a mixed experience. The setting and grounds are beautiful and we loved the private lagoon. However, there were also some negatives - the bathroom in our room could do with updating, the under sheet on the bed was very thick and on the first night we noticed it smelt a bit damp and by the second night it had worsened into a very unpleasant smell (not sure why such a thick sheet is even needed in the tropics), and the food in the main restaurant was very disappointing - we didn't dare attempt it again on our second night. Service was efficient and courteous, but not particularly friendly - a few more smiles from the staff would have made the service warmer. Overall, we had a good stay, as we enjoyed relaxing on the beach and the grounds really are stunning, but apart from those things, we don't think the hotel had much to offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We went to Coco Reef last year so knew what to expect, but this year we took my uncle so that made us a party of 7,5 adults and 2 children aged 6 & 8.
We had a great flight with Monarch and arrived to find our taxi pre ordered with the hotel waiting, within 5 minutes we were having a private champagne check in.

When we had finished our cases were taken to our rooms, our rooms had a personalised door plack with our name and suite on it, a lovely touch.

The rooms were clean and tidy with fresh flowers, fruit basket, wine and a welcome message on the bed made with leaves and flowers.

We unpacked then went for food we had been checked into the amazing restaurant and found a menu saying welcome back, the food for the whole 2 weeks was fabulous.

Gary normally looked after us at night and we had lots of fun with him, he never knew what the soufflé was (which are a must) so we always teased him. But always went out of his way to make sure we were all ok.

All the staff are great and it would take to long time to list all of them but a special thank you to Gary, Nikita,Lawson, Roshan, sorry the his name escapes me but the gentleman who worked the bar in Bobsters most nights, serving us drinks to perfection. Curtan the food service manager and Erik the General Manager.

The beach is always clean and plenty of sun loungers available.
The drinks are always cold and are bought down the beach so you don't have to move, also fruit kebabs are bought to you.

The room was always clean,with a turn down service at night so there was always clean towels and the sand was always removed.

We love the character and the friendly atmosphere here as you can do as much or as little as you want.
Another amazing holiday made so by the wonderful, friendly staff who will always willing to help you at Coco Reef, all being well hoping to return again next year...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I am never disappointed with my visits to Coco Reef. The staff are so great and welcoming that I feel as if I am going to stay with friends. I particularly like the all inclusive package so I don't have to worry what my bill is going to look like at the end of the stay. Seeing some of the comments admittedly some of the areas in the hotel are looking a bit tired and could do with a spruce up but the overall experience is worth the visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is my second review for this hotel having stayed here the same time last year. Nothing has changed, apart from new sun shades around the pool. The pool is now green with no obvious signs of treatment and the amount of children that go in there, I refuse to go in it. Also I'm sure something is living in it as something brushed past my foot but as it is so green you can see the floor! As someone else has put the sheets on the old and worn, something you would expect in 2 star hotel! No one the hotel is so quiet!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This place you truly feel the warmt and friendliness of the people of tobago. The ambience is second to none. The rooms are spacious and exceptionally clean and comfortable. It's the ideal place for families. I'm leaving today, but definitely hope to be back soon.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is really not worth the cost of accommodations per night, and I say this as a seasoned traveler. The linens on the beds are old and thin, the comforters are very 70s/80s, the bathrooms in horrible condition, the towels look like they've been there for close to a decade. To summarize, this hotel desperately needs to be renovated. You may be under the impression that because its beachfront, the price may be worth it, but the small beachfront nook really isn't that great. You'd only end up walking or taking a taxi to Store Bay or Pigeon Point anyway. The breakfast was ok, but compared to other meals I've had at other Caribbean hotels, it really isn't something you need to write home about. Nothing in this hotel warrants its rate. You'd get better value going to another island or somewhere in Central America. If Tobago (and many other English-speaking Caribbean countries) wants to compete in the global tourism industry, it must start proving quality for the price. At these prices, someone can easily go to a new resort in Mexico and get better quality for the money. The staff were cordial and polite - no complaints there, but it didn't compensate for the rest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Reef Tobago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.