We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dave H. from Trinidad - Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Save Saved
You added Coco Reef Tobago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coco Reef Tobago
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Crown Point, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Crown Point
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dave H. from Trinidad - Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Arrived mid May 2013.for Tobago Fashion Weekend. As a national of Trinidad and Tobago we were offered the much appreciated local rate. The room offered was on the ground floor. The view was good as the sea was visible. Did iniitially ask to be on the 2nd floor but front desk said that they were all taken....we accepted the ground floor. My only complaint was that the sheets were not ironed although the bed was adorned with clipped palm leaves forming the word "WELCOME".... appreciated.
However we still could not understand why the sheets looked as though they had not been changed....we did not say anything at the time and accepted it because of the decorated "WELCOME"....and the desire to get to Pigeon Point beach to purchase tickets for the show.
It was not until returning later that evening that we pondered as to why the sheets were
rather RUMPLED but were too tired to be bothered. Never before have we ever had rumpled sheets on our beds , not even at a B&B, having stayed at a number of hotels worldwide.
Another minus was the poor lighting for reading when the sun goes down. Management should address immediately, the extremely inadequate lighting on such lovely lovely grounds, more so in the parking area. In addition the asphalt roadway in the parking Lot presents a problem for walking and is just an accident waiting to happen. In spite of signs cautioning guests that the hotel is exempted from liability of loss/ damage/ personal injury....management will still be liable as adequate security lighting is non existent and makes it impossible to negotiate the terrible uneven surface of this area. A well planned vacation could be spent in the hospital. Overall the hotel presented a relaxing environment with an excellent beach area and we would certainly return..... breakfast was decent with much appreciated fruit .Dinner was reasonably priced and we had a particularly attentive server .

Room Tip: the second floor provides a better experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    421
    283
    144
    79
    42
See reviews for
175
482
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent hotel in every way - situated right on the beach with a lagoon leading to the sea;private entrance road leading to a large spacious lobby; incredibly friendly staff; large, clean rooms with relaxing decor and very comfortable beds; open-air restaurant and bars with great cocktails and service. The hotel is close to many beautiful beaches, restaurants, bars and shops - what more could one want!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A lovely hotel, good location, friendly staff, superb beach.
We stayed over middle of May 2013, 1 week B&B.
Breakfast, 7-10am, fruit, full English, eggs cooked to order. Lovely.
Trips via Daryl/Suga lips. Included leatherback turtles laying eggs on the beach, trips around the island, BBQ on a remote beach, Sunday school (no hymns!) and many more.
We had a fantastic holiday and am still amazed that the detractors on this site complain about little unimportant problems. GET A LIFE.
Enjoy and return, many do, we will.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have recently returned from two weeks at this gorgeous resort, it has won awards as the best hotel in the Caribbean and this is well deserved. The service in this resort is outstanding, with friendly staff that cannot do enough for their guests, from the moment you enter the hotel you are welcomed as one of the family. The food was excellent at every meal, with lunches offering local choices, and five star international dining in the evenings. The location and views are excellent, having it's own quiet beach and safe lagoon. There is evening entertainment every other night which is low key with a Caribbean flavour. Having travelled the world I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
The island of Tobago is small but worth hiring a car for a day or two to explore, the locals are extremely friendly, and it is a safe island to enjoy. For a great day out also try CocoMotion for a wonderful snorkelling adventure that you will never forget.

Room Tip: Do go all inclusive and pay a supplement for a sea view as these are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just spent a week at the Coco Reef resort. What an excellent hotel. A short transfer from the airport and welcoming greeting on arrival. Staff could not have been more friendly, food was superb. The setting was magnificent with it's own little lagoon for safe bathing with a nice pool. All topped off with a superb view of the setting sun in the evening. Room was a good size with tv, air-conditioning, fridge. My room had a view of the pool and the Caribbean Sea from the balcony. Just wished I'd booked for 2 weeks instead of just the one

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have just returned from the coco reef and had a really lovely holiday, the staff are friendly the hotel if a little dated and frayed around the edges has a really friendly authentically Caribbean atmosphere.
My only real issues are there is no breeze at all in this hotel and they would massively benefit from at least some ceiling fans as there are very few which in some areas can make it just unbearable to sit in and the wi fi is pricey and I was not told that it would not work in my room until I had signed up for a week.
I was on my own with a two year old and the staff were so kind and accommodating, the beach was clean the water calm, as there is a man made lagoon keeping out any rough weather perfect for children.
The swimming pool is on another level which helped me feel safe to let my little one have some freedom.
The food is not outstanding but totally acceptable with buffets the norm salads bbq'd meat and fresh fish daily , the staff even organised a quick kids meal for me when needed out of restaurant hours which was invaluable to me.
Overall I had a great experience and would without a doubt visit again.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms near main lobby if you are planning quiet early nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Coco Reef used to be called Crown Reef 30 years ago when we first went there. It is right on the beach on the western side of the island. The sunsets are beautiful. It is difficult to get anyone from Reservations to answer the phone. Service is not so good but the breakfast is nice. Magdalena has a better breakfast. The hotel is a bit old and it shows. Coco Reef is close to the airport, to many local bars and eateries. It is also close to Store Bay and to Pigeon Point beach, which is the best beach on the island. My impression of the service at Coco Reef on this occasion is probably distorted because they were really full at the time we were there in early March 2013. The cleaners came late in the day to clean the room and we had to ask for clean towels. It is still a pretty good option but Magdalena Grand is better and cheaper too.

Room Tip: Hope that they do not have a big group of travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Reef Tobago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.