We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Relaxation!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Reef Tobago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Reef Tobago to your Saves list
Coco Reef Tobago
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Crown Point, Tobago   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxation!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

After a week in St Lucia we travelled to Tobago. First challenge was the screw up by BA Holidays who had conveniently forgotten to book us a flight from POS Trinidad to Tobago. However this is only a 20 minute hop and not expensive and so all resolved without fuss. The hotel is literally minutes away from the airport and yet at no time were we bothered by aircraft noise, amazing! We booked an ocean view suite and the first night was not good. The room was tired and just not right. Woken at 6 by lots of noise from the public beach next door. Went to Reception and told them we would not wish to have a second night in this suite. With the minimum of fuss we were upgraded to the Royal Suite which was also renamed The Royal Jenkins for us!!! How cool was that?? The hotel Manager Eric is a class act, a jovial Frenchman with oodles of experience, he certainly made the holiday for us. The suite was fantastic with a panoramic view over the beach and lagoon. very light and airy bedroom and spacious bathroom and shower. Generally the decor looks a tad dated but somehow it works well. Amazing collection of surrealistic Cuban paintings (lots of boobs) throughout the hotel. The staff were fantastic, really friendly and happy people. The grounds were lovely and they had created a lovely lagoon in front of the hotel which made swimming perfect, lots of colourful fish and relaxed swimming. The restaurants were excellent with great food variety and the house wine excellent (if intoxicating!). We took one of the hotel's favoured drivers, Patrick Gibbs for a couple of island tours which were great and enjoyed the humming birds seeing at least 6 different varieties. In all we could not fault this resort except to say that the evening entertainment could have been a little better. We will definitely return. Our congratulations to Eric and his team on a great hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ocean view and ideally on the Store Bay side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    337
    174
    87
    47
See reviews for
224
550
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Coco Reef. We don't often return to hotels or places, as there is so much to see in the world but this is one we would return too without hesitation.
We were met with a welcome drink after a long flight and a 2 hour immigration wait ! Our room was a lovely suite 212. The room was large, with a sitting area, and balcony. A great size bathroom with 2 sinks. The only gripe was not enough coat hangers !
The Food was good quality A la Carte. It was tasty, well presented and plenty of it.
The beach was clean, raked daily and the best bit, plenty of sunbeds, all cleaned and maintained.
The pool was small and we didn't use it, no need to with such a great beach !
My husband went diving with the resident Dive school, who were well organised, with good equipment, to be recommended.
Also available was snorkelling , boat hire and pedallos.
The clientele was on average age of 60, we were the younger minority, but that didn't take away the enjoyable time we had.
There is a spa and the gym was one of the better ones we have used.
Yes some of the decor is a little tired, but it's a very clean hotel, plenty of lovely friendly staff. Eric the manager is always about and talks to everyone !
I did hear someone moan about the food once, you always get one !!
I can recommend this hotel and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Personally we don't like ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This review is a bit late but I stayed back in 2010.

The hotel is generally beautiful with picturesque views. Its secluded, private beach makes it great for "solo" stays as well as a group of people as that "sense of security" is felt.

Rooms: The rooms are a bit rustic, in my view, but very clean and comfortable.

Meals: I’ve only had breakfast there but it’s good. Mainly continental but some local dishes are included.

Pool: Decent size and accessible at nights.

Location: Close proximity from the airport however it’s suggested that you take a cab. It is also next to the infamous Storebay Public Beach where local food can be bought from an array of food huts.

Generally I was pleased :)

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the ground floor as it's easier to head to the beach from there. However, ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A gem of a hotel in Tobago. Walking distance from airport, beautiful grounds, comfortable rooms and lovely terraces with perfect view of Tobago waters. An older European crowd made this an enjoyable setting and place to wind down.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

excellent location interms of the island of tobago which i love and the hotel with lovely sea lagoon for swimming bathing kayaking snorkelling coral.
Ambience of the island is caribbean cool - 'take your time' and hotel is friendly.

Room Tip: sea view is worht it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Coco Reef has a wonderful feel to it with its setting and British tones. You might almost think you were in a movie version of an Agatha Christie's, Murder in the Caribbean. The food was lovely - we had the breakfast every day and two dinners in a two week stay. Good choice and good quality. I think I probably couldn't do all inclusive as it would all be too much. Fortunately nearby there are a number of mini-marts with some bread and fruit and drinks, and lots of little places to eat including pizza, fish, Cafe Coco and others both local cooking and burgers and ice cream. So even without a car there is plenty of choice. The rooms, beds, balconies, bathrooms, kettles, fridges, etc were absolutely perfect and comfortable, the room service and all the service in the hotel was extraordinarily friendly and obliging. Also interesting was what this hotel doesn't do - namely pepper you with rules and signs. It treats guests as responsible adults and gets such behavious in return. You can take a glass or beer bottle to the beach, or your own food, and the are no proscriptions, no signs, no hassle. The beach has no litter bins defacing it, but also no litter. The beach is at your room door and is sheltered and shallow so completely safe but full of interesting tropical fish. We swam before breakfast every day, basked most of the time, took a couple of tours of the island including the rain forest and bird-watching, one to Sunday School (skip unless you like very loud music), and to the sanctuary for the raptors that guard you at breakfast.

The dress code for dinner was well telegraphed in advance so we had suitable clothes, and while it's a little anachronistic, it was also charming and suited the place and the tone. Having coffee and drinks on the gallery or by the sea afterwards in the soft lighting made it almost surreal.

We will certainly go back and unless you absolutely need a Ritz Carlton or love American plastic (and I am American) decor, food, style etc, this is the place for vacation.

Room Tip: Upstairs to the left of reception, with a sea view. We had that and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was a little concerned about staying at Coco Reef having read some of the reviews on here, however as it turned out I needn’t have worried. Despite a couple of niggles, on the whole I found the resort to be top notch.

The Good

Rooms are spacious & clean. Beds comfortable. The TV has a number of channels (including ESPN and FOX Soccer which show live matches for us Brits!). Maid service is good (although can be a little late on arrival days). There is also a nightly turn down service which is a nice touch. I did initially have a problem with the air conditioning unit blowing the cold air directly at the bed, although with a bit of adjustment I managed to wedge the vents in such a way that it blew downwards.

The a la carte evening meals in the main Tamaras restaurant are wonderful. I don’t think I had one poor dish in the week I was there. Oh and you must try the suffle – absolutely superb! Service was on the whole good although I did come across the odd surly waiter/waitress during my stay.

Breakfast is buffet style although has a great choice of everything from fruit to sausage, bacon and eggs.

The beach is lovely. It is protected by a row of rocks to create a very calm lagoon style swimming experience. This is particularly of benefit when snorkelling as it allows easy viewing of the various fish without any overpowering waves etc.

There is a great gym for those that want to burn off all the extra calories consumed. I found it to be virtually deserted every morning and it was fully equipped with everything I needed.

The Not So Good

As others have mentioned Wi-Fi is chargeable. This seems a little unnecessary. The cost for unlimited access for one week was 350TT (approx. £35).

Lunch at the beach bar was disappointing. There were various buffet options (some of which were not particularly appetizing) with the option of a burger or chicken BBQ. This food was not in the same league as the breakfasts or evening meals at Tamaras. The beach bar can also be used for evening dining, however as the lunches were poor I decided to give it a miss.

Various areas within the hotel could do with a lick of paint and some upkeep, although they were in the process of painting various areas during my stay.

The evening entertainment was a bit limited with a one man steel band most nights.

Conclusion

Idyllic location (both the resort itself and the beautiful island of Tobago), with first class dining in the evenings. Rooms are well appointed and the beach lovely. A perfect location to unwind and relax and on a par with other Caribbean resorts I have stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco Reef Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Tobago

Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coco Reef Tobago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Coco Reef Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Tobago Hotel Crown Point
Coco Reef Tobago Crown Point
Coco Reef Resort Tobago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Reef Tobago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.