We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crown Point, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The bed was just horrible they built that thing, the location nice ocean view,staff not very helpful or friendly,we were not told on check in that we had to make reservation at the restaurant for dinner,
Barack ok otherwise boring no activities nearby

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for your recent review. We are sorry that the bed was not to your liking. Very seldom do we get any complaints about the beds so this is indeed unusual. I am not sure what your expectations were for your stay in Tobago but in the main the island is quite quiet and most of the hotels are better suited to those wanting to relax, chill out and explore the island. We offer occasional evening entertainment but otherwise the hotel is best suited to simple relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    163
    88
    61
    113
See reviews for
127
188
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

After reading the reviews here, my heart sank. I packed Lysol, towels and sheets thinking we were booked into a dump. Could not be further from the truth. All the staff were very nice and helpful. Loved the room. Loved the bedding! The bathroom was clean and was cleaned every day we were there. The buffet breakfast was on! Children did not want to come out of the pool at all.
This is now our go to hotel in Tobago

Room Tip: Room 56. Got a balcony and a 'back porch'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and we are really pleased you guys had such a good time at Tropikist. We certainly don't claim to be of the highest standard, but do offer a good hotel product at a sensible price. I think you may have seen a lot of very old reviews for the hotel and we have moved on and made great strides to become international acceptable as evidenced by the large number of overseas tour operators who send guests to the hotel. We do look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

One particular girl at the front desk was very rude--
the rooms were poorly cleaned
The a/c didn't work it was stuck on twenty six
The television was stuck on two channels n had no batteries to operate the remote
The breakfast staff dinner staff ate before the guest then the guest had no option but to take what was left-
They said all inclusive but what does that entailed--- they weren't specific
Warm beers n Poor quality liquor -- for a first time experience Will NEVER go back:

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We are very sorry to hear you had some issues during your recent stay. I am not sure if you raised any of the problems you encountered during your stay as usually we are able to rectify any issues speedily. During the time of your stay you will see that we had several very positive reviews so we are saddened that your visit was not to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

From the moment we step foot on the property we were treated like Royalty. We were excited but did t know what to expect for our first stay! Very quiet and peaceful. Everyone treated us great! We arrived early but they quickly made sure the room was ready. The staff was very nice and always asked about our day and if we needed recommendations they were always there to provide. I definitely would have everyone stay here!

Room Tip: We had ours on the side of the ocean. There is nothing like waking up to the sound of waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks so much for your review and we are truly pleased you both had such a glorious stay in Tobago and indeed also at Tropikist Beach Hotel. You will be pleased to hear that the wooden steps leading down to the beach have now been fully repaired. Please tell your friends and we will be happy to look after them in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day stay here. It was awesome! We LOVED everything about this trip, and had a blast! The staff and management at Tropikist were amazing. Mr. McPhee and Melicia were both very accommodating and attentive. The food was great, the wait staff was on-point, the amenities were as well. We were lucky to be there as one of 50 couples who were married on the Steve Harvey show in February. I would highly recommend this place to other couples planning their stay in the coming months.

We arrived on a Monday, once most guests were checked out, and the place was a bit empty, but we got used to it! It was walking distance from the airport, the beach and shops were 3 blocks away (the area in front of the resort is under construction, so hopefully that will be accessible soon).

We also toured the island, which is absolutely breathtaking! Even our tour guides, Lyndon & Hasan, were great!! They were extremely knowledgeable of the entire island and all of its rich resources. They showed us parts of the island that were more secluded, and at the end of our trip, we all shared a few drinks as friends. When we plan another trip there, we will definitely seek them out. I'm recovering from 1st degree sun burns, but it was well worth it! Just bring enough sun screen! :)

Marco and I would also like to thank Steve Harvey and his entire staff for this blessing of a trip. I don't think we could adequately describe in words how much this meant to us.

Thanks for everything - it was a perfect honeymoon.

- Marco & Alisa

Room Tip: All rooms have an oceanfront view, so you can't go wrong. I would also recommend choosing a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Really appreciate your time to add your review to Tripadvisor. We are thrilled you guys had a wonderful stay in Tobago and with us at Tropikist. Our location means you have walking distance access to several shops and restaurants, Store Bay Beach and the airport. We have been offering wedding arrangements to international guests for some years now and so pleased that you guys tied the knot in Tobago. Congratulations. Perhaps we will see you guys again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

From the outside the hotel looks alluring. The interior needs fixing. The bathroom sink was crack and leaked onto my feet. The plug for the bathtub was missing. The air-condition unit in the bedroom leaked wetting the bottom of the comforter.

That said the grounds were well kept. the bar staff very nice. Breakfast staff very welcoming and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Many thanks for your review - this is much appreciated. It seems that you had a good stay at Tropikist Beach Hotel in May and your praise for the staff, hotel grounds which are kept immaculate and breakfast is great to hear. Your comments about the crack in the sink, missing plug and faulty AC unit are noted. The hotel is undertaking a refurb of all the Standard rooms over the following few months and I hope that in the future you might be able to visit and stay in complete comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was my second stay here, the first was 2 years ago. The staff remembered me and said I was now 'family'. I had a wonderful, relaxed week. The staff, from maintenance men right through to management, were friendly, chatty and very willing to help in any way they could. I was on an all-inclusive package and was content with the food and drink offered. The menu for lunch & dinner usually consists of 3 choices (meat, chicken or fish) plus a 'special'. This could be restrictive if you have dietary issues. The food was nicely served, tasty and I and my partner had no complaints whatsoever. Breakfast is a buffet with the hot dishes being mainly 'local' with a fresh egg section and omelette option.
Our room was lovely, clean, quiet and with a beautiful sea view. The swimming pools were kept clean and were very popular with children. The small beach could do with a bit of tidying up but we enjoyed the peace & quiet on the loungers there.
This experience may not suit those travellers who expect 100% perfection and pampering but, if you want a genuine Caribbean experience among the most welcoming and lovely staff imaginable then I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Many thanks for your review. It seems that you had a very enjoyable time and thank you for all your positive comments about the staff. The hotel is undergoing improvements, the latest being renovation of all the Standard rooms and bathrooms. There is a new set of steps down the beach which will also be tidied up - it's amazing what gets washed up by the ocean. Like you we believe the hotel offers a real Caribbean experience and is wonderfully located to offer super sea views and sunsets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medium grade hotel facing Store Bay at Crown Point close to the airport and local restaurants. 64 bedrooms - large with twin or king size beds, patio or balcony, cable TV, air-con, mini fridge, en-suite bathroom. Superior and deluxe rooms larger with guaranteed sea views. Bayside restaurant for breakfast, Sunset Bar & Grill for lunches and dinner. Set in tropical gardens with 2 pools, open air jacuzzi overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropikist Beach Hotel And Resort
Tropikist Beach Hotel Crown Point
Hotel Tropikist Beach
Tropikist Hotel Tobago
Tropikist Beach Hotel Tobago
Tropikist Tobago
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort Tobago/Crown Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.