We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better than some past reviews suggest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Reef Tobago to your Saves list
Coco Reef Tobago
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Crown Point, Tobago   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Much Better than some past reviews suggest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We had some trepidation about our booking here after reading the recent reviews. I can say that in some matters they are factually correct: some refurbishment is needed, especially in the restrooms, and the bedroom decorations do seem a bit tired. But it is a great 4 star beach holiday hotel - and I do on purpose differentiate this from a 4 star city hotel, where my expectations would be somewhat different.
The greatest asset of this hotel is the staff: all friendly, polite and helpful, without exception. They are all well trained to deliver excellent service, despite my perception that they are at times operating under an unnecessarily bureaucratic hierarchical structure!
Good points apart from the staff: excellent food and varied menu options in both restaurants, very comfortable beds, and very pretty and impressive private beach / lagoon area.
What I did not like: self service buffet evenings, and those evenings when only the more formal restaurant was open; the wicker chairs in both the beach bar and the lobby terrace not having cushions, and making them both too low and uncomfortable ( but cushions were available if you asked!); having to get beach towels from reception ( why?); no shower gel in the bathrooms - just small soap bars.
Will I come back -yes, definitely.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    337
    174
    87
    47
See reviews for
224
550
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

we visited coco reef for the first time some years ago and have revisited on more than one occasion , the laid back atmosphere is great when you get your head around it .coco reef hotel is in a great location ,it has some minor flaws everywhere does, the staff are first class, the manager Eric has a great team of people as back up, Angela in the restaurant , and Nicola on the beach stand out , the front desk where helpful and really friendly . we only had breakfast in the hotel but it was really good if sometimes busy at peak times, we just stayed in bed a bit longer..Another great stay at coco reef !!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel should be fantastic. It is within easy walking distance of other restaurants, shops, Pigeon Point and the airport, so no long transfer journey, and is situated in a lovely position above a shallow lagoon with sandy beaches within the hotel grounds, all shaded by palm trees which give some shelter from the regular showers. There are three dining areas, a bar and a separate pool, 10' depth, above the beach in a patio setting overlooked on three sides by part of the accommodation. There are plenty of sun loungers around the pool and on the beaches.
When we arrived at the hotel we were told we could not have the sea-view room we had booked until Tuesday. Our rep, Natricia, acted promptly and the hotel did give us an upgrade to a suite for the remaining 4 nights but this did waste a day whilst we waited to change rooms. We were given a bottle of wine and bowl of fruit as compensation but, as we are Frequent Flyers, we were entitled to this anyway so the hotel was being somewhat disingenuous.
In both rooms, the ensuite bathrooms are of adequate size with shower over low bath, large mirrors, but they are dated. Our first room, 120, is on the ground floor, has a patio and overlooks the pool area so it could be noisy. I found it rather gloomy and there was an unpleasant smell. The suite, 225, which is two rooms with the interconnecting door unlocked, is upstairs at the end of the block and so had a dual aspect, looking out towards Pigeon Point and the public beaches and with a balcony which overlooks one of the hotel beaches. There are two bathrooms but neither shower head worked properly. It was put right but I would have thought each room would be inspected before the next people were shown to it. These rooms are light and quiet and are cleaned daily.
Both rooms are of a good size and the beds were comfortable. In 120 there were 2 large double beds, in 225 one large double bed. Both rooms provided tea and coffee making facilities but you need to check that the milk is in the fridge. The furnishings and furniture are the same throughout, comfortable but dated now. The state of the decor gives the impression that it is monitored and patched up but that no real money is spent on it. When it rains there are puddles in many places, particularly the large lobby area which is tiled (as is the whole hotel), so you need to be careful.
The ‘Tamaris’ dining area is where breakfast and (a la carte) dinner are served with lunch and less formal dining in the restaurant below. The staff in ‘Tamaris’ seem to have been told to lay, wait on and clear tables speedily but the concept of service has been forgotten. We experienced this for ourselves and heard it from other guests that the dinner bill must be carefully checked as staff will happily charge you for what you have not had; they do not seem to note what you have actually had. On a couple of occasions we asked for something only to observe the waiter forget it almost immediately. At breakfast, there always seemed to be something in the buffet for which we had to await a considerable time for replenishment or some other service. The hotel advertises itself as providing 'fine dining'. This is a joke and an insult; the food was at best mediocre. Tinned soup is not fine dining, it is laziness. After the first two evenings, we ate out locally and in every case enjoyed superior meals, (including lunch at Jemma's Tree House).
The staff were for the most part pleasant, but seem rushed at meal-times. Some waiting staff were charming, others could barely look at you. The reception staff were helpful but often had to disappear into a back room to fully answer a question, so perhaps there are several new staff members.
In an air-conditioned room off the main lobby is a small room with many photographs of well-known people who have visited the hotel. On closer inspection it transpires that the photographs are all several years old, as are the certificates denoting good standards.
One rather got the impression that neither the hotel nor its guests were really cared for; indeed, it seemed to me that this hotel is run by committee and that is there is no effective management. This feeling, coupled with inconsistencies and the old photographs, is what makes me question whether this is no longer a high-starred hotel but one that is now living off its reputation and past glories.
When we had returned home, we discovered something which really surprised us. When we checked out of the hotel, we signed to pay the bill on our credit card in TT dollars. We have just received the credit card statement which shows that the bill has been converted to US dollars. Had the bill remained in TT dollars it would have resulted in some £15 less on our credit card bill. We have checked with the credit card company who say that this unauthorised conversion to US dollars would have been done at the hotel and they are following this up accordingly. We regard this as sharp practice on the part of the hotel and wonder how many other guests may have been unfairly charged in this way. We hope Virgin Holidays will ensure the hotel refrains from doing this and we advise guests to check their statements carefully.

Room Tip: Ask when you book. Not all rooms have a 'view'. Ground floor rooms can be gloomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Coco Reef Hotel Tobago.. Fantastic place, staff of hotel polite, friendly, always happy and smiley and couldn't do enough for you. Room huge with 2 king size beds. Beach superb with own private lagoon. Food in both restaurants superb, breakfast amazing, evening al a carte also amazing. Paradise. I will definitely visit again and also use Golden Holidays again who were so helpful when booking the holiday. Flying Monarch again I couldn't fault them, Seats roomy, staff helpful, and flight on time and on return even departed early. In all a simply beautiful holiday. The only possible down side and its very petty is that the lighting in the bedroom and hotel throughout is of a romantic setting so one found it difficult to read anything. This was also commented by many other holiday makers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have just come back from a week B&B in the Coco Reef. The hotel is located close to the airport but you cannot hear the very few planes that arrive at the island.

We had a Garden Villa (406) which was in a lovely quiet location overlooking the wonderful gardens. It was a very spacious villa, 2 bedrooms, living area, kitchen and dining area. My only comment on the villa, is that they could have sacrificed some of the living space for a bigger shower unit! The shower, whilst hot and powerful, was very small and had no place for toiletries.

Breakfast was an excellent buffet with everything imaginable on offer.

The staff are very attentive and helpful, although a query on my bill (another room had their meal charged to my room in error) did take an eternity to resolve (mainly because they provide only a total without the detailed transactions).

The highlight is the large sea pool created by the breakwater rocks. This provides an excellent place to view the fish whilst snorkelling around it. The fish life around this breakwater (which takes about 25 mins to snorkel around at a leisurely pace) was amazing.

Peter operates the speedboat "Zoe" from the lagoon. This goes up to the snorkelling sites at Arnos Vale and provides an excellent alternative site.

The beach is wide with plenty of loungers that are in sun or shade. Annoyingly some guests (generally the German and UK ones) would take a lounger pre-breakfast and not return until much later in the day. But usually there were plenty to go around.

There a number of local food places within a very short walking distance, including Store Bay, from where you can also do a Boco Reef trip for TT60pp and an excellent Pizza restaurant (you need to walk inside to the kitchen/bar area to order takeaway).

The sister restaurant Coco Cafe is next door to the hotel but without direct access. You have walk around the block to get there! But does good food in a pleasant environment.

The hotel social director (who frustratingly only works in the afternoon) can arrange trips to other areas of the island (we did the Little Tobago trip) and privately organised a morning of Mountain Biking...both giving excellent different experiences of the island.

You can exchange US$ at reception but get a better rate at the bank over the road, which also handily exchanges GBP£ - both at a better rate than you can get at home!. Also, there are number of ATM machines.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks B&B at the Coco Reef.
The hotel is imaginatively designed and stands in beautiful, well-kept
gardens with good sea views, although the view is interrupted by the
artificial breakwater enclosing the small man-made beach. Although the
hotel is large, it is well spaced out and guests don't feel on top of
each other.

Reception staff were generally alert, helpful, friendly and reliable
when passing on messages.

Our bedroom (delux seaview) was spacious and comfortable with a
good-sized balcony but the bathroom was tired. The shower water flow
was weak and often only luke-warm at peak periods. Housekeeping was
good on the whole but the bathroom was not always cleaned properly and
provision of towels, face flannels, tissues, teabags etc was unreliable.
(However a phone call to reception usually resolved any issue we had)

The man-made beach is small and sometimes crowded and the lagoon is ideal for
young children or weak swimmers. However we missed the sound of the
breakers on the shore and an uninterrupted view of the horizon. There
were always sufficient sun-loungers and plenty of shade beneath the
palms and shelters. The staff serving drinks were efficient and helpful
as was the dive shop which has a good selection of fins and snorkels for
loan.

Breakfasts were a highlight, particularly the cooked ones, but for those who prefer a continental breakfast the choice was more limited. The restaurant was expensive so we only had one dinner in
the hotel. This was good but the only lunch we had, a sandwich from the menu, was very poor, the worst and most expensive during our 2 weeks in Tobago.

As the Coco Reef is relatively expensive we were disappointed to be charged for Wi-Fi ($88 TT for an hour, available only in the lobby) and when we had to leave early one morning to visit the rain forest were expected to pay $60 TT extra for a picnic breakfast sandwich. This was the first time we had experienced these types of charges during many hotel stays around the world in the last 2 years.

Tobago is a beautiful, mostly unspoilt, island which we explored thoroughly while we rented a car for a week. The roads are windy but easy to drive on. The pristine beaches, snorkeling, views, rainforest and birds are fantastic and the people charming. We found many good and inexpensive restaurants within 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The Coco Reef provided a convenient and comfortable base and it was always a pleasure to return after a long day out.

Room Tip: Worth an upgrade to have a sea view on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Reading some of the other reviews here it seems difficult to understand that we have been at the same hotel. Our experience was totally positive, the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and our room was very comfortable although we were upgraded to an ocean view suite which probably helped. While it is true to say some areas of the building could benefit from a little more TLC it somehow added to the appeal of the place rather than make it unwelcoming. We loved it and shall definitely return as soon as we can.
The private hotel beach and lagoon are a big plus, the beach inside the lagoon is very safe for children and there are enough fish around the outer artificial reef for the amateur snorkeler to wonder at. Try and drag yourself away from the facilities here and spend a little time and money to see the island, many of the small bays and towns are well worth the effort and you will be rewarded by the experience of a more local environment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Reef Tobago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.